FYI logo

The Cougar and the Dead Cell Phone Terror with Timely Solution

"I'd rather die than lose my cellphone pictures..."

By Annemarie BerukoffPublished 3 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cougar and the Dead Cell Phone Terror with Timely Solution
Photo by Bruce Jastrow on Unsplash

On one hand, a powerful hunter brought fear; on the other hand, a pocketsize cellphone that died caused the terror.

The threat was real … physically, emotionally and psychologically.

How do you describe feelings of terror infiltrating your body? It starts with a deep gnawing in the pit of your stomach, pumping the blood, releasing stress hormones as it slowly churns waves against your breathing and spreads into your head flooding adrenaline into your brain palpitating fear and hopelessness.

I’ve experienced it twice; once, with a stalking cougar and once facing a black screen cellphone with lost memory. Neither must happen again.

A cougar in our North American mountains is the second largest cat living in dense underbrush, weighing up to 150 pounds and hunting small prey like deer. It is both lithe and muscular with a long tail used for balance known for strong jaws and long canine teeth able to cut through muscle and bone.

It can track and come within 2 or 3 great leaps before charging at lightning-fast speed to knock the prey down.

Last fall, it was late in the afternoon as I was returning to the house from the old barn along a grassy trail. A slight crack of a twig instinctively alerted me that something was moving behind me as the color drained from my face as my heart picked up the pace to fight or flight response. Once, momentarily, I glanced back to see a light color move between shadows that only accelerated the steps but not too fast to trigger his impulse to attack. Once behind closed doors it took a few minutes to regain breath and lower blood pressure.

Last week this feeling of imminent dread filled my body again. Possibly, it could have even been worse than physical injuries because all my intellectual resources were under attack, possibly destroyed in a nameless void.

The problem started when I no longer received Gmail messages…my all-purpose Google search engine, cloud computing, ecommerce, customer manager stopped communicating on the cellphone. I phoned the service provider to check their data base to be told that the service was blocked because of an authorized voicemail message that they could have informed me earlier to correct.

I was told the only way to reconnect the service was to shut off my cellphone by pressing two side buttons at the same time and holding for a minute or so. Yes, I did that, and in a split second the screen blazed yellow and blue flashes. And then black, a solid impenetrable black screen. My cellphone had died.

And yes, I felt that emotional reaction as panic started to stir with that nauseous feeling of apprehension that I had lost all my data. The blank cell phone face stared as malevolently as any cougar’s eye having just engorged my documented whole being in a second.

Welcome to our digital environment filled with smart connections to our new world of storing and transferring our important data, documents, videos and pictures. So much critical information about our lives is accessible and preserved in this handy pocket-size tool replete with work and pleasure.

But what happens if by some unexpected twist of fate this sensitive digital life is damaged, stolen or destroyed? It happens more often than not.

I sat there dumbfounded, heartbroken, staring into an obliteration of 12 years without my baby pictures, grad events, holiday memories, business records, documents, files, marketing ads, contacts … all voided forever.

“Why didn’t I use some kind of data back up protection?” I cried into the void. After all, there were a few advertisements for backup software.

I remembered seeing one ad quite frequently on Facebook for a company called GotBackUp. It provided an all-in-one solution that was easy to use, affordable, a truly set-and-forget system with unmatched security that ONLY cost $9.97 per month to upload and store 6 accounts with 6 Terrabytes.

So, I got serious about finding the video tour to get my free position, continued to watch more videos and was consistently impressed by how much professional training was offered almost every day of the week. This turnkey business, I thought, could be called the new age of internet marketing of digital products where my “job” was to invite interested prospects to watch training and get their questions answered.

I learned how I could supplement my income, or even replace it like others were doing with a $9.97 month home business. This was a worldwide business opportunity with a product that everyone needed and a business that everyone could afford.

In fact, all it took was two referred personal members to be in profit or one personally referred reseller who starts building a team. Included was an outstanding marketing strategy that leveraged online advertising of this revolutionary home-based business that has changed lives with such affordability and accessibility to anyone, anywhere in the world!

TIMELY SOLUTION

This business is very personal now to protect my pictures and business files and everything in between. I think your data deserves the best protection, too! Plus, you never want to face a cougar by being not careful enough.

You are invited to join the GotBackUp family today and embark on an incredible journey towards financial freedom and personal success.

If interested, request to watch our presentation.

Annemarie Berukoff

Pop Culture
1

About the Creator

Annemarie Berukoff

Experience begets Wisdom: teacher / author 4 e-books / activist re education, family, social media, ecology re eco-fiction, cultural values. Big Picture Lessons are best ways to learn re no missing details. HelpfulMindstreamforChanges.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Robbie Newport3 months ago

    Scary story! My phone fills up quickly with pics; in about one year I have to back em up and erase. Thumb drives are my backup. One day, I'll have some photos made real like the good old days.

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very intriguing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.