Gamers logo

My Review of "Titanfall 2"

Not your ordinary first person shooter.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm sure a lot of us thought that Titanfall 2 was a throwaway game. It's been a running joke since it could be found at the dollar store for four dollars for quite some time. Questions started to run in my head wondering if this game was that bad that EA pretty much wrote it off and put it in the bargain bin.

I haven't ever played the original Titanfall so I couldn't tell you the differences between the games. Although, the original Titanfall wasn't a very big name either. At least I hadn't heard too much buzz about the game.

Now that the whole world is quarantined I finally got the chance to check out this game. What a heck of a game it is. I don't know why people have been sleeping on this game for so long. It could be a case of too many games, not enough time to play them. Let's be real with ourselves. We all buy so many games because games are discounted so frequently. There's not enough time to play them all. In fact, I still have a large library of games I'm still going through right now.

As far as this game goes. It really felt like a nice spin on the tired out first person shooter genre. There's so many elements that they added to this game that it boggled my mind. You have your usual cookie cutter FPS elements but they added so much more.

They added the element of time shifting. It's a pretty clever way to add a puzzle element to the game. Certain areas can be closed off because of some sort of obstacle so you have to shift to a different time when it's opened. This goes for enemies on screen as well. I never thought it would be so satisfying to run at an enemy trying to shoot at you time shift and then show up right behind them and assassinate them. Very cool stuff.

Adding to the puzzle element to the game they added a lot of platforming to the game. The level can be moving constantly and you have to figure out where you have to jump to next, run up a wall and get to another area. The things they did with three dimensions is remarkable.

I have to admit the time shifting and platforming was pretty rough at first. I really had to get a hang of time shifting on time and jumping and running at the same time. The learning curve is good but at certain levels it can be steep. I don't know how many times I fell to my death because I couldn't hit a wall.

The thing is, once you get over that learning curve it starts to really feel natural. You feel more in control of this character than you would in any other FPS.

In addition to all of this, you also have a giant mech that you use to destroy other giant mech's. I loved the fights with these giant robots. They even added regular sized enemies to further give you the illusion of how large you are.

The story isn't half bad either. You really get to bond with your mech. The banter between characters is pretty well done. It makes you feel that the mech was more than just a robot.

Overall, I had a heck of a good time finishing this game. There's some rough patches in the middle of the game especially when I was trying to learn the platforming and time shifting elements. After I got used to the mechanics of the game I really felt at ease. I have to give this game an 8 out of 10. I would highly recommend this game to others and I might have to play through this game on XBox 1 to get my achievement points. I finished it on the PS4 for this review.

first person shooter
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.