Futurism logo

Why I’ll Never Return To Physical Books

The 3 advantages of having a Kindle.

By Ionutz KazakuPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - August 2022
51
Author's Photo - Kindle Paperwhite

I never enjoyed reading.

I used to go to the library, buy a book, get the dopamine rush of spending money and place the book on my desk, where it stand for weeks. It was constantly haunting me because I was just staring at it, touching and looking through pages, but never actually reading it.

Reading was a chore.

After a while, I finally decided to start reading, the book was proud and I was happy. However, the happiness lasted only for 10 minutes, it was never an enjoyable experience.

I was counting the pages, reading, but, not paying any attention to what I was reading, and at the end of a chapter, I was realising that I haven’t understood a damn.

What are your excuses?

I’m a full-time front-end-back-end senior professional for finding excuses. I have 21 years of experience in the niche. Hire me! I can find any excuse and I can critique anything. A skill that everyone possesses.

After some additional seasons of reading and not reading, my friend told me about Kindle. “It is the best investment you can make”. At the time I got my first paycheck, so, I was excited to spend some money, especially on something worth calling an “investment”.

I bought the Kindle.

I finished one book, two books, and in 3 months I have read 5 books! I have never done that before. I was reading a 300-page book in 3 months.

That’s when I realised, that by having a Kindle I had 0 excuses. My 21 years of expertise meant nothing now. Even worse, I became a bookworm.

Having a Kindle made the reading process easier. It was no longer a chore.

Here are the 3 advantages that made me forget about physical books —

1) It is so comfortable

Kindle is lighter than your phone.

It is so difficult to read a physical book. You have to hold the book with two hands. The holding experience is not satisfying at all. That brick is heavy. I came here to read, not to work out.

What happens when you are in the middle of a book?

A jiu-jitsu session. Trying to hold the book so it doesn’t close. Don’t even think about taking notes.

What happens when you by mistake close the book and you don’t know on what page you are?

That’s your problem. Take your time and find the page.

Having a Kindle is so easy, both physically and morally.

It is like a well-behaved child. It listens. It is so smart.

You can hold it in one hand, and with the other, use some sort of pencil to guide you (increases reading speed). It is so small and light that you can carry it everywhere. It remembers the page where you left.

2) J.A.R.V.I.S. — Reading assistant

The technology behind it is amazing.

What doesn’t it have? Who wouldn’t like to have a reading assistant? Here is the K.I.N.D.L.E and its amazing features —

  • Notes & Highlighting. I have mentioned in the previous chapter how annoying it is to take any notes on a physical book. You don’t need an additional pen/pencil/highlighter to your setup, the Kindle has everything. You can highlight any sentence by holding a word and dragging it around. The notes tab is always accessible in the corner.
  • Dictionary. I was wasting so much time on this. Even worse, I was constantly getting distracted from all the notifications when accessing my phone. On Kindle, by pressing and holding a word you instantly get its definition of it.
  • Devices. You can read anywhere, anytime, with no excuses. Staying in public transport, waiting for an appointment? Open your phone and read! Also, one of my writing niches is books/reading. Whenever I have to write about a book or need some information from it, I open the Kindle app on my laptop and start working.
  • Battery. You don’t have to worry about the battery. I read 90 minutes per day and the battery lasts for around 10 days. Give it 1 hour and the soldier is back on the field.
  • Light. How are people reading before sleep with the lights on? You shouldn’t be exposed to any light 2 hours before sleeping, as it suppresses the release of melatonin. Basically, it messes up your sleep quality and you tend to fall asleep slower. At night, I use dark mode on Kindle. It’s the same blue light, however, it doesn’t affect the hormone that much. The newer version of Kindle has a warm light version.

3) Infinite books — 1 device

It can be used for future generations.

An 8GB Kindle can hold around 2,000 to 3,000 average-sized eBooks that are around 300 pages and 75,000 words long.

