FYI logo

The Six Biggest Tarot Myths

And why they just aren't true

By Rowan FloresPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
The Six Biggest Tarot Myths
Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Ever since I started practicing Tarot a few years ago, there have been a lot of myths that have crossed my path. I always thought Tarot was complicated or that you had to possess “special ability” in order to be a good reader. Plus, there was a lot of gatekeeping and mystery draped over the practice that made it feel difficult to be a part of . Thankfully, I was able to find several Tarot groups on Facebook that allowed me to explore and debunk a lot of these myths.

So without further ado, here are six Tarot myths I heard when I first started.

By Edz Norton on Unsplash

1. The Tarot is predicting the future and it 100% will happen.

I remember when I first learned that Tarot existed, I assumed it was a method of fortune telling or predicting the future. And although it is under the umbrella category of “divination”, it does not predict the future. Tarot should be used as a tool grow, not the end-all-be-all word from the universe. A reader who is genuine is providing guidance to their querent should not give the impression that what the cards say is the only thing will play out. When reading Tarot, one should keep in mind that the cards present choices and the truth. Depending on the spread, the cards can show outcomes if certain choices are made, reveal situations that need to be addressed, show individuals true colors in the present situation, and so much more. But always know that what the cards depict is merely one option. You always have power over your life.

By Content Pixie on Unsplash

2. A Tarot deck must be gifted to you.

This was probably one of the first “rules” of Tarot I heard. To be honest, I am not 100% sure why this is a myth. I think I read somewhere that this rule was in place to keep Tarot among an elite few that were deemed worthy enough to join the practice, but I have no way of confirming or refuting this. However, waiting to be gifted a deck is not a requirement of Tarot. I have both bought my own decks (very first deck) and have been gifted decks (my second and third decks), and as far as functionality goes, there is no difference. Personally, I find myself more attracted to the decks I was gifted because they were given by people I am close with and hold dear to my heart. But that is my own personal preference for where I am in my practice right now. Everyone is different!

By Cat Crawford on Unsplash

3. There are “bad” cards.

Another myth that comes up quite a bit, especially with those who haven’t been around Tarot for very long, are that certain cards are bad or signify bad things. For example, the Death card. Those who are new to Tarot may pull this card during a reading a think that there may be a literal death in their or their querent’s life, OR that it could be hinting at a bad omen. But in reality, the Death card signifies change, transformation, and endings. So really, like any of the other cards in a deck, it comes down to context and what you feel the card is pointing you towards. There are no “good” cards or “bad” cards.

By Edz Norton on Unsplash

4. You must already have some “psychic ability” to be good at reading Tarot.

This myth kind of plays off of the very first one. There is no psychic ability necessary for Tarot because Tarot is not a way to predict the future. Again, it all comes down to choices, and the cards present the current situation and possible outcomes of the current situation. So being able to interpret the cards has nothing to do with “psychic ability” and more to do with connecting with the querent and your intuition.

By Soulful Stock on Unsplash

5. The Tarot is demonic.

This boils down to spiritual and religious beliefs, and ultimately it’s down to the person’s opinion (and people have a right to believe what they want to believe!). But Tarot cards are not demonic. They are not a way to speak with demons or the Devil or anything like that. Some readers believe that the cards are attached to energy or a person’s spirit, but that varies person to person. But you are not going to open a portal to hell or even another dimension by partaking in Tarot.

By Cat Crawford on Unsplash

6. Your first deck has to be the Rider Waite Deck - or you at least need to learn the meanings on this deck.

The Rider Waite Deck (RWD) is one of the most widely used Tarot decks out there. I, personally, have not used it but it has a lot of great imagery that really make the meanings of each card stand out. A lot of beginners start off with this deck and learn how to read with the RWD, but that doesn’t mean that this has to be everyone’s first deck. Hell, the first deck I ever used was merchandise from an interactive iPhone game! And I never felt that it was inaccurate or less effective. You should use whatever deck you feel drawn to, and don’t try to force a connection with a deck just because you think it’s the one you should use.

By Jen Theodore on Unsplash

I feel like there has always been this cloud of mystery draped over the Tarot that has caused a lot of people to either become discouraged from practicing or feel like they have to hide it from others. I hope that by reading this, it has either opened up your eyes, or at least made the Tarot seem a little less daunting. When you really think about it, the only “rules” that should mater in Tarot are the ones you create for your own practice.

Happy shuffling!

Pop Culture
1

About the Creator

Rowan Flores

Writing has always been a cathartic experience for me. I have been able to process a lot of demons by word vomiting into a keyboard. I hope that by reading my stories they allow you to do the same!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.