Gamers logo

Hogwarts Legacy

1 year anniversary

By Jen PhillipsPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
Hogwarts Legacy
Photo by cant on Unsplash

1 year ago I finally received my letter to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. This was the most exciting thing I've had happen to me in a long time. I’ve waited for this day since I was in the 3rd grade, age 8, when our third-grade teacher read the class the first book of Harry Potter.

Since then I dreamt of attending Hogwarts. I had a tough time growing up, and Harry Potter was my escape- receiving a letter to Hogwarts at age 11 was a dream of mine. Being able to run away to Hogwarts for the school year sounded like a dream come true. Even as an adult it still sounds like a dream.

Of course, I've played all the Harry Potter video games that were available but it wasn't the same as when Hogwarts Legacy came out. I put the game in and turned the game on then the letter came across the screen. -I literally cried for an hour. I'm not even kidding. An hour I cried. I finally got my letter- a little late in life but I still got it.

This was a whole new experience. Being able to experience going to classes, and being sorted into a house, and getting the opportunity to explore the castle, grounds and neighbouring towns healed a part of my inner child.

The most disappointing part of the game was the end. I'm not an experienced gamer honestly it took me a few months to complete the game. Mostly because I would get off track and explore the wizarding world. When I finally finished the game I cried, again. Do you sense a theme? I tend to cry a lot, especially when it comes to anything Harry Potter.

After completing the game once I of course need to play through the game again but in a different house. I'm of course a Gryffindor but I was curious about what it be in Hufflepuff. I do have to say I am jealous of their common room and dorms. Why do they get a cooler space? Am I jealous? Yes.

My overall experience of the game was fantastic. The only thing I have to say is I wish the game never had to end. I understand the main game and side quests are great. Personally, I wish it could continue in other years like years 6 and 7. Even an option to go through years one through four and what happens before and after Hogwarts. I'm not the only one who was upset at no Quidditch. Yes, we got to ride a broom and do quests regarding flying, and some side challenges. But no Quidditch at all was very upsetting.

I wonder if the game developers have anything else in stock for this wonderful world. It would be nice if the game was more open-world world like having an option to play online with other players and have a story line there or some sort of quests. I personally think/ feel like it would be a great experience to have classes in the game where you are with other gamers and able to play with other gamers. An online world in Hogwarts Legacy would be the most epic thing in the entire existence of the universe.

I'm currently playing a second round of the game and I'm just as excited as the first time I bought the game and turned it on. I don't even care that it's not an online game.

I don't think I've ever been this excited about a video game since the Sims 4 and that says a lot.

playstation
Like

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.