Geeks logo

3 'Power Rangers' Stars That I Would Like to Meet

The following 'Power Rangers' stars are on my bucket list

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Greetings, my nerdy fam. I had an outstanding time at GlitchCon last weekend and thanks to everyone for the congratulatory posts regarding my first cosplay contest win. It meant a lot and I'm grateful for those who have supported me and been by my side. If you want to know all that happened on the second day of the con, you can read my article about it in the link provided here.

Now that I've gotten that out of the way, I'm back with an article, and it's for all the Power Rangers fans out there. Before I proceed any further, I want to put out an important disclaimer for everyone:

I'm a Power Rangers fan, not a Power Rangers stan. I don't live vicariously through these stars, or live my life through them. At the end of the day, they're regular people just like us. I'm going to be brutally honest and speak my truth as I see it.

There are many great Power Rangers actors and actresses out there, but I've chosen three that stood out to me, and that I would like to meet in the future. Since Hasbro acquired the rights to the franchise, I feel that great things are looking up on both sides.

3. Amy Jo Johnson

Amy Jo Johnson played the role of the lovable Kimberly Ann Hart in Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, and after that, was in the 1996 Disney Channel movie Susie Q. I've never attendedPower Morphicon, but I know a few of my friends and followers on social media who have gone, and they said that it was amazing. It's one of many cons that most of them said that I should attend. If I have lots of vacation time available, and happen to run into Amy Jo Johnson, it would be amazing to knock off my bucket list.

2. Jason David Frank

I had to include Jason David Frank on my list, because I thought it was necessary. Now, I've made my feelings known about him for the last couple of years. At first, I had somewhat of a disdain over Jason, because I felt like he does certain things for attention or to stay relevant. I got attacked on social media, and got backlash for it from fellow Power Rangers fans and his fans, but I still stand by that and other opinions about him. I'm not going to apologize for stating them. If I'm going to speak on something or somebody doing unbecoming things, I'm going to call them out, famous or not. No one is exempt or safe from criticism. My article about my thoughts about Jason David Frank two months ago received almost 1,100 reads on Vocal. I've received mixed reception, but for those who are hoping that I would apologize for "disrespecting" and "badmouthing" him, it's not going to happen. I wasn't being disrespectful or mean. I was being honest, and from what most people have been telling me who have met him, he's rude to his fans, and arrogant. My point at the time was that he needed to be more humble. I've since had somewhat of a change of heart about him and I want him to be successful.

Jason is going to be one of many guests at Arkansas Comic Con, which will be held in Little Rock, Arkansas early next month. If I were to be successful at scheduling a photo op with him, I would take a photo with him and shake his hand. I'll be writing a review on Vocal about the con, as well as posting pics and videos on my social media pages soon. Regardless if I like him or not, I'm still going to show him the respect that he deserves. I could be petty and dislike Jason forever, but I'm going to take the high road, and attend the con. He may not be my overall favorite Power Rangers star, but at the end of the day, he's part of the franchise. I'm looking forward to meeting him at future cons. To read the article about my thoughts about Jason David Frank in 2019, you can read it by clicking on the link here.

1. David Yost

I've saved the best for last, and he's my overall favorite Power Rangers star. If you've been following me on social media for a period of time, people know that I love me some David Yost. I have cosplayed as his character, Billy Cranston, and suited up as the Blue Ranger soon after. It's really sad what he went through back in the day, how he was treated behind the scenes because he was gay. I've always had his back and supported him, especially the shirt company, Affirmative Clothing Company he's collaborating with Cris Andrade and Mason Andrade. I've bought a few of their shirts, and shouted them out on social media. Their mission is promoting equality, and encouraging everyone to being proud of who they are. I'll post a link to the site here, so I encourage everyone to support David and Affirmative Clothing Company. David has liked and commented on a few of my posts. Not only that, but had one of my posts on Instagram last Christmas included in his stories. It was a post of me holding a Blue Ranger Legacy Figure that I bought weeks earlier and wearing a Blue Ranger shirt and knitted cap.

Like I said many times before, and in the beginning of the article, I don't live vicariously through famous people. However, David is such a down to earth person, and I want to thank him for letting me know that it's okay to be myself. He's on the top of my bucket list of people I would love to meet. I'll speak that into existence, and will tell everyone about it.

Now that you have seen my list of Power Rangers stars, which ones would you like to meet someday? Let me know on my social media pages and be sure to follow me. That info will be found in my bio. If you love this article or others that I've written so far, feel free to send me a a one-off tip. No tip is too big or small. It helps me and other Vocal content creators create better stories, and you'll be supporting us in a positive way.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.