FYI logo

The Truth About Lake Lanier

What Really Lies Under The Water?

By Danielle AlbrightPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
The Truth About Lake Lanier
Photo by Skyler Smith on Unsplash

Hopefully, you didn't click my story because you're planning a family or friend trip to Lake Lanier, but if you did.... I’m sorry.

For those of you who aren't from Georgia, Lake Lanier sits between the Blue Ridge Mountains in Georgia. Lake Lanier is one of Americas favorite Lakes that is mostly known for recreational activities such as fishing, swimming, water skiing and more. That sounds great and fun right? Let me put a picture of this lake down below so you can really see just how great it is.

By Byron Johnson on Unsplash

Look at that view! I mean who wouldn't want to come to a place like this? Now I can admit I wasn't born and raised here in Atlanta, Georgia; however, I love the water. When I moved here from Wilmington, NC in 2014, I was so heartbroken that I was away from the beach. I hated it here until I heard of Tybee Island, and Lake Lanier.

I can't lie to you guys.... I wanted to go to Lake Lanier myself a few years ago to swim with my friends and family. Yes, I know, I know... you guys probably think I'm a hypocrite but that was before I knew the dark truth.

My boyfriend absolutely loves to fish, so for his 21st birthday I decided to plan a fishing guide trip at Lake Lanier. I was so excited to surprise him with his birthday surprise since we couldn't plan much thanks to Covid-19.

Since I was looking up Lake Lanier and fishing guides so much, I was soon overflooded with fishing and lakes near me in my email, and also on all of my social media sites. At the time I thought it was a sign to go through with the plan and pay for the fishing guide. The guide was about $165 and for me being a broke college student, that was a lot of money, but I knew I had to do something special for my boyfriend of 2 years.

As I sat in the living room one day, I heard the TV say something about Lake Lanier, and remembered that I should just go ahead and pay for it today until I heard the word DEATH! Instantly at that moment I pulled out my phone and looked up the incident that had happened. Apparently, a young man and woman both drowned in the lake, and their body was never found. Once I saw that, I knew that I wasn't going to go there.

I have also been one to obsess with murder mysteries such as Kenneka Jenkins, Robert Durst, and many more. When I saw that the couple went missing, I wanted to know more about this Lake and also the case. As I looked into the case, I found it very odd that the bodies were never found, even though the lake wasn't too deep. I was left to think that maybe there was a crocodile or alligator, or maybe some type of big fish in the water that could have possibly ate the couple before their bodies were found. I tried to search for an answer and ended up with nothing. After weeks of obsessing over the case I decided to start some research on Lake Lanier and learn more about it than just the fun part.

As I looked up incidents that happened in Lake Lanier, I saw that there has been more than 200 people that have died in swimming, and boating accidents on the lake since 1994. According to the Georgia Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement division: "Lake Lanier experienced 57 boating fatalities and 145 drownings between 1999 and 2018. From 2015 to 2018 alone, Lake Lanier saw 43 lake-related deaths." Isn't that crazy, but that's only the ones that were reported.

Many people say that there are dangers that lurk in the waters of Lake Lanier. They have to deal with extremely cold water, dangerous underwater hazards, and almost near zero visibility every time the police go out on a rescue or recovery mission...…Are you scared yet? Just wait I have more.

The USA stands on a foundation of lies, and bodies throughout all American history especially history on African Americans, and many counts of racism towards African Americans.

You guys are probably thinking "What does this have to do with the lake?", just listen and I will explain, sheesh.

Lake Lanier was built in 1957 by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Lake Lanier is nothing more than a "man-made" lake that served to manage navigation and flood control from the Chattahoochee River, and to supply water for residents in the city of Atlanta. Now even though that sounds great, there is a darker side to the story that they just don't want us to know.

Just about 42 miles north of Atlanta beneath the dark waters of Lake Lanier lies a small village that was called "Oscarville, Georgia. Oscarville was a thriving village that was predominantly Black-owned! This incident many years ago effect over 1,000 black lives, and families forever.

On September 8, 1912 there was a rape and beating incident of an 18-year-old white woman named Mae Crow. This 18-year-old woman was beaten so badly they said her eye was dislodged from her skull and died from her injuries. Many white citizens assumed that the attackers were two African American men. The White citizens were so angry about what had happened to Mae Crow, they decided to form a violent mob to seek revenge for the 18-year-old woman. This mob started to burn down predominantly Black-owned churches, houses and businesses. Doesn’t it sound just like Black Wall Street?

Once the two African American were accused, they went to trial for a day and were found guilty and hung outside of the town as over 5,000 people stood and watched as these two African American hangs lifeless as they called them racial slurs such as "Low-brow gorilla-like Negroes".

As this continued it is sad to say that the mob became more and more violent by hunting, killing, and hanging over 1,000 black residents from their homes, churches, and even a business, in order to keep segregation going in the U.S.

In 2007, Lake Lanier was a part of a huge drought that revealed the motor speedway that was a pretty famous place within Oscarville, Georgia. having many races throughout it's time before it had met its watery fate.

As this horrible bloodshed was coming to an end, Local white citizens created Lake Lanier that was forced upon the land of Oscarville. The Bufford Dam was also created to help cover up the horrible tragedy that had took place there. I believe that Georgia said that this was a great water source only to cover up their bloody dark past.

In my opinion Forsyth County is still segregated and racist in Georgia. Even for this last presidential election we had before 2021, we could see that Lake Lanier was filled with Trump supporter boats and flags, shouting out racial slurs.

We sadly still see harsh murders and racism of African Americans today. I personally believe that the souls that lay there under Lake Lanier will never truly be able to rest in peace. The buildings, grave sites, homes, blood, and bodies that lay under the great Lake Lanier will always be a forgotten memory, but never forgotten to me, and hopefully to you too.

Humanity

About the Creator

Danielle Albright

I'm a new writer looking to fill my free time with something more productive.

Everyone around me has told me I have a writing gift, and now it's time to put it to the test.

I'm super excited in growing a family with all of you!!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Danielle AlbrightWritten by Danielle Albright

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.