Futurism logo

Yes.

It's yours. Take it.

By James HaroPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Yes. I'm a ruler of time.

It's nothing too heavy. It just seemed like something to put out there from the get-go. No, this is not going to make a lot of sense, but yes, I have something for you. And no, we don't know each other. We are but near acquaintances.

As you might and should be aware, you routinely perambulate through the very thing I rule. Sometimes you do it without thinking and other times you do it with hyper-awareness. And no, you have no choice in the matter. Like when you're assigned partners in school. Time is the one with whom you have been paired. There’s nothing you can do to change it, but why would you? And since I'm a ruler of time, that makes me a sort of “friend of a friend”, I guess.

All of this to say, I’ve been ready for you.

It's strange, yes?

It should have been more difficult. Perhaps that is your thinking right now. You were led to believe that must struggle for all that you endeavor. In reality, you only needed to show up and do the assignment with Time. It's been decided. You went to the drugstore, grabbed the first black notebook you saw. Small, and no price tag on the back, apparently. You fidgeted at the counter as the clerk did a price check. Seven dollars and eighty cents with tax. You reached out with yourself and into those pages. You manifested this present moment out of nothing.

Now you’re here. You moved just so slightly in one direction and the path became absurdly apparent, which brought you straight to me. It’s like you learned a new word yesterday and then all of a sudden it's billboarded everywhere. It's a lyric in every song, it's carved in the stone building across from your office - but you just never noticed. That is the power of awareness. So let me continue making you aware of me.

I am the spawn of another dimension. My parents were elementals. I did not know them but they are a part of me. They did not know me, but it is of no importance. I gained the ability to walk instantly. I always knew, like how to rule time, even when I didn't.

That's the thing, in case you're not getting the gist yet. You were always going to seek me out and I was always going to present you with the object of your desire.

I could go on about my appearance, or my motivations...what have you. Or, I could prattle on about predestinarianism or quantum realities. I know these things will simply wash right over you. I am aware of your fixation. I could be reciting the Pledge of Allegiance backward in Hebrew and you wouldn't be fazed. You don’t hear what I’m saying. You are here for a reason. This is known. But my message to you now is this - I don't have what you want.

Oh, do I contradict myself? No, I haven’t lied. I have and will give you that for which you've come. However, I don't have and I can’t give what you really, truly want.

That’s right, the illusory wealth that you will attain imminently may make things easier. Perhaps it won't. It's yours to have, of course, and it always was. Ever since you began your daily prayers the currents in the stream have eased. Your mantras, the ones you wrote in your black book, were spells. And each letter led you to the other side. To me. I see you. Feet in the water. Alternating warm and cool rushing by your legs while your toes wait stiffly in the mud of this bank. What more can I say to you? $20,000, was it? It's yours. You heard the man in the video, you saw the signs on the street, you saw the ad on your phone screen. Your request has been accepted. You will be notified as soon as possible when your prize is ready to claim. You did everything you were supposed to, everything you were always meant to.

Power over Time. That's your true colossal and undeniable want. Attaining wealth dazzles with the illusion that you can purchase time, and thus control it. You can't. For you, it is impossible. To be a ruler of time you can't be from where you are. You can't have a body or a brain. You can't be born from god. You will never know what it's like to know yourself fully all at once. Be at peace with that. You can have everything else here. Take it, it’s all yours. But - and it's a big but - it all goes away. The assignment gets turned in and then it's done. You part ways with Time and cease to exist. You can bargain, you can rage, you can stall, but your due date is set. Set by whom? That part is beyond me. Can Time be stopped? Certainly. But when Time stops so do you.

From now on money will come from many different places since you have opened yourself to receiving it. Keep writing mantras in your little black notebook. Keep repeating them to yourself. They work. Enjoy your life, and enjoy your stability. Keep believing you can do anything. The lesson is done for the day. Your assignment is not done though, and Time is not done with you.

The feeling I get from providing is nice, don't get me wrong. Still, I mourn as I send you off with this fleeting substitute for true actualization. Be safe getting back to the other side.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

James Haro

James Haro is a Mexican-American playwright and singer/songwriter based in Philadelphia, PA. He lives in a cozy apartment with his girlfriend and their cat right below South Street.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.