FYI logo

Tempus Fugit

People Often Ask How Do I Find Time

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
7
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

Many people ask me how I find to do the things that I do, while I feel that I just do not do enough, and am not supportive enough. I have just returned from a day in Scotland including about eight hours on a train, which included getting an unexpected electric shock leaving me with a fried middle finger. I wasn't too sure if I would be able to type, but some Germolene has done it good and it now just feels a bit itchy and very red.

I can still write, well, type, so here are a few pointers to how I manage to fit so much into my days. The video I have included I thought was called "Time Flies" but I love the video, and it is called "Time Heals" by Todd Rundgren from his album "Healing"

My Days

Everyone has twenty-four hours in their day, but how that twenty-four hours is split is different for everyone. But this is what most of my days are like.

This is not really advice, although if you can take something from it that would be great.

I tend to have about six hours sleep, although sometimes I would like more. I usually stay up til midnight then I share my Wordle score with Dharrsheena. I wake at around 5:45 AM drag myself out of bed, perform my ablutions then over coffee I do Weaver and send my score to Dharrsheena and she reciprocates.

That six hours sleep is a quarter of the day gone and leaves me eighteen hours to play with. You do need your sleep so never skimp on it, or you will find yourself getting sick and tired, and that means that you are not in a good position to do what you need to do.

In the morning I aim to log on for work at 8 AM so I have an hour and a half where I walk and write and make and eat my breakfast. I have no family reliant on me so this time is my own.

I then work seven and a half hours with thirty minutes for lunch, though because I work from home most days I listen to a lot of music. Much of my work involves me running jobs that take time to complete but have to be watched, and I use this time to formulate ideas for my Vocal creations.

I sometimes scribble them on notepads.

Sometime between four and five, I finish work, then go for a walk to get my ideas into a coherent form. By the time I get home, I have six hours which I then use to have tea, watch some TV, read something and then write something.

As I am writing this it is 11 PM, but the idea for this came as I was on a train journey coming down from Scotland. In an hour my work week will start, with six hours of sleep, although often my dreams will swirl around and give me ideas for early morning stories.

Conclusion

Time flies when you are enjoying yourself, and by talking to Vocal Creator friends time does fly by, but they inspire me to write and often I cannot believe how much I have written.

There are lots of things that have to be taken care of in life, but if you find a method to control repetitive things, you will then find you get more free time to do the things that you really want to do.

This is how I manage to get so many things done and I hope you can find an idea or two in here to help you with whatever you are doing

Pop CultureMysteryHumanity
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I have no family reliant on me either, and it is heavenly. I don’t know if I ever want to live with a romantic partner again, but if I did, they’d have to be self reliant. They’d need to have their own creative outlet and not expect me to entertain them all the time. I think a big part of prioritizing passions is having personal boundaries with people. It’s so good when you meet people who inspire you, though. Thanks for sharing your process.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I agree with you! It's all about prioritizing tasks. If you know how to use your time well, you will be very productive and won't even feel tired. Great post!

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    loved this, and so heartfelt. Your day...

  • Gosh you make it sound so easy! You walk, work, read, write, watch tv, talk to friends. You're definitely a superhero!

  • Thank you for sharing this part of your routine with us, Mike. (I still don't know how you manage all of it.)

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    ❤💛❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.