Gamers logo

The SAG AK is Supreme: Here's why.

New and definitely solid.

By JirasuPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

One of the highlights of this and any patch that comes to Tarkov are the new guns. It’s always fun to see what we get in terms of new ways to shoot our enemies in the face. And while the iconic G36 has made it into the game, I seldom see a reason to use it. Sure, it has gotten much better with both buffs to itself and the ammo it uses, but I find myself much more into another new weapon from this patch: the SAG 545 Ak 545.... yeah, kind of an interesting name.

It was added with the most recent patch and wipe, and even though I’ve only used it a handful of times, I feel right at home with it. Ever since learning about the budget ADAR build that I’ve been using since even before the Reserve patch (shoutouts to DeadlySlob for the build), I have always kind of prefered single fire weapons. Yes, there are moments were full-auto is superior, but in general, I feel much more in control with single-fire. And this new AK fills that role so well. It’s found on Skier level 2, and price was originally 90k rubles, which, for me was a bit too pricy for what it was offering. A high base ergo 545 ak that is single fire. But they have since lowered the price down to around 72k rubles. Which is much more reasonable. Combine that with the buffed 545 ammo this wipe, and you have a gun that can function very well and be a force to reckon with, when used in the right circumstances. The best part about it is honestly the only thing you need to add is an optic of your choice. It’s ergo is high enough that there isn’t even a need to replace the buttstock with something better or add a foregrip. Maybe, just maybe you could change the muzzle break to the DTK-1 muzzle device just because it’s so cheap. But again, that’s totally optional. The gun is sleek, it feels snappy, sounds great, and the recoil per shot is very manageable. Even if you spam it and try to shoot as fast as possible, with the right optic on it, recoil is low enough that it’s almost a non-factor. Kind of like bolt-action rifles and how recoil doesn’t matter. Ergo is the most important stat. Same thought process can be applied here. The new AK is the ADAR for the 545 calibers.

What I also like and dislike at the same time is how modular it is; there aren’t many things to customize on the weapons. Which, depending on who you ask, is either a good or bad thing. You add an optic, change the buttstock, pistol grip, foregrip, add a laser, and muzzle device. And that’s about it. No other handguards or dust covers are available for the gun. And while that might disappoint some people, remember, this gun has very solid base stats for the asking price. It’s one of those guns that you can purchase, slap a dot or scope on, and load into a raid. For people who don’t like to modify guns and make something truly their own, the SAG Ak is something you should look into getting. And, there’s even a short-barreled version for sale as well. Granted, it’s more expensive and on Skier level 3 versus the long-barreled option at level 2, but that’s because it has a better muzzle device on it from the get go, but it’s there if you want to use the gun in more CQC situations. Personally, I’d just use the long-barreled version, but up to you.

I love this new gun. This and the Benelli shotgun are easily my two favorite guns that were added. Once I have some more money, I plan on running this gun a lot. It suits me perfectly. The handful of times I have used it, my setup for it was Only adding an M-Lok foregrip, and an optic, something like the Compact prism scope; the same one I use on the ADAR, because it’s cheap and effective. If I survive a raid or two and make some money, I will upgrade to something like an Elcan scope, and even add a suppressor to the weapon. It helps as a mainly solo player, and plus, the gun sounds freaking awesome when it’s quiet. And when better ammo is more available off of players and crafts, I can only imagine how hard this gun will slap other players from range, where they won’t even know what hit em’. I highly recommend this gun to anyone who finds full-auto challenging to use and wants something that will reward you for both solid positioning, as well as good shot placement and patience. I would say the ADAR, but the SAG ak is new, and we use the new stuff when it’s fresh.

first person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.