FYI logo

A Journey to Radiant Skin: My Daily Beauty Ritual

A Gentle Start: Morning Cleansing Routine

By Emily JohnsonPublished 4 days ago 4 min read
A Journey to Radiant Skin: My Daily Beauty Ritual
Photo by Sunny Ng on Unsplash

My journey to achieving healthy, radiant skin has been filled with trials and errors, but I've finally found a routine that works wonders for me. My face used to be very dry, so in the mornings, I avoid harsh cleansing foams and oils. Instead, I opt for a gentle cleansing milk. It’s soothing and doesn’t strip away my skin’s natural oils. The areas I focus on most are around my chin and nose. Since switching to this method, my skin has shown significant improvement. It turns out, my face was craving moisture and oil. With consistent care, my skin texture has improved, and the painful dryness I used to experience has lessened considerably.

At night, I take my skincare routine a step further. I use a special device that has a mask mode, which I apply for about 15 minutes before bed. It’s a relaxing part of my evening, often accompanied by watching my favorite dramas—recently, I enjoyed one called *Musical Instruments*. This routine has become a cherished ritual, enhancing my skin’s hydration and overall health.

Next in my regimen is applying a nourishing skin lotion. I use an essence, specifically a mineral booster that I've relied on for a long time. My night routine is heavier since my skin is very dry, but during the day, I go lighter to prevent my makeup from looking cakey. I avoid heavy moisturizing creams during the day as they can ruin my makeup.

Regular visits to the dermatologist are crucial, but I firmly believe that home care is equally important. My routine starts with lip balm to keep my lips hydrated. With my skincare complete, I move on to makeup.

The Makeup Routine

Starting with the base, I use a product recommended by a makeup artist at my shop. It’s a slightly pinkish base that I apply very thinly for a natural look. On rushed days, a quick application suffices, creating a sturdy yet light foundation.

Dark circles are a constant challenge, so I use concealer strategically. I apply a bit under my eyes and on my eyelids. This technique, learned over years of practice and advice, helps brighten my eyes. My eyes are often complimented as the most striking feature of my face, so I pay special attention to them.

For eyeshadow, I prefer a natural look. I dab a light color on my lids, avoiding anything too pearly or harsh. Even for stage makeup, I request a subtler approach, blending colors to enhance my eyes without overpowering them. The goal is to make my eyes look longer and more defined.

Eyeliner is the trickiest part. Getting the ends to match perfectly is always a challenge. After applying, I use concealer to straighten any uneven lines. For my eyebrows, I’ve learned a technique that involves filling them in lightly and gradually raising the shape. This method looks natural and frames my face well.

The Finishing Touches

Mascara is essential, but I keep it light to maintain a natural appearance. Preparing for solo performances allows me the freedom to experiment with even more natural looks, which I find very refreshing.

Blusher is one of my favorite products. I apply it to the tops of my cheekbones, blending it well to avoid a too-red appearance. Sometimes, I layer it with a base to achieve a more subtle, real-life flush. Shading is another crucial step. I mix three products to create a contour that enhances my features without being too harsh.

Observing makeup trends in different cultures has been fascinating. In the United States, the preference leans towards bold, intense makeup with strong lines and tight eyelashes. In contrast, Korean makeup often favors a cute, sparkly, and bling-bling aesthetic. This cultural exchange in beauty trends adds a layer of fun to my makeup routine.

For lips, I start by adding a touch of color and blending it out with my fingers to create a natural gradient. I top it with a bit of lip balm for a glossy finish. On stage, I prefer a matte look to prevent my hair from sticking to my lips, achieved by blotting with tissue and setting with powder.

Haircare is also vital in my routine, especially since I dye my hair frequently. Before heading out, I apply a small amount of hair essence. It smells wonderful and helps calm my hair, keeping it manageable throughout the day.

Completing my daily makeup routine feels like an accomplishment. It’s a blend of skincare and makeup techniques that cater to my dry skin and personal preferences. Each step, from cleansing milk to the final touch of hair essence, contributes to a look that feels both natural and polished.

Reflecting on this journey, I’m grateful for the knowledge and tips I've gathered from professionals and personal experiences. It's been a transformative process, one that has taught me the importance of gentle care and consistency. With each passing day, I feel more confident in my skin, ready to face the world with a radiant, healthy glow.

So, that's my daily beauty ritual. It’s a labor of love that ensures my skin remains healthy and my makeup looks natural. How do you feel about it? Thank you for sharing this time with me. See you next time!

VocalSciencePop CultureMysteryHumanityHistorical

About the Creator

Emily Johnson

offers accessible tips for enhancing beauty rou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Melena 4 days ago

    Very helpful

Emily JohnsonWritten by Emily Johnson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.