Gamers logo

2023 Cricket World Cup

2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup

By MD AshikPublished about a month ago 4 min read

The 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup (also referred to as simply the 2023 Cricket World Cup) was the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was hosted from 5 October to 19 November 2023 across ten venues in India.The tournament was contested by ten national teams, maintaining the same format used in 2019. In the knockout stage, India and Australia beat New Zealand and South Africa respectively to advance to the final, played on 19 November at Narendra Modi Stadium. Australia won by 6 wickets, winning their sixth Cricket World Cup title.

Virat Kohli was the player of the tournament and also scored the most runs; Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker. A total of 1,250,307 spectators attended matches, the highest number in any Cricket World Cup to-date.[1] The tournament final set viewership records in India, with 518 million viewers, and a peak of 57 million streaming viewers.

On 11 December 2017, India was announced by the ICC as hosts of the 2023 Cricket World Cup; while India had served as a co-host during three previous tournaments (most recently in 2011, which it co-hosted with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh), it would mark the first Cricket World Cup to be hosted solely by India.[2]

Originally, the competition was to be played from 9 February to 26 March 2023.[3][4] In July 2020 it was announced that due to the disruption of the qualification schedule by the COVID-19 pandemic, the start of the tournament would be delayed to October.[5][6] The ICC released the tournament schedule on 27 June 2023.[7][8]

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had threatened to boycott the tournament after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) refused to send a team to the 2023 Asia Cup scheduled in Pakistan.[9][10] This issue was resolved in June 2023 after the Asian Cricket Council announced that the tournament would be hosted using a hybrid model proposed by the PCB, with nine of the 13 matches in the competition played in Sri Lanka.[11][12]

This was the first ICC World Cup in which penalties for slow over-rates were given to bowling sides if they did not complete their 50 overs in the stipulated time. On-field umpires could penalise the bowling team by not allowing more than four fielders outside the 30-yard circle.[13] The tournament took place in ten different stadiums, situated in ten different cities across India. The first and second semi-finals were held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively, while the final took place at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.[7]

The BCCI provided funding for renovations and refurbishments at stadiums. Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium received a new grass surface, drainage system, seating, and hospitality boxes. Wankhede Stadium had upgrades to the outfield, floodlights, corporate boxes, and toilets. M. A. Chidambaram Stadium installed new floodlights and relaid two wickets.[17]

With the autumn scheduling of this World Cup, the ICC instituted protocols for reducing the impact of moisture—including dew and rain—on pitch conditions, so that they did not give the team batting second an advantage (as had frequently occurred in the 2021 Men's T20 World Cup). These included using a specific wetting agent, and the boundary set at around 70 m (77 yards) at each stadium, with more grass on the pitch to encourage seam bowling over spin bowling.[18]

All teams were asked to finalise their 15-player squads prior to 28 September, with any replacements after this date requiring approval from the ICC.[20] All squads were announced by 26 September 2023.[21] The oldest player of the tournament was Dutch player Wesley Barresi, who was 39 years old, while the youngest was Afghan spinner Noor Ahmad, who was 18.[22]

Match officials for the 2023 Cricket World Cup were selected by the ICC's umpire selection panel, headed by Sean Easey, the ICC's senior manager for umpires and referees. The panel selected 12 umpires to officiate at the tournament: three from Australia, four from England, four from Asia (one each from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka), two each from New Zealand and South Africa and one from the West Indies. It also selected four match referees for the event.[23][24]

Other than India, who qualified as hosts, all teams had to qualify for the tournament through the 2023 Cricket World Cup qualification process. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa qualified via the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, with the Netherlands and Sri Lanka securing the final two places via the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe during June and July 2023.

As a result of the qualifying process, the competition was the first not to include former winners West Indies, who failed to progress for the first time after their defeat to Scotland.[14] Full members Ireland and Zimbabwe also missed out on qualification, meaning three of the four full members who took part in the knock-out qualification stage did not qualify, with only Sri Lanka progressing.[15] The final qualification spot was decided by an eliminator match between associate members Scotland and the Netherlands,[16] with the Dutch side taking the final place.[14]

how tolistfeatureesportsadventure games

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MAWritten by MD Ashik

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.