Gamers logo

Riot's Wild Rift is Finally Available in NA

Is it worth the wait?

By Jane HPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Riot, Wild Rift

Riot, developer of the extremely popular League of Legends and Valorant, has been working on the mobile version of League of Legends: Wild Rift. The game was initially released in October 2020 in various countries across the world, but North America was left out. As of today, March 28th, 2021, NA's woes are no more!

I pre-registered ages in the Play Store to be alerted when the game was available for download. The pop-up notification made a bzz sound, distracting me from my conversation with my roommate. No offense to us, but our conversation can't compare to needing to download Wild Rift asap.

We downloaded it immediately, me on my Android and him on his iPhone. Download time differed, due to my phone data being faster than the WiFi. The game looks about the same on the two mobile devices.

We were put into a few tutorials, basic how-our-game-works stuff implemented by Riot. I yoinked Ahri and jumped into an intro bots game.

Riot, Wild Rift

The loading screen shows individual load-in times per Summoner, which I always preferred. Some things I noticed during playing:

  • Master Yi (Player 1, AI) ganked my mid-lane constantly. I'm not 100 percent convinced Yi was a bot.
  • My teammates knew what they were doing regarding the ping system. I did not.
  • The camera is locked-on to your champion.
  • The U.I. is a bit difficult to grasp immediately. Moving around isn't the easiest thing to do.
  • Some items are different than in the "regular" League. Boots have a 60-second cooldown for giving your champ a small speed boost.
  • The graphics are far more polished in Wild Rift than in League. The skin art is all animated too! The skins are interactable within the animations, some support zoom features in places not meant to be zoomed-in on, and then there's Teemo.
Riot, Wild Rift

Thanks, Teemo.

In my few hours of playing Dota 2, I can't quite say I'm an expert. Regardless, Wild Rift gives me Dota vibes.

Riot, Wild Rift

Either way, it's still an intro bot game. The honors system is completely different - if you liked a fellow Summoner give 'em a thumbs-up! I went 11-0 against an Annie and Yi, only when I was in the enemy's base did I see the AI try to defend.

The game then suggested trying a PvP game by placing me into a lobby without any prompt. Hold your horses, Riot! I have to look at pretty skins first!

As my roommate is a Teemo main, we went to Teemo's page first. The page offers both 2D and 3D options for viewing the little Yordle. There's also a full-screen option if you just wish to look at this guy's smiling, accursed face.

You can personalize runes (there is a recommended page!), browse through skins (Foxfire Ahri looks far better on mobile), and try and fail to stop yourself from spending money on a free-to-play game.

The quickest way to unlock champions is to play games and level up. It seems the max level is 40, granting you an icon border, an icon, and a new currency called Poro Coins. The Poro Store offers various "poses," depending on the champ's skin, pre and post-match.

There are weekly missions ready for you, as well as challenges available at level 10. For the game's NA release there's an intro event, titled Wild Rift Academy. Completion of the five daily tasks gives you a new champ, pose, and skin!

Well, is it worth it?

If you're a fan of the MOBA genre, like mobile games, or have been playing League for a while - well. Yes. The two-hour download time my roommate experienced was worth it.

new releases
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.