Gamers logo

LeBron James says that he is not retiring yet

LeBron James says that he is not retiring yet during his speech

By Ayesha IrshadPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
LeBron James says that he is not retiring yet
Photo by Chichi Onyekanne on Unsplash

NBA star and leading all-time scorer LeBron James put an end to speculation about his future on Wednesday, confirming that he is not yet ready to retire and that his love for basketball remains strong.

Following his team, the Los Angeles Lakers' defeat in the Western Conference final to eventual champions Denver in May, James hinted that he had "a lot to think about," leading to reports suggesting he might consider leaving the sport. However, during a speech at the ESPY awards ceremony, James dispelled any concerns that he might be ready to quit.

"I don't care how many more points I score or what I can or cannot do on the floor," James stated after receiving the award for Best Record-Breaking Performance for surpassing Kareem Abdul-Jabbar as the league's all-time leading scorer.

"The real question for me is: Can I play without cheating this game? The day I can't give everything on the floor is the day I'll be done. Lucky for you guys, that day is not today," he confidently asserted.

With a career spanning 20 years, James emphasized that he has never cheated the game and will never take it for granted. He expressed gratitude for the opportunity to play basketball and spoke about his dedication to the sport.

"I've never, ever cheated the game, and I will never take it for granted," James declared. His words resonated with fans and fellow athletes, highlighting his integrity and commitment to the game.

While there were suggestions that James might want to continue playing in the NBA alongside one or both of his sons, particularly his eldest son Bronny James, who will play college basketball at the University of Southern California next season and could potentially enter the NBA in 2024-2025, James dismissed such speculation. However, he did reveal that coaching his sons has helped reignite his enthusiasm.

"You know what brings me back every year? It's watching and coaching my boys and their teammates," James shared. The opportunity to guide and mentor his sons has reminded him of the pure love he has for the game and the joy it brings him.

"I see those kids, and it brings me right back to why I play. Those kids get me back to where I need to be, just the pure love of this beautiful game," he added, expressing his continued passion for basketball. James's involvement in his sons' basketball journeys has given him a renewed sense of purpose and a deeper connection to the sport.

Despite his longevity in the NBA and numerous accolades, James reassured fans that he still has a lot left in the tank and remains motivated to compete at the highest level. Reflecting on his contemplation after the Lakers' loss to the Nuggets, he admitted that he has often asked himself similar questions in previous seasons but had never openly discussed them.

"When the season ended, I said I wasn't sure if I was going to keep playing, and I know a lot of experts told you guys what I said, but I'm here now speaking for myself," James explained. His introspection after each season's end has become a personal ritual, where he evaluates his commitment and passion for the game.

"In that moment, I'm asking myself if I can still play without cheating the game—can I give everything to the game still? The truth is, I've been asking myself this question at the end of the season for a couple of years now. I just never openly talked about it," he revealed. James's willingness to confront these questions and share his thoughts demonstrates his authenticity and the depth of his dedication to basketball.

Last August, James signed a two-year contract extension with the Lakers, ensuring his presence with the team through the 2024-2025 season. This commitment illustrates his desire to continue competing at the highest level and further cement his legacy in the NBA.

As he continues to strive for greatness on the court, fans can look forward to witnessing more memorable moments from one of the greatest basketball players of all time. James's unwavering love for the game, his dedication to his craft, and his commitment to giving his all on the court are testaments to his exceptional character and enduring impact on the sport. The NBA will continue to be blessed with his incredible talent and influence for the foreseeable future.

fact or fictioninterviewesportscelebrities
1

About the Creator

Ayesha Irshad

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.