Gamers logo

Focused or Solo?

Is it better to focus on one game at a time?

By Ben ShelleyPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
Focused or Solo?
Photo by Carl Raw on Unsplash

The Dream

If money and time were no object then I would focus on one project at a time. Still have all the consoles and probably add an Xbox/VR experience to the mix as I would be able to complete multiple games every week.

The Reality

I have to work to pay the bills.

The Solution

For me this year I have decided to split my focus across four separate games. One for the Switch, one for the SteamDeck and two for the PlayStation 5.

By doing so I can begin to make headway in my back catalogue.

Side note: display illuding to not having a lot of time on my hands I had time to calculate the back catalogue yesterday. Out of 178 (unique experiences across the three consoles I have completed 46 of them).

Roughly a quarter of my back catalogue is complete and this is not including digital versions that remain on the PS store from previous generations.

A big task and to solve that I am working across a rotating schedule. The one rule is that I cannot play the same console two days in a row. Keeping things fresh and exciting and avoiding stagnation.

The Games

 Dying Light 2: Stay Human (PS5)

The multiplayer choice. Whilst it may be considered greedy and if the consoles were social creatures, rude to play more on one than others, the PlayStation is where my friends lie.

Once a week my friend and I tackle the world of undead, scour the landscape, loot what we need and make our way through the world. An experience that is best shared with a friend.

For anyone that has played the first game, you will recognise the additional realities of the second. Here you feel as though you cannot rest for a second. Even simply dropping down to loot a box is full of risk.

Turning your back to find a horde of zombies eager to pick clean the corpses, leaving no time for loot. It's a challenge and one that feels ramped up with a friend. Crawling through the tunnels only to remember that immunity only lasts a certain amount of time.

It's a shame that when your immunity runs out you don't have the chance to turn. Would be a fun side mission but other than that, this is my go-to multiplayer for the moment.

Devil May Cry 5 (SteamDeck)

If the PlayStation is where my multiplayer flag is firmly planted then the SteamDeck is where my nostalgia lies.

My library is full of unfinished or missed experiences such as Devil May Cry 5 or the controversial, DmC. It's a retro gamer dream.

I originally purchased Devil May Cry 5 for the PS4 but didn't get a chance to play it as the console was near retirement. Stretch marks and slowdowns prevented a smooth experience, whereas the SteamDeck feels perfect.

Sitting on the sofa with my headphones turned to the max I can absorb myself in an hour of hack and slash. Backed by a thumping soundtrack, it offers a plug-and-play experience in full resolution, with no slowdown. As it was meant to be played, twice a week with the volume turned up.

Pokémon Violet

A game that feels rushed. A mismatch of ideas that produced something that feels as though it needed an extra few months brewing.

The raid and titan missions are plucked straight from Arceus, with the traditional combat and growth being seen across all other generations, filling the meat of the experience.

The third and final mission type is the Team Star battles which are about as challenging as aiming into the toilet, merely holding a button down and healing your Pokémon after. Feeling like a last-minute sticking plaster that appears vaguely different to hold the ground.

Twice a week feels as though it is more than enough time to appreciate this flawed game. Loveable as all Pokémon experiences are but Arceus this is not. Too much has been crammed into the seams and whilst there are moments of enjoyment, it's a struggle at times.

Ratchet and Clank

If there was ever an argument to focus and fully appreciate the experience then it would be with Ratchet and Clank. The fast-paced romp across the galaxy with two of Sony's most beloved mascots.

The MVP in my weekly rotation and a game most definitely to be savoured alone. The graphics are beautiful (even without 4K), the controls intuitive and the pace perfect. It was the top launch game for a reason. It is the experience that I most look forward to getting to each and every week.

It's a game that you can't help but smile about. Whereas Devil May Cry is a retro rush, with Pokémon providing a disappointing hug and Dying Light 2, a friendly challenge, this is the night alone. The no other distractions, for these two hours I am going to enjoy every moment.

A Final Thought

Being able to play multiple games across multiple platforms is a privilege. I understand that and take that seriously enough to ensure that I've not spent unjustifiable money.

Whilst Ratchet and Clank is the star of the week, each other game serves a purpose. The SteamDeck ensures that no experience is missed, Dying Light 2 offers multiplayer fun and Pokémon offers an experience in the Switch, preventing the console from gathering dust.

Pokémon is disappointing but it's still a franchise that I will never leave and offers me some levels of enjoyment.

By focusing on multiple experiences I find that I'm progressing through each story. At different paces but I'm still moving forward, avoiding reading about games or scrolling through YouTube, my video game week has a purpose.

featurehow toconsole
Like

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lucasssa12 months ago

    Definitely Solo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.