FYI logo

Things Kids Say: Myth vs Fact

My 9 year old walks around spouting off facts at all hours of the day like he's some kind of Einstein... well, is he?

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Things Kids Say: Myth vs Fact
Photo by Jonas Leupe on Unsplash

I got completely stuck on, “Who decides what is Common and Uncommon knowledge”? Some of the submissions I have read I thought... “EVERYONE knew that”... some I had NO IDEA what they were talking about...so I was having trouble coming up with what I deemed “Uncommon Knowledge”.

Since my 9 year old could speak, he has rattled off “facts” during conversation or at random awkward silence moments.

I have no idea if half of the stuff he tells me are actually true... which brings us to now. The last few days I started writing down his “facts” in a note on my phone. I thought it would be funny to copy/paste them in an article and try to fact check them.

Boogers are C02, Your nose filters them out.

  • MYTH: I searched google and could NOT find any evidence of this. I have no idea where he even got this information. While your nose DOES filter out many things...I can’t find any supporting information that your boogers are composed of C02.

You aren’t actually touching things because atoms can’t touch things

  • FACT: There is actually some truth to this/arguments about this. For more information read here. Since everything you see and touch are made up of atoms and atoms don’t touch, we aren’t actually touching anything. This one blows my mind!

Your legs tense up when you run

  • FACT: This does happen to some runners for various reason. For more information read here.

If you eat fish your hair grows faster

  • FACT: I will admit, I did know this one... Fish provide benefits for A LOT of different things. Hair growth, skin radiance, health, and more. Unfortunately, I find fish disgusting, so this doesn’t help me! Here are 11 benefits to eating fish.

Facial cleansers don’t work, you just need water

  • CONTROVERSIAL: This one is a bit more controversial. Some say you shouldn't use cleansers and should go a more natural route. Others suggest finding the best cleanser for your skin type. For me, I am a soap & water type of gal and have found that this routine works best for me. I haven't broken out in years. Others, have told me their 3-10 step skincare routine and swear by it. Here are two articles I found interesting on the subject matter. Don't Wash vs Wash.

At some point in everybody’s life you feel like you need to pop your back, but it won’t pop

  • FACT: Ok, I'm not expert, and I didn't "fact check" this one. I feel like this HAS to happen to everyone. So I am going to go ahead and take the liberty to approve this one.

One persons body parts are opposite of the other persons body parts One in 1 million chance of it happening.

  • PARTIAL FACT: It's actually 1 in 10,000 births & that is the only thing that makes this a partial fact. I have to say my mind is blown, I didn't realize this was a "thing". Here is an article explaining Situs Inversus. I found it interesting that there are some celebrities that also have this, such as Catherine O'Hara, Enrique Iglesias, and Donny Osmond.

If you've ever flown on an airplane and have achy feet, you should pack tennis balls. Take your shoes off, place the tennis balls under your feet, and do a back & forth motion to ease out the aches.

  • FACT: Ok, so I may have re-worded what he said...because I don't think anyone would have understood what he was trying to say had I not adjusted some of the wording. Also, I'm not sure why he singled out only flights...this technique could be used in your day to day life. Here are some explanations and techniques for your reading entertainment.

The Statue of Liberty is made out of copper it turned green overtime due to weather.

  • FACT: I actually knew this one and also thought most people knew this. However, I discovered my daughter did not know this fun fact. Hello oxidation! Read more about how the weather affected the Statue of Liberty here.
By Brandon Mowinkel on Unsplash

Tigers stripes are not just on their fur, it’s on their skin too. So if you shave them you’ll still see their stripes.

  • FACT: I'm legit shocked I did not know this. Like...WHERE DOES HE GET THIS INFORMATION FROM? IT'S SO RANDOM! However, it isn't true for ALL animals, read more here.

Brass gets rid of germs and that’s why most door knobs are made out of brass.

  • FACT: Again, WHAT?! I did not know this... While it doesn't GET RID of them, it greatly reduces bacteria build up. Here is more information on this whacky fun fact.
By Jamie Haughton on Unsplash

There’s more bacteria in your body than there are people on earth

  • MYTH: I think he misunderstood the information on this one. There's more bacteria in your body than there are human cells, not humans on earth. Well we all strike out at some point, eh? Interested in this science? Check out more here.

When a dogs nose is wet they are hydrated, when it isn't wet they are dehydrated.

  • FACT: He strikes again! Here are other signs/symptoms that can tell you more about your dog based on observing its nose.

There you have it, things kids say. Or maybe it's just my kid, I don't know. Enjoy this post? Consider leaving a tip, sharing the post, or giving it a heart ♥️ . Check out some of my other work here.

Pop Culture
6

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.