Futurism logo

Unordinary

Chapter one

By Arrianna AllenPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
The dreaded change

It was a cool August in Billings, Montana. My mother and I had just gotten on a plane, and we were moving to Los Angeles California to live with my grandmother. My grandfather died a few months ago, and my mom didn't want my nana to live alone.  She decided that we should move in with her. My mom and dad just divorced from my dad, and she thought it was the perfect time for us to make the dreaded change. "This will be a great experience for you Bonnie," my mom said on the airplane. "You said you  always wanted to live in California." "Yeah, but that was a long time ago, I'm a junior this year mom." I had two more years until I could graduate from Wilson High school with my best friends. We made plans to make our senior year the best year ever, and now we're moving. I sat in the seat next to the window and looked at my reflection.  I had dark brown eyes, brown skin, and brown curly hair. I look a lot like my mom, everybody says.

      My mom sat next to me and began typing on her computer, all the while saying "I'm sorry sweetie, but no one else will move in with her, and she won't come live with us. I've tried convincing her to move out of that old house, but she just won't go. I don't trust her to live by herself either." "But what if I don't fit in at my new school? You know how hard it was for me to make the friends I had." "You will fit in sweetie." "But I'm weird mom... I miss Dad." My mom sighed. "You're not weird." But she didn't know me, not really. For a long time, I've been keeping a huge secret from her. I can move objects with my mind. Weird right? Yeah I know.

      When I was ten years old I discovered I could move my toys across the room without touching them. I didn't know how I could do it, I just could.  One time, I showed one of my friends on the playground. I levitated a flower from off of the ground. Once she saw me do this she screamed, and called me a freak. Then she ran off to tell the teacher. The teacher didn't believe her, though. I knew not to tell anyone else after that. Not even my mom. I didn't know what she would think of me.

     I turned away from my mom and stared out the window again. I was depressed the whole ride. I didn't talk to her, I just watched some movies on my laptop and took naps. When we arrived in Los Angeles, nana was waiting for us outside of the airport. "It's really hot out here." I told my mom. "Well you're not in Montana anymore," She said. We walked over to nana. "Tammy!" My nana yelled as she gave her daughter a hug. "It's good to see you again mama." My mom said with a big smile. "Oh and Bonnie dear, you've grown so much. How old are you now, about twelve?" "Sixteen," I corrected her. "Oh," she said with a shocked face. I wouldn't blame her though, I was short and I did have a baby face.

   "Well, get your stuff and let's go." We drove in nana's truck to her house.  She lived in a two-story house, in a beautiful woodsy area. When we went in her house, she showed us our rooms. I had to sleep in my mom's old room. The room was full of old posters of 90's boy bands.  My mom stayed in the guest bed room. We did some unpacking, and after that I got on my phone. "Wouldn't you like to go outside and look around?" My mom said at the doorway. "No," I said just as simple as that. My mom sighed. "Give me your phone". "What! Mom I haven't talked to my friends the whole ride here, can I just call them?" "You can do that later, besides nana said there is someone down stairs that she wants you to meet." I rolled my eyes and handed her the phone.

   I was so not in the mood to meet anyone right now. I went to the mirror before going down stairs. I brushed the tangles out of my curly hair. "Okay new people, new start. No one can know about my powers, know one can know about how different I am," I told myself.  When I came down stairs I saw my mom laughing with a guy. He had light brown eyes.  He also had short, dark brown hair. "Oh, there she is". My nana said. Next to her was a guy about my age. "This is my granddaughter Bonnie." He gave me a smile and shook my hand. "Nice to meet you, I'm Sai." He was kind of cute. "I help your grandmother out with her chores, I live next door". "Oh," I said. I couldn't stop smiling at him. "And...I happen to be his dad, Isaac." Said the man. "It's nice to finally meet you, Bonