FYI logo

Fun fact

What is your most important word?

By Jessica MillerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Fun fact
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

I hardly know where to begin. I guess the best place to start is to put what I am about to write into perspective. My perspective. Don’t feel bad if you disagree. That’s what makes the world interesting. We all have a unique voice, a different perspective of what is around us and what we interact with.

I have always been fascinated with learning about obscure trivia and most days I will sit around and have a random thought that, of course, makes me want to look it up. Such as, why can insects crawl up walls and ceilings while we are anchored to the ground? Why can they seemingly break the gravity barrier that holds us in place?

But I digress. That is not what I wanted to talk about today. There is a special someone in everyone’s life. I want to say that’s just a fact, but I’m sure I would be inundated with replies that I have no idea what I’m talking about. But the truth is, no one is an island to themselves. We all have or have had someone special in our lives. Someone we can pinpoint and say, yeah, they’re my person; even if they are no longer in our lives.

My point in this is, my person is my mom. It wasn’t always that way, of course. Childhood trauma tore us apart and it took us a long time before we could let go of the past and become the person that is there no matter what. Like the saying goes, if she killed someone, I would be the person she called to help her drag the body away. She has always been there for me and I am more than happy to be there for her now, as well.

So what makes this trivia, you might be asking. What is this other than another story about how much you love your mom? Well, let me tell you. The spoken language has been around for thousands of years. Have you ever wondered if cavemen could speak? If, for whatever reason it might happen, you were to meet one today, would they recognize any words we said?

The answer is surprisingly a resounding yes. They might have been a lot less aware than we are, but there are a few words that date back to 15,000 years ago. One of them is mother. That’s how important of a role it is. Were a caveman standing in front of me today and I mentioned my mom, he would know enough to be able to understand who I was talking about.

That is fascinating to me. Not just that the word itself has been around for that long, but that it had such significance that it is one of the oldest words in existence. It’s right up there with fire and surprisingly, worm. But again, that’s another tangent that will take place only in my mind.

Scientists have been working to understand language and where it came from for a long time. That they have now gotten to the point where they can say, “Yes, cavemen did speak and would recognize some of our established words with little to no trouble." is an amazing accomplishment.

You’re curious what the other words are, aren’t you? Since I’m in a generous mood, I will post them in this story before I go. Here it is:

thou, I, not, that, we, to give, who, this, what, man/male, ye, old, mother, to hear, hand, fire, to pull, black, to flow, bark, ashes, to spit, worm

The worm still makes me smile every time I see it. What possessed them to need to learn such simple words, I don't know, but, one in particular touches my heart every time I think about it. I need to call my mom and let her know that the word “mother” was one of the first words in existence. I wonder how they came up with the sounds, letters and...love that fills one of the most important pieces inside ourselves.

My mother is my blessing. She is my best friend and my shelter for my soul. I, for one, am thankful that her title is getting the recognition it deserves.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Jessica Miller

Where do I start? I have been writing stories my whole life, it feels like. I remember being around 11 when I found books. And it’s all been amazing since then. I get to read, I get to write. I get to see the world through many lenses.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.