FYI logo

Miscellaneous oxymorons

And brief commentary

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Random IG screenshot.

26FEB2021; 1220, FRI

It's another R.E.D. (Remember Everyone Deployed) Friday in these uncertain and unprecedented times, and I figured that I might as well as "shoot my shot" at the newest "community" on this site for my 56th blog post. With any luck, this will be my very first "staff pick", or featured piece, if you will.

In any event, without further ado:

1.) Defenseless soldiers- Speaking of R.E.D. FRI, a soldier's most valuable weapon is his/her mind; especially if he's a Grunt (aka Infantryman and/or Marine). The main caveat being that many of us are given chemical lobotomies in a sense.

Long story short, if a Grunt still has all his faculties, avoid "throwing shade" at all costs; regardless of whether or not you believe that he's armed. Otherwise, "you're gonna have a bad time!"

2.) Military intelligence- Sticking with the theme of certified killers, soldiers with this particular MOS (Military Occupational Specialty) catch a lot of flak in relation to the perceived ignorance of their brothers and sisters in arms. However, supposedly the "Joes" (junior enlisted soldiers) therein are among the very few enlisted soldiers that get to select their own missions and whatnot.

I've only known one Battle (Buddy) to reclass(ify) to that specific MOS in the Army, and that's pretty much all that I remember from our brief convos on the matter. Oh yeah, they are the 35 series of MOS's (i.e. 35 Foxtrot, 35 Golf, 35 Lima, etc.), and were established around the time that America entered WWI (April 1917), according to Wiki.

3.) U.S. Dept. of Justice- To quote the living legend, JAY-Z, from his 2017 album, 4:44, "Feel for you bro, we know the system don’t work. Take a young n***a freedom over some dirt [weed]; yet it’s legal in Colorado..." Another phenomenal rapper whom we happened to unfortunately lose last Halloween, MF DOOM, "[You end up either dead or locked up] for simply just tryna' eat and feed fam; the drug war turned out to be a complete sham"- The Last Sniff (January 20, 2020).

4.) Dept. of Homeland Security- I believe that this will be my last political critique of this short piece; however, I couldn't consider myself a stan of Immortal Technique and not include this one from his sophomore album, Revolutionary Vol. 2 ('03). That happened to be my very first time hearing this particular oxymoron, on the interlude, "Homeland and Hip-Hop", by the renowned Mumia Abu Jamal, who was on death row at the time, and deserves to be freed from prison like yesterday IMHO (In My Humble Opinion).

5.) Casual relationships- As J. Cole, one of the younger phenomena of the current Hip-Hop era, expressed on his sophomore album, 2013's Born Sinner, "Not realizing when I [have relations with her,] she never forgets..." The song was called "LAnd of the Snakes" (sic): and I believe that that particular line essentially sums up the sentiment that I'm attempting to convey.

Rumor has it that women with Alzheimers will forget everything at some point, except for their very first time having intercourse. Also, legend has it that our spirits become intertwined for life somehow after sex.

6.) Bizz ethics- It seems somehow that certain businesses are starting to realize that the bottom line isn't necessarily always financial. For the past couple centuries at least tho, humanity has been more or less the cancerous tumor of Mother Earth, as so eloquently stated by Agent Smith in 1999's cult classic, The Matrix.

Another youthful and phenomenal rapper/spoken word artist, Prince Ea won first prize in a short film contest for his 2016, four and a half minute vid, "Three Seconds". I don't remember much about it, and I'm more or less a big fan of agorism; however I believe that it oughta be required viewing for all that are ages seven and up.

7.) Healthy American- This one may seem like a bit of a stretch; but bear with me, please. My all time fav author, Dr. Jawanza Kunjufu, wrote in his extremely insightful short tome from 2000, "Satan, I'm Taking Back My Health!" that the average citizen of these so-called United States is grossly overweight as well as malnourished.

I'm quite certain that as he looks at the current situation of American health, he likely believes that his book on the matter was only read by his closest friends and fam, if that! In the interest of full disclosure, I'm only halfway thru the book, despite opening it up here and there for months now.

To say that it's extremely insightful would be a detrimental understatement at the very least. I sincerely regret not picking up that title some years ago, and a physical copy at that; rather than my ebook version.

***

This post took almost exactly two hours and I have to prepare for my first night at my new job. Hoping that someone somewhere gets something from this one somehow.

Either way, stay blessed (and free).

Humanity

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War ‘N’ Tees is live! One Love.

***

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nefarious DarriusWritten by Nefarious Darrius

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.