Gamers logo

I'm Making My First Official Game!

Announcement

By Nathan MillerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well, as you may already know, my dream since childhood was to make video games. And now that I'm studying to get a Bachelor's degree in Games at the University of Utah, I figured, maybe it's time to finally take the time to make my first official game. So, here's an announcement for it:

Announcement

Over the past couple of months, I have been planning on making a new game for PC to release to the public as my first official independent game. Unfortunately, I've just been too busy and lacked some good software to help make this game something that I could be incredibly proud of. But now, I'm at the University of Utah and while I'm taking classes here (because that's what you do at Universities) and I do work on weekends at the Honor's Market, I have finally found some time, and (thanks to having free Adobe products as a U student), I can finally make my own game that I shall release to the public. When I will release it, who knows? Games take quite a bit of time to make and I don't really have enough ready to get an official release date for it yet, but I think I have enough that I can at least announce that this game is in production.

Now, you're probably going, Nathan, you keep mentioning that the game is being made, but you haven't even mentioned the title. Well, random stranger, you want the title and some info on this game? Here it is. This is a game which I am calling, My Story, Told With You. It is simply a game where you (the player) will go through different moments in my life as I wonderfully narrate them for you.

But, Nathan, you're only a bit over a month from 23, how is that old enough to make a game about life experiences? Well, stranger. I know, I'm young, but believe me, there's been parts of my life that, to be honest, I have been too afraid to talk about with people. Stuff that, I just couldn't bare to talk about, because I still felt the pain of them. (No, nothing illegal or weird or anything like that, but you know, painful stuff, emotional stuff, stuff that used to drive me insane) But now, things are changing in my life. I left California and am going on with my new life in Utah, maybe it's time that I finally let go and talk about these things so I can finally feel free and ready to move forward. Plus, I have been wanting to make a game for a very long time as well as talk about some life experiences and how to move forward, so, might as well mix these two things together.

And who knows, maybe someone will play my game, hear some of my stories and it'll help them find a better path in life when they're lost, depressed and feel like they have nowhere else to go. To those of you that feel this way, I am making this game FOR YOU. This is a game that I hope can help you with your issues and your fears, and essentially help you find a way to live a happier life, like I've finally found for myself after years of searching and hoping for something to happen. You know, I've found that sometimes, the way to help yourself is to look at how others, who went through similar things moved forward from those situations and became better people.

My Story, Told With You is a 2D narrative game that I hope you enjoy. You can find the game here or here.

new releases
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Miller

My name is Nathan Miller and I am a fan of writing in all forms from screenwriting to writing short stories to nonfiction pieces about the things that I love. I hope you enjoy reading my pieces as much as I enjoyed writing them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.