FYI logo

Take a Tour on My Ships

Some people rather have a yacht, but I love my ships.

By Margaret MinnicksPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4

Most people say they are waiting for their ship to come in so they can become financially secure. I gave up waiting for my financial ship to come in. Instead, other ships came into my life that have been more beneficial to me.

Feel free to come aboard and enjoy a tour of my ships.

1. Kinship

I am a mother, grandmother, sister, aunt, and cousin. Therefore, I am kin to many beautiful people.

2. Relationship

I have a connection with people who are not kin to me. That includes my friends, neighbors, co-workers, students, and club members.

3. Friendship

I have friends I have had since high school and friends I have just met. I love these friendships because we have a lot in common. We get along with each other, and we support each other.

4. Fellowship

My friends and I enjoy doing different things together. We might meet for lunch and talk about interesting things we have heard on the news. We might stay up late watching a movie together. When we do get together, it is always a good fellowship.

5. Leadership

I am the president of a book club and other clubs that I am involved in. Members usually vote for me to be in the top position because they say I have good leadership skills.

6. Membership

There are some organizations where I prefer not to be a leader. In those cases, I enjoy my membership without having the responsibilities of a leader.

7. Mentorship

Many people look up to me because they admire my knowledge, wisdom, and skill. I belong to the mentorship program for college students and young adults who usually shadow me to learn how to be better people.

8. Internship

Before I grew in knowledge, wisdom, and understanding about life, I studied under others. I have done several internships in my areas of interest.

9. Partnership

Sometimes I like to work alone, and sometimes I like to be in partnership with others. I once heard that if you want to walk fast, walk alone. However, if you want to walk far, then walk with someone else. I have gone far with a partner.

10. Citizenship

I am a citizen of the United States of America. I was born in the US and have lived here all my life. Even though I have visited other countries, I enjoy my United States citizenship.

11. Scholarship

I was able to enjoy my college days without worrying about money or student loans because I received a very big scholarship to the college of my choice.

12. Companionship

Many people have told me they enjoy my company when I am around them. They value my companionship. Therefore, I make it my business to be around them as much as possible.

13. Workmanship

I am an excellent worker. The employers I have had over my life often complimented me on my work ethic. I believe in being on time. In fact, I often get to work earlier than I am scheduled to be there. I do not like to rush.

14. Hardships

Among the good ships in my fleet, there have been some hardships also. Because of my attitude about life, I have always been able to overcome hardships by learning the following things.

  • Hardships can be handled.
  • Some hardships cannot be avoided.
  • Hardships come into everybody's life. No one is singled out.
  • Hardships are temporary. They don't come to stay.
  • Hardships teach valuable lessons.
  • When you overcome your own hardships, you can help others overcome theirs.

Summary

When you reflect on your own life, you might discover that you, too, have a fleet of ships. Therefore, you don't need a financial ship to come in because the ones you have are worth keeping.

Humanity
4

About the Creator

Margaret Minnicks

Margaret Minnicks shares articles with readers all over the world. Topics include celebrities, royal family, movies, television, foods, drinks, health issues, and other interesting things. Thanks in advance for TIPS that are sent my way.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    Wise words. I am the same, my favourite ships are my family, my reading, my writing and my ability to support others in difficult times. I also have golden ships which are my children. grandchildren and my husband. Money is no worry when there is plenty of love to go around in a struggling world.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    FYI - love this!!! Thank you for sharing your wisdom!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.