Gamers logo

Board Game Challenges

personal goals of mine (when things return to "normal")

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Board Game Challenges
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I have a dream ... many dreams, really. But lately, as I've been in heavy board game mode (obsessed right now), I have particular dreams ... relating to board games. I've come across a couple challenges (and have an idea for my own personal challenge) that would allow me to play more board games than I currently do ... which would be a dream come true!

100 Games in 100 Days

I heard about this guy, David Guthrie, who about 3 years ago (I believe it was 2018?) set out to play 100 games in 100 days. Specifically, he wanted to play the Top 100 Games according to the community of Board Game Geek (at the time of starting the challenge ... because he did not realize the list would change over the course of the 100 days, since it is dependent on community votes).

David realized early on that he wasn't going to be able to bug his friends every day -- people have lives! However, through the power of Instagram, the gaming community came together and helped him not only find more people to play with, but also helped him borrow games that he didn't own (because, in case you didn't know, owning board games is an expensive hobby!).

While I would LOVE to do a challenge like this, I think I would make it my own ... 121 Games in a Year. More specific though: 121 UNIQUE Games in a Year (no expansions or variations ... in other words, my half-dozen copies of Ticket to Ride variants wouldn't all count). 121 is one of my favourite numbers (for reasons), a year seems more reasonable (although it's still, basically, one game every 3 days), and like David I would also try to reach out and find new people to play with (this is, of course, a when-things-return-to-"normal" dream).

1v1 Challenge Board

As I was watching a bunch of @1minuteboardgames TikTok videos, one of the creators of the account (Rain) talked about a challenge board that she had custom-made for her and her boyfriend ... and I am IN LOVE with this product and idea!

There are different sizes, but I personally like the 10x10 (I believe that's the same size Rain got). This board allows you to choose 10 games to play 10 times, using a dry-erase marker to write the names of the games ... AND it comes with double-sided meeple markers (if you want; it is an extra cost), so one colour for you and one colour for someone else.

Games Featured on TableTop

The thing that got me into board games (like REALLY into board games -- I'm talking anything that's not Monopoly, Clue, Game of Life ... you know, the classics) is TableTop. TableTop was a web series, hosted by Wil Wheaton, where he played different tabletop games with different guests. The show ran for four seasons, and if I mathed it correctly there was 79 total games played.

I may also want to add Game the Game -- another web series on the same channel, hosted by Becca Scott, I think as a replacement when TableTop ended (don't quote me on that though). There have been incredible games on BOTH shows -- in fact, I've purchased and played a lot of them already. I would love to make it my mission to play ALL of them. (I could probably do this in conjunction with the first challenge I mentioned ... there are definitely more than 100, and 121, games though).

Conclusion

What is the point of doing any of these challenges? Playing more games! My mom has told me numerous times how grateful she is I found TableTop, and Game the Game ... basically, grateful I was introduced to games other than the same three games she grew up with, because I introduced them to her, and we expanded our collection and appreciation for board games. (I've also introduced my boyfriend to new games, and we introduced his brothers to Ticket to Ride, which has become a family favourite ... and why we have so many now.)

I'm also grateful for finding more games, and I'm grateful to all the creatives who have been brave enough to put these games out into the world. So what better way to honour these beautiful creatives than to play their games? Challenge accepted!

table top
3

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.