Physical books can act as decorations in your house. People can come inside and think, “Wow he reads, how smart, cool, like”. For real though, they look good and it is a nice tour stop when guests come nearby. Those who read literature can understand a thing or two about you from your library.

Other than that, books waste lots of space.

How many books are you reading at a time?

If I read only 1 book at a time, I will give up on reading in less than a week. I’ll return in a few months. It is super boring. I tend to read 2–3 books at a time. I always switch between them. It takes me less than 5 seconds to change to another book.

You finished the book, now what?

With physical books, you have to go to a physical place. The atmosphere in the library is inspiring and it gives a sense of community, however, my laziness doesn’t give a f*ck. I ain’t dragging my ass to a library in order to buy a book. I enter Amazon and with the “Buy now with 1-Click” button, I instantly get my book.

Oh and also, the Kindle format is cheaper.

---

Like my friend has told me, “It is the best investment you can make”. This year alone I have read 14 books, a number that I never believed was possible to reach. Reading on Kindle was definitely one of the major reasons.

Invest in yourself!

---

Optimize your reading list!

Check out my FREE Digital Bookshelf — Reading Tracker Template.

book reviewhow toliteraturescience
51

About the Creator

Ionutz Kazaku

Writing articles, reading books, listening to podcasts — constantly learning.

All my socials: bio.link/ionutzkazaku

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • David Morton Rintoulabout a year ago

    Thanks for the great read. I also prefer ebooks. I only buy hard copy books as decorations. I don't like reading from paper anymore. I appreciate your insights.

  • Ebony Dominguez2 years ago

    I like e-books. I appreciate convenience and mobility, so it's perfect for me

  • Edward German2 years ago

    I got into reading e-books but I use either pf or goggle play books.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Oh wow, I disagree with so much of this. I pay more attention to page numbers on Kindle than I ever do with real books, because I can't stop fidgeting with the page. I'm also constantly accidentally highlighting things and struggling to undo it. I read on any platform available to me, because frankly, I'm an addict, but I do find that my follow-through for finishing stories is significantly better with a physical book. I get too easily distracted by other book suggestions on the e-reader platforms and wind up switching stories.

  • Helen Stuart2 years ago

    I can see your point and some books don't deserve to be published, but the beauty of a book is that it is another world between two covers when one can't count on the outside world. That includes the power of internet and electricity.

  • CDM2 years ago

    I do both, physical books and Kindling (AND Nooking, AND Audible), and often I have multiple formats of the same book. What I hate about any sort of electronic book is the lack of a sense of progress as I read, especially if it's a whopping-huge Space Opera or High Fantasy novel. I WANT to feel the left hand grow heavier than the right as I read, as I stack up those read pages; you just don't get that on a Kindle. Recently I was reading an 800+ page book on the Kindle and, while visiting Barnes and Noble, I found a physical copy and turned it to the page I was on, just to feel the Thickness of The Left. I guess I'm very odd.

  • Douglas Gross2 years ago

    See my experience is the opposite. I find the entire process of reading a physical book so much better than an eReader. I love the feel, the smell, the weight, the touch of the page, all of it contributes to the joy of it. And a well crafted leather bound or hard cover book is amazing. Older the better. I've been in used bookstores in Milwaukee, Portland OR, and all over that were like walking into heaven. I have old books I bought simply because of the craftsmanship. Books with slip-sheets over every illustration that were done by artists in their trade. Now taking time to read them is a different problem. Also I can read a book outside in the shade without squinting.

  • Joseph June2 years ago

    Great read. Thank you for sharing.

  • Brian2 years ago

    The only good thing I found about ereader was that I didn’t constantly get scolded for reading in the dark. I always found reading on a device turned it into a bit of a chore. There’s something really comforting about holding a dead tree in hand with a glass of brandy… or a coffee, depending on the time of day. I guess there’s an atmosphere attached.

  • Kristi Ziemba2 years ago

    Young sir, you most certainly did not buy books at the library. Go return them. That was a library card, not a credit card.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.