FYI logo

You Have Nice Handwriting

Handwriting and Personality

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
You Have Nice Handwriting
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Each and every one of us has our very own unique handwriting. We dot our i’s and cross our t’s differently. Some of us might emphasize the tails of our j’s and g’s more. Some of us write carefully and meticulously with superb penmanship while the rest of us write fast and haphazardly where our words are almost illegible.

My handwriting tends to be small to average, carefully written but with an unintentional slant thanks to me being a lefty. When I was a kid, I had really small handwriting! My 2nd grade elementary school teacher had to gently remind me to make my words bigger next time I wrote on the class whiteboard.

People have said I have really nice handwriting. I don’t know. To me, it just looks like your basic average looking handwriting.

What does our handwriting say about us anyway?

Size

The size of our handwriting tends to say quite a bit about our personality. Those that write in large letters are more prone to be more extroverted, outgoing, and love being the center of attention while those that write in small letters tend to be more shy or introverted or even meticulous.

While the size of my handwriting has greatly improved from the teeny tiny handwriting I used on the whiteboards in elementary school, I still, for the most part, write on the small side.

I fall more on the introverted spectrum so size of handwriting and personality is fairly accurate. At least for me. I am quiet and admittingly shy, and I “recharge my batteries” by spending my alone time in a quiet place or with minimal noise.

Author image

“What if the size of my handwriting is somewhere in between?” You say. “Not really small but not really big either?”

Those that fall somewhere in the middle or have average size handwriting tend to adapt well to situations. They also are more focused and likely to have better concentration.

Dotting i’s

I never give a second thought about how I dot my i’s. Just a simple dot can offer a lot of insight on one’s handwriting it seems.

A dot close to the “i” signifies one that is organized and pays attention to detail while a dot high above and further away means a vivid imagination.

Those few that dot their i’s with a circle are likely to have a fun childlike persona.

Crossing t’s

Just like with my i’s, I don’t give much thought as to how I cross my t’s either. Turns out they can say quite a bit about one’s personality as well. Those that cross their t’s short are more prone to be lazy while those that cross their t’s long are more enthusiastic maybe even stubborn.

Y loops

A narrow slender y loop indicates the writer is more selective and particular about their social circle. A more broad and open loop indicates that they have more of a broad social circle.

Mood

I think mood would also play a significant factor in one’s handwriting. If I am calm and able to focus on what I’m writing, my handwriting tends to be neat. If I am in a rush or just not in that great of a mood, my handwriting is still legible but not as good as it usually is.

(Note: I made sure that the sample of my handwriting was written during a calm and pleasant mood).

One’s handwriting also changes drastically from repetition. Think about when or if you sign holiday cards or write personal thank you cards. With each card you write, the handwriting of your last card will be different than the handwriting of your first card. Maybe by the time you get to signing card number ten, your hand will cramp or you will just get tired of writing.

This was really fun going back and trying to analyze my own handwriting. I never really thought about how handwriting can connect to personality.

What does your handwriting say about you? You can try and analyze my handwriting if you want. I don’t mind!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Decades ago, read a book that analyzed handwriting!!! As I recall m, you included their handwriting theories. Well done!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.