FYI logo

Everyone Will Hate Me Even More Than They Already Do Now ....

A Six-Year Old Seven Days In Extended Remix

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
6
Lawn After First Mow Since April

Introduction

I hope people don't take the title the wrong way, you will know what I mean when you get into the meat of this story.

This is a Seven Days In piece that was getting a lot of reads so I thought I would share it on Vocal. It's essentially about me mowing my lawn at the beginning of April 2017 and you can read the original here. I used the "Michael Caine" video by Madness, which incidentally was referred to on tonight's "Pointless"

Also, incidentally, I mowed my lawn after "No Mow May" and it has come up rather well. This was my "No Mow May" Vocal post.

From Seven Days In

Well, all the male members of the various neighbouring houses will do, because I think I'm the first one to mow the lawn this year, so you know what that means, people will be saying "Well he's mowed his lawn". It actually looks very well after the first mow, but this means I'll have to do it at least once a fortnight. Also, there's still quite a lot of leaves so the brown bin is full and ready to be emptied.

We're only two days into April and I'm still keeping up my five miles a day. I'm sure I'm going to miss my target one day, but I want to do it every day in April if possible, and then every day after that. It's a simple way of getting a little exercise although I need to vary my routes, and today I ended up in a fenced-off cul-de-sac.

It's funny ever since seeing the film "Eden Lake" with its JG Ballard-type premise, all estates make me go cold. I am fine in normal streets, but when I hit a housing estate, especially if it's walled, I do start to feel more than a little threatened. Obviously "Eden Lake" had its desired effect on me.

I decided to mow the lawn yesterday but it began to rain so that's why I did it today, and I am glad I've got that out of the way..

Today, surprisingly I didn't actually listen to any music on my walk, but it actually kept my attention.

The End of The Seven Days In Post

So today I mowed my lawn, it was Friday afternoon so I don't think I particularly annoyed anyone or made them hate me. Also, I made a lot less noise than a guy two gardens away with one of the loudest petrol-driven chainsaws that I have ever heard. Now that I di think was disturbing people but you don't argue with people with big chainsaws.

Gardening and mowing the lawn are tasks that I do detest, but they make me glad when I am finished with them.

And Something Else Happened This Week

In May my blog Seven Days In (that I took this post from) got just under seven thousand visits. Three days into this month I have had over eight thousand visits.

The only change I have made to my blog is adding "nofollow" attributes to my Amazon links on recent posts and all posts going forward. All my Vocal links keep their "follow" attributes.

My Vocal Reads have been definitely healthy this week, and my subscriptions have increased as well. I don't know if these are related to what happened on Seven Days In. I may find tomorrow it goes back down to a few visits.

I don't think we have the option of follow/nofollow on Vocal and I am not too bothered about that, but I may add an update to this at the end of June to see whether I hit a hundred thousand for the month or it stops about ten thousand.

Thank you for reading.

SciencePop CultureHumanity
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Well, you can add one more read to your goal.

  • Deasun T. Smyth11 months ago

    Well you had a busy week. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    This is nice and long story. Very intriguing title . The story was very detailed. I like how you share your journey in life stories ❤️💓💃🏽I can see you getting the most subscribed bonus for sure

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    oh my gosh, Im going to have to message you on FB Messenger!! I have questions! And I intend to go back and find out how not mowing my lawn helps the bees!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.