Gamers logo

D&D Time

I Finally Got Involved!

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
D&D Time
Photo by Alperen Yazgı on Unsplash

Yes, it’s the one game I’ve wanted to play forever, but I haven’t had the opportunity until my trip.

And now, I’m going to share it with you!

What is Dungeons and Dragons?

For any of you who haven’t heard about it (although I don’t know how that’s possible), D&D is a fantasy-themed tabletop roleplaying game that has been around since 1974. 

Probably the OG roleplaying game.

D&D Beyond

It started as strictly a tabletop game for many years and has had six editions.

But now it has an online version known as D&D Beyond. That was released in February 2006, with successive modules being released until October 2008.

Since then, players don’t need to be in the same room to play the game. Which came in handy during the pandemic.

How Do You Play D&D?

Created by me with DALL-E

You are guided by a Dungeon Master, who guides, referees, and tells the story of the adventure for you and the other players of your party.

You are often given several choices, and depending on the roll of the dice, they can be either helpful, harmful, or neither.

Why Dungeons and Dragons?

While I’m still warming up to playing video games, I’ve always enjoyed board games, even with the rarity in which I play them. And as it rolls up my alley, being a fantasy-themed game, I knew I’d enjoy it.

Why Did It Take Me So Long to Play?

Created by me with DALL-E

Unlike many board games, D&D runs on campaigns with multiple people, which can go on for hours, days, or even weeks.

The longest-lasting D&D campaign was over 39 years.

 That’s a long time!

And being a noob to it, most people wouldn’t want to be stuck with me. Even trying to join a campaign one of my friends was doing intimidated me.

Character Creation

Also, making a character for the game is its own process. You can’t just choose from a set of avatars; no, you make your own.

You can combine many classes, backstories, races, and whatnot to create your desired character.

And you can have more than one, too. But I will hold off on doing that until I become much better at the game and its components.

My D&D Character 

Screenshot of my character sheet

It isn’t the whole sheet, but it should give you a good idea about character creation for D&D.

But anyway, her name is Neovera, provided by the name generator, and she is a level 2 high elf sorcerer/fighter. I like magic wielders, but I wanted her to be able to fight without magic.

I know the sheet isn’t fully displayed, but my laptop doesn’t let me adjust the screenshot like my All-in-One in my office back in Washington.

How Did We Play D&D?

Photo by Gian-Luca Riner on Unsplash

From what I can imagine, it was the board game version, but I’m not entirely sure because we were interacting through a Discord chat.

But we didn’t make a lot of progress on the campaign; most of the session consisted of a few of us dueling it out on an online battlefield that seemed to be a pain in the ass to operate.

It was for the best that my character sat out of the challenge, as I would have been totally lost.

Do I Intend to Play Again?

Created by my with DALL-E

Hell, yes!

While that particular session was tedious, I know that wasn’t the norm for those sessions. And from my absorbed knowledge of the gameplay from other sources, it’s a fun game.

Hopefully, we’ll play a couple more times before I return to Washington so I can acclimate and gather tips on playing.

But if not, I can be a quick study.

And find other groups to play with!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

table topadventure games
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.