FYI logo

January 2 is World Introvert Day

A date has been set aside to recognize those who are different.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2
January 2 is World Introvert Day
Photo by Elena Koycheva on Unsplash

Let's celebrate the introverts among us

January 2nd has been designated as World Introvert Day. This is a global day of recognizing and celebrating the unique qualities of introverted individuals. This special day is intended to serve as a platform to celebrate these strengths of introverts and what they bring to their communities, workplaces, and relationships. I am a proud introvert who was often misunderstood and mistreated. I welcome this special date for those like myself.

The day serves as an opportunity to appreciate the contributions of introverts, acknowledge the challenges they may face, and promote a deeper understanding of introversion in a world that often values extroverted traits.

World Introvert Day was established in 2011 by Felicitas Heyne, a German psychologist and author. Her desire was to create a platform that would raise awareness of and dispel common misconceptions surrounding this unique personality trait. January 2nd was chosen to coincide with the beginning of the New Year and to symbolize fresh starts and new beginnings.

Introverts are misunderstood

World Introvert Day is a time for those who process from within to embrace who they are and and express their authentic selves. I recall an episode of The Twilight Zone titled Miniature where the character portrayed by Robert Duvall lost his job because he was quiet and did not go out to eat with the other employees. he was considered as unfriendly and standoffish but he was an introvert who was not allowed to be himself.

I once worked a job where the other women discussed aspects of theri perosnal lives but I am a private person so I did nto divulge details about myself. This led to assumptions were true but I neither confirmed nor denied them. One night 4 co-workers were discussing sex with married men and sex with men of other races. One of them turned to me and said:

"You don't drink, you don't smoke, you don't party or get high. You probably have never been with anyone but your husband. What do you do"? Everything she said was accurate and I was proud of my life but others who were more outgoing did not understand. These women began telling me I needed to cheat on my husband and experience a different man before I died but I ignored them.

By Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

Stand up for your unique personality

They had the right to live their lives but because I did not join in with their discussion they came against the way I lived. Being an Introvert I did nto like drama and cheating on my spouse, drinkign and partying or getting high brings a lot of drama as I have seen in the lives of others.

I have watched as some introverts listen to the bad advise of others and ended up addicted to drugs or alcohol and or their marriages broke up. People should not try to make introverts "come out of their shell" and act like everyone else. We should be respected for our differences.

By Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Famous Introverts

World Introvert Day is a time when those of us who are creative but quiet can celebrate how special we are. Many introverts are thinkers who process while others are acting out. I recall enjoying going out with my husband and dancing but being told by others at the table I should join i with their drinking, smoking and loud talking. I was assumed to be a stuck up light skinned church girl who thought she was better than everyone else but that was not true. I was just shy and private.

Some of the most famous people in the world who contributed to society were introverts. Following are the names of a few of them. Albert Einstein, JK Rolling, Bill Gates, Isaac Newton, Dr. Seuss, Emma Watson, Steven Spielberg, and Mark Zuckerberg. You are in great company so celebrate your introverted self today and everyday!

Pop Culture
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I'm an introvert and proud to be one. I realised that it's okay to live a life that other's don't understand.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.