Gamers logo

Extra Life

Rooster Teeth Community and much more.

By Ellie WilliamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Taken by me! Please don't reuse without asking.

So, six years ago I watched a community of people spend hours of their time and life streaming events and videos. For an amazing reason! Extra Life! A charity program for the Children's Miracle Network. Rooster Teeth over the years as become an inspiration and a support network for me. They have made me laugh on days when I didn't think I could, but they have also made me cry for the losses of important members of their community.

Before I ramble about Rooster Teeth, let me explain more about Extra Life. It was started back in 2008, in honour of a child who fought cancer at one of Texas Children's Miracle Network Hospitals. Over the last 11 years, it has grown exponentially. Days after the full 24 hours streams started on November 2nd, Extra Life had raised just over $9 million for these hospitals!! And the streams won't end there! The last official date of the 2019 Extra Life is December 31st!!

To tie in Rooster Teeth to this, I need to explain why I am so proud to be apart of this community. First of all, the first year I was able to donate to their efforts for Dell Children's Hospital in Austin, TX, we raised enough money to provide funding for a new way to help scan brain waves for seizure warnings and research! Year two was for nurses and students to have practice dummies with different reactions and programs so they no longer had travel to Houston. For the next few years after that the Rooster Teeth Community helped raise money for increasing the productivity of the mental awareness and treatments of children going through so much! With a new playroom and last year an outdoor Healing Garden got built!

This year all of the donations are going to be for a building that includes three new departments for Dell Children's. Hematology, Neurology, and Oncology. All a part of the Here campaign so there will no longer have to be a lot of travel for the children and parents. All of their treatment can happen in one place!!

Why is this important to me? Why are they an inspiration to me? A lot of rambling about Rooster Teeth and Extra Life, but why am I writing this? Well, if you have made it this far, I am writing this because this year is the second year I am streaming. Last year, unfortunately, I did not plan well enough to make it for a 24 hour window, but my goal of $100 was met! This year, well, I am aiming once again for 24 hour as my stretch, if not at least 12 hours! I am trying to raise $250 as well.

I may not stream often enough to have a lot of followers, I don't care about that. I love being able to be a part of something larger than myself. I want to make a difference in the world and right now. This is what I am capable of. Spreading the word about Extra Life, sharing my stream. And asking, if you have free time go support the streamers who are taking time out of their schedule to help the younger generation grow and stay healthy!

Mixer, Twitch, and YouTube are where you will find most of these streams. You will most like find me rambling and streaming on Mixer at mixer.com/FrostyLadyQueen. And the Frosty bit comes from my sass. This isn't a plug for my streams. I don't stream that often. This is mostly just so you can find others under the Extra Life tag for Mixer. My whole goal in all of this is to be an informant.

If made it all the way here, I thank you soooo much for your time and patience for reading this crazy ramble!

Love: FrostyLadyQueen

feature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.