Geeks logo

2022 Reading Round-Up

aka the year of 45 books and falling back into reading

By Victoria BrownPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
2022 Reading Round-Up
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

At the start of 2022, I said I wanted to write something about every book I read. I didn’t think I’d end up reading 45 books, but I also didn’t think I would end up working at a library and having enough free time to read without compromising on something else.

I can happily say that the only goal I set for myself for 2022 was accomplished.

Disclosure: I am an affiliate of Bookshop.org where your purchases support local bookstores. I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

Basic Stats:

  • How many books read: 45
  • Average rating: 3.6 out of 5
  • Favorite new reads: Mary Jane, Normal People, Book Lovers, The Bell Jar, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
  • Least favorite read: Diary of an Oxygen Thief

In total I wrote 23 blog posts. Some books got their own essay, like Normal People, while others, especially in months where I read a lot, were clumped together in compilations, like May.

It’s something small, but I’m proud of myself for accomplishing it. I know others read more, or write more, other 22-year-olds are “influencers” making more than I probably ever will. But I’m proud of myself for this small accomplishment because it meant so much more than just writing blog posts.

I missed reading and I missed writing. Despite studying literature in college, I didn’t read a lot for fun. I wrote, differently than I had in the past, but it was still words on paper. It counted for something.

But I felt like I was missing a piece of me.

I always had my nose in a book, or was scribbling into a composition notebook (the best kind for plotting novels). I was known for writing, throwing up links to different articles and shamelessly self promoting my poetry collections on my social media accounts.

And then suddenly life got in the way. I read a decent bit in 2021 – 17 books before August when I took a “hiatus” of sorts – and started using Goodreads (let's be friends here). It didn’t feel like enough, though.

Things started to change in 2022.

I went from working a full-time, high stress internship (hi, Disney College Program!) to working part-time at a library. Suddenly, I had time AND I was surrounded by books. It was a sort of heaven, giving me the chance to rediscover my love – that never faltered – while learning how to be an “adult.” I’m still trying to figure that last part out. I don't think we ever figure that part out.

That wasn’t why I started writing about my reads, though. That was just a factor in the end result being 33 books over my Goodreads challenge goal of 12. Working at WDW, I thought one book a month was fair. Funny how things change.

I knew I wanted to go to graduate school at some point, preferably sooner rather than later, but I was scared I’d lose any and all capabilities to write and analyze text if I didn’t do something to stay active with it. Put those two together and you get the idea to write an essay about every novel read in a year. Not too bad.

First, I tried writing personal connections to the novels. Then they became somewhat analytical, somewhat critical – at least I thought so – before ending up as pseudo reviews. I think moving forward I’m just going to do monthly recaps. I liked writing those the best.

I like to think writing those essays helped retain some sort of competency in writing and understanding literature. I did get into graduate school after all.

2022 was a lot of things, good and bad. But despite it all, I had my books by my side. Their unfaltering loyalty has gotten me through life so far and I know going forward they will continue to be there.

literature
3

About the Creator

Victoria Brown

twenty-three & longing.

lover of words, tea, & antiques.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.