Gamers logo

'Battlefront 2' and 'Call of Duty: WW2' are Announced, But I Won't Buy a Season Pass for Either

With some of the largest scale games approaching their inevitable release such as 'Battlefront 2,' I've begun the debate of whether or not I should grab the season pass.

By Dustin MurphyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was a cold November in 2014 when I stood in line with the receipt to Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare in hand. My receipt total was circled in big red ink by the associate at the local GameStop. It wasn't the first time I stood in line with a ticket that totaled around $112.64 with tax. With my Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare Season Pass purchased, I was ready for the big fight when I took off to the online community, and prepared for the next installation of a franchise I once loved.

It was also that night that I turned around and went back inside, asked the associate for a refund for my season pass, and purchased just the base game. They looked at me a bit confused by the action, explaining to me that the Season Pass would be needed if I wanted to experience the Exosuit Zombies, new maps, and new weapons. After the ladies quick urging to purchase the season pass, I explained that I just wasn't sure about buying another season pass, and that the games were just getting to expensive.

It was also that day that I bought my last season pass I'd purchase outside of DOOM and Fallout 4's. It was one of the final times that I even second guessed the purchase I had made. It was the last time I found myself making an expenditure that wouldn't benefit me in the long run. This was the last time I knew that I would ever buy one outside of two pre-orders I had already made after Advanced Warfare.

Even if 'Battlefront 2' Has a Season Pass, I'll Pass on It.

Battlefront 2, New Order Storm Troopers | Courtesy: Disney, EA, DICE.

With some of the largest scale games approaching their inevitable release such as EA D.I.C.E.'s upcoming title Battlefront 2, I've become the debate of whether or not I should grab the Season Pass, and even begun to decide whether or not I would purchase it. Not because the game won't be great, I waited out the need to buy the Star Wars: Battlefront Ultimate Edition when it hit store shelves for $39.99 and purchased a complete game, and was quite content with the received content. While the wait was almost a year later, I was able to play the game I'd wanted to, and found myself without any expenditures I didn't need to make.

With EA and DICE quickly approaching the release of Star Wars: Battlefront II this fall, I'd already made my mind up on whether to buy the DLC or not, and my answer? I'll be passing on a season pass if one is to release. Not because I don't like the game, but because it's absolutely not necessary due to the rather hefty amount of games coming out this fall, which will consume much of my time. There's just not enough time in order to enjoy the game as well as the others that will be bombarding us at the same time.

Want DLC for 'Call of Duty: WWII'? You Shouldn't Need to Buy it to Have Fun.

Courtesy: Activision

Thanks to Battlefield 1 I have become quite intent on the lack of DLC that I have. I haven't needed to buy the 'Premium Edition' to enjoy a game that has launched. Instead, I've found myself quite content with the base game, still breath taken while storming across the German fronts as both American and German soldiers. The same goes for Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare where I've found myself smiling while running across the same walls I've had my character run countless times before.

As Call of Duty: WWII approaches, my interest has been piqued due to the fact Activision has heard the call of the masses, and has decided to turn back the clock on what war their game takes place in. However, once again, I'll see myself standing in line on a cold November evening with a ticket in hand, but again, it won't ring up for over $100 USD. I know I'll get the enjoyment from the base game, just as I have for the past three years, and will in the future. Like me, you can still have fun without running to the store with a DLC code purchase in hand. Instead, why not find the longevity in the base game, and show developers that DLC isn't required for a good game? Just remember, fun is in the memories you make, not the ones you pay for.

combat
Like

About the Creator

Dustin Murphy

A video games journalist and Content Creator. He has been featured on sites such as AppTrigger and MoviePilot. He's the president and editor-in-chief of the independent news publisher Blast Away the Game Review.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.