Gamers logo

My KH3 Wish

We're fans, too.

By Destiny SmithPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

You know what I really want in Kingdom Hearts 3?

I want the girls looking out for each other.

I want the first words on a restored Namine’s lips to be of Xion. Of the girl who had been forced into a terribly unfair decision, and faced it with such strength and goodness. I don’t want her shy and thankful and docile, as always. I want her determined and unwavering as she restores the memories of the girl who didn’t deserve to be forgotten. I want her coming back furious, raging against the unfairness of it all.

I want her to be there when the raven hair girl is restored, tears pouring down her face and an apology on her lips because she just didn’t deserve it. Because Namine promised to set her mistakes right.

And I want a friendship.

I want quiet conversations. Whispers of pain at the hands of the organization, and firm reassurance, because though their situations were different, they understand. They understand being the lesser thing. The tool. The disposable thing, that never truly had a place.

I want an unspoken vow to look out for the other so it never happens again. Because someone has to have the others back.

I want Aqua, limping out of her years in the realm of darkness, to look at these tiny, bright-eyed girls, and have a fire come to life within her, because having such large hearts is a danger at the best of times, and in days like this, it may as well be a death sentence.

I want Master Aqua to have her chance to be a master, as she takes on these three girls, because three just seems to be this universe's number, and teach them everything she can.

I want keyblade lessons, and magic lessons and deep life lessons, taught in quiet tones at the end of the day, once their bodies ache, and they can train no longer, because growing into a woman is a hard and long road, and someone needs to be there to guide them down it.

I want Aqua, hardened and wise, to teach these girls as if their lives depended on in, because she knows that it does. Because staying behind doesn’t make you safe. It makes you a helpless target, and she refuses to leave them to be victims.

I want bright, courageous Xion to find a piece of the place that she belongs- such as she had wanted the organization to be—within this little makeshift family.

I want her to wipe away Namine’s fears, as well as tears and apologies, because the witch had done one thing no one else had been willing to with her. She’d been honest.

I want her to walk the Island's sandy shore with Kairi, collecting sea shells as they go, and trading stories about the friends that they both love and fear for. For the boys that always seem to be a step in front of them.

I want her to be the one to push in training. To push for one more round, one more hour, one more try. To push herself and the others beyond their limits, but also be the first to cast a cure or toss a potion, because she just wants them to be safe. She wants to protect them the way she couldn't protect her other friends. The way she couldn't protect herself.

And I want Kairi, the precious princess of light, to look at the girls that have only ever been seen as cheap knockoffs of her, and see them. I want the light who took her nobody’s hand, and followed her through the corridor of darkness, for nothing but loyalty, to not even blink at the familiar features, and instead invest herself in getting to know these new friends.

I want her to thank Namine for opening the corridor both the first and second time, and I want Namine to confess what she’s done, without it falling to a shallow fight of jealousy, because if Kairi is anything, she is kind, and she is loved, and she can’t imagine living such a lonely life. She won’t imagine it, and she’ll fight tooth and nail to make sure the other girl never has to return to such a sad place.

I want her to spar with Xion until they’re both panting and bruised, and as her fingers ache around her keyblade handle, I want her to think how nice it is to fight and train with someone who won’t hold back, and maybe, just maybe, she can understand how her boys lost so many evenings doing just this.

I want them sitting on the beach, cold ocean water licking their feet as the tide comes and goes, while Kairi teaches them to weave string and shell together to make jewelry and lucky charms, and because everyone could use a little luck in a time as dark as this, I want them to make four special ones together. Four lucky charms, in the pattern Kairi had learned so long ago, and when they hand them out the next day, I want them chose not to say anything about the way Master’s eyes dampen.

I want there to be a loyalty and care between these characters that have been treated so unfairly by everyone. I want the ones that have been given the short stick by their writers, their fandom, and their universe, to stand together as an unapologetic, unshakable force.

women
Like

About the Creator

Destiny Smith

Writing is one of the few constants I've had throughout my life, and Vocal seemed like the perfect opportunity to put it all somewhere.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.