FYI logo

Attack Of The Furballs

Rabbits attacked Napoleon Bonaparte

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2021
28
From YouTube series "Cat Shit One"

Picture this: you are one of the wealthiest people in the world, and an army of rabbits attacks you. What if I told you that happened? What's scary about the internet is that it never sleeps. Information on the world wide web is endless. You can go from who won the presidential election to watching Mukbangs. When the Vocal Curation Team asked me if I would be interested in participating in this topic, I immediately said yes. One of my goals as a writer this year is to challenge myself more and not be complacent about different topics. Although I didn't know the TIL subreddit trend, I went to my trusted source Google to see what I can find. When I read that rabbits attacked Napoleon Bonaparte, I laughed. I couldn't believe what I was reading.

Photo from bathroomreader.com

Napoleon Bonaparte was known for being one of the top-tier military and political leaders. He became the Emperor of the French from 1804 until 1814 and again in 1815. He was known for winning most of his battles; after ruling over continental Europe, his reign quickly collapsed in 1815. Before being well-known as a military leader, he considered himself a scientist and was a member of the National Institute. During an expedition in Egypt, many historians discovered Rosetta Stone, a written agreement between Egyptian priests and the pharaoh on March 27, 196 B.C.

With much success also comes many failures. After reading Napoleon's life story, there was one story that took the carrot. It was a hot summer's day in July 1807; after signing the Treaties of Tilsit ending the war between Russia and France, he wanted to relax and celebrate. He ordered Chief of Staff Alexandre Berthier to collect as many rabbits as he could. Some say that Alexandre accumulated a few dozen, and others are saying that over 300 rabbits were collected and placed in a cage. When it was time actually to hunt, Alexandre released them in the secluded area. Napoleon and his constituents noticed that the rabbits started to run towards them, which led to sudden laughter; the laughs cut short when these friendly furballs attacked Napoleon and his party. They attacked his legs and started to crawl up his jacket. Napoleon and his men used sticks, muskets, and crops to get these revengeful creatures off of him. They even attempted to shoot the rabbits, but nothing worked. After a while, Napoleon and his party retreated to somewhere safe.

From YouTube series "Cat Shit One"

I have a personal phobia with rabbits; some may think they are cute little furballs that nibble on carrots and lettuce all day, but my traumatic encounters with them have created a fear that I would wish on my enemies. During my college days, there was a particular path I would take on my way to class. Every day I would have to walk past a sea full of bushes. Every day this white rabbit with red eyes would continuously jump out in front of me and hurry to the other side of the walkway. In my humble opinion, that rabbit had a personal vendetta against me, and I did understand why.

No matter the time, day, rain, sleet, or snow, the rabbit would jump out in front of me at the same time every day. Why am I telling you this story? Because I can relate to the fear Napoleon had on that violent day. The long ears, the flickering of the nose, big feet, and the eyes ever so gently placed on the sides of their heads creep me out. After reading that story, I learned a valuable lesson that will carry me throughout my life: some people have been in worse situations. My many encounters with Peter Cottontail were nothing compared to the experience of Napoleon Bonaparte.

References

Website: Inside Tonight

Website: Wikipedia- Napoleon Bonaparte

****************************************************************

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated.

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

Historical
28

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.