Gamers logo

Plunder – PC Review

AHOY THERE ME MATEYS!! Plunder is an Action Role-Playing open world game where you are a cute little pirate, exploring the magical world and facing war, mythical beasts, and dark forces.

By Bill WilhelmPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

AHOY THERE ME MATEYS!! Plunder is an Action Role-Playing open world game where you are a cute little pirate, exploring the magical world and facing war, mythical beasts, and dark forces. You decide your fate and what becomes of you, whether you are working against the world or with the world.

Developed and published by IB Games, the first thing you come across is a dark screen with a light showing a little path that you are to follow. This brings narration to what you are about to start doing.

The graphics of the game are top-down, “The Escapist” style. It has quite a “Zelda” feel to it. There is no game sound which is unusual for a game but you can put your own pirate-themed music on to set the scene!

The tutorial level killed me twice! So, it’s not as easy as you’d think!! Which I found hilarious. Once you get out of the dungeon trial area, you are met with an island which inhibits an old man that gives you a guide as to what to do next. The level after the tutorial is just as difficult, I lost count how many times I died before I defeated the enemies, which look like sailors.

Some of the characters give you little tips and quests, which do house some light humor in them, one guy told me not to tell his wife something otherwise she would kill him!!

You are also able to recruit new men to your team as your game progresses. Little things in this game were pleasing me. Like my crew followed me around after I recruited them. ​

There is a good choice of weaponry in Plunder, all details to a pirate’s life have been thought of and put into the game. No sooner had I left the island was I being fought against by sailors! They were boarding my ship and trying to take it from me!

So, in the last four hours that I have played Plunder, I have died countless times, found a load of gold and ammo, recruited two people, acquired a ship, got into a fight with the British on my ship, lost the two guys that I have recruited, died a lot more, killed a small crew of pirates, took on a pirate brig, died, EVEN more!

I thought I’d killed Captain Swansong, and thought I’d completed my mission, boy was I wrong, I died some more…beat the bastard, wobbled home with one health on my ship, to be attacked by the British AGAIN, handed the quest in and I was free! Yes, all that took me four hours, I am just that bad at the game, but I love it!!

My overall thoughts on the game are, that it could start off a bit easier (I’m a noob and died too many times.) The graphics are simple, the objectives are simple and easy to follow, the fact that it is open-world gives you the freedom to run around and find things to do, such as other quests.

The little bit of music that it does have is very “piratey” and fitting to the game. I would give this game an 8.7/10, it would be higher but I kept dying because I am that bad at it. (No scores were harmed from the dying in this game.) I would highly recommend this game as it is a fun little game.

You can buy Plunder on Steam for just £5.19 which I feel is undersold, it should definitely be a £9-£10 game. So, ye arrrrrgh getting a bargain! Go grab it by the hook!

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.