FYI logo

Would you Drink Cat Poo?

What's in Your Mug?

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
I Don't Think Kenan Thompson Approves of This Cat Poo - Poo Drink

Would you drink something gross?

Yes, you heard me correctly but let me expound on my opening remark.

Would you drink poop from cat?

You’re probably wondering where I’m going with this and you are in the right spot.

There are things and lengths people go and for many, we will not take the risk.

So, here's something you didn't know.

The coffee we are going to discuss is called Kopi Luwak. It is cat feces.

According to kayakopi.com, “Kopi Luwak is the world’s most exclusive (and most expensive) coffee. The main factor of its high price is the uncommon method of production. It is produced from coffee beans which have been partially digested by the Indonesian palm civet and then excreted. Yes, it sounds kind of gross, but not to worry! The outer layer of the coffee bean is removed during processing and the remaining beans are completely cleaned before being roasted and sent to you.”

Do you know what excreted means?

Excreted – (of a living organism or cell) separate and expel as waste (a substance, especially a product of metabolism).

Even though the outer layer is removed, for me the thought is still there. I do not want to drink a Civet’s feces. It does not sit right with me.

The article goes on to say that, Part of the magic of Kopi Luwak comes from the healthy enzymes from the luwak. If the diet is deficient, this enzymatic process won't be efficient.”

I’m still not sold on this coffee, but at least the Luwak has healthy enzymes. If you do decide to drink it, make sure you look up the manufacture. It never hurts to research what you consume.

Let’s do some investigating to see how much these beans cost. I already know the Jamaican Blue Coffee Beans are up there in price in the coffee hierarchy. Tip: Make sure you get them from Jamaica, some places sell them and say they are Jamaican Blue but are not the real thing or the flavor profile is not the same.

I’m thinking the Kopi coffee will range from $100 - $200.

Oh man!!!

I was in the ball park but that $100 is for just a cup. I know we all got our stimulus and live large, but this is not worth it.

I roast coffee beans for my online coffee shop and do not charge this much. Maybe I need to get some cat feces to my customers. Nope, I’m not going to do that to you guys.

Kopi luwak is coffee made from coffee cherries that have been eaten, digested, and defecated by the Asian palm civet, a small mammal that looks like a cross between a cat and a raccoon. The beans are then cleaned and processed. In the West, kopi luwak has become known as "cat poop coffee."

With prices ranging between $35 and $100 a cup, or about $100 to $600 a pound, kopi luwak is widely considered to be the most expensive coffee in the world.

600 what?? That’s just for a pound of coffee. A pound can last you a long time. I would say a whole year if you do not drink coffee every day. Ground coffee will go faster since the beans are already grounded.

Here's a trivia note; coffee beans are at its freshest for about ten days.

Coffee beans are always releasing gas. That is how they turn into the coffee beans you see in the store. Don't worry, coffee beans do not rot. However, they do go stale and begin to lose it's initial flavor.

Me personally, I’m not paying no more than ten to fifteen bucks on a pound of coffee.

It totally depends on you, but I just cannot come to grips with it. $600 for coffee or tea is absurd. Especially when the berries are eaten by an animal who expels them out and we end up drinking the final result.

Pop Culture

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.