Gamers logo

The Game

Game Night

By Kelly VedderPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

The Game

It's always good to look forward to something. For me, it’s game show and game night. My husband and I host a game every Sunday. Game night is open to all of our friends who want to come over and join in the game. We play board games and card games. Sometimes we order food, or our friend makes dinner. He is an amazing cook. If you're going to host a game night, always remember food and drinks. I usually supply soda, a seven-layer dip with potato chips.

There are a variety of board games to choose from. Some of the games that my husband and I own are outdated, which makes them more challenging. History is changing. Before I came up with this game night idea, I was looking forward to Wednesdays and Sundays. Those were the

nights when the game shows we love were being broadcast. Every night, between 7:00 and 8:00 pm, my husband and I would watch, “Wheel of Fortune,” and “Jeopardy.” We would also watch, “25 Words Or Less,” and ``The Price Is Right.”

When you’re watching a game show, you always learn something new. It keeps your brain sharp. By watching game shows, the main focus I was going for was for stress relief. I have always loved game shows. I started Game Night several years ago. It was something that I wanted to do, that didn't break the bank. You can host and participate with family and friends, or for an affordable date night. You can order your food out, or you could make dinner together. “Potluck game nights,” are fun.

In the past, some of my friends would ask me if they could host the Game Night. One Christmas, I hosted a charity game night. I always donated the money to MDA, as it hit close to home. This year I will have a charity game night to support local farms.

Game night is always held on Sunday. That way, more people can attend and join in. I hold two games night per week. One on Sunday, and another on a random night, so that if someone can't make it on Sunday, but wants to join the game night.

Friends come over to help my husband with farm work, getting it ready for winter. They then come in and have dinner with us. We watch game shows or they play a game of their own. This week, more friends were invited to our Game night. We played, “Battle of the Sexes.” It was a fun evening, had by all.

There were nights we would play cards. We would play poker, rummy or spades. My husband has a book of rules on how to play card games. Sometimes things don't go as planned. I usually make it a house rule, “Leave the drama at the door.”

The board game, Monopoly, has many different versions. We enjoy that. My husband and I bought a lot of games at Dollar General. Old game shows have come back, for example, one of my favorites, Supermarket Sweep. It now has different rules and games, but it’s very entertaining. Card Sharks was a good game show. It was broadcast on Wednesday nights with The Chase.

I am a fan of Bingo night. Since I moved to a new location, I haven't found a place to host it. Maybe I can host a bingo night in person or online? However, it requires some planning and preparation.

Apples to Apples seem to be a popular game. The more people play the better. Sometimes it is hard to decide on a game. You may ask people to bring a game they love, or you could invent your own game. Everyone can participate in the creation of the game and decide what the rules are.

This is a relaxing and fun time . My Game Nights usually end around 3am. Time flies by. You lose all sense of time. Time doesn't matter when you're with family and friends. Watching games, and having a game will definitely be something everyone to enjoy. It's safe, and inexpensive. Very good way to save money and avoid crowds. You can always ask guests to bring their own drink.

Perfect way to end a stressful day or week.

By Kelly Vedder

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelly VedderWritten by Kelly Vedder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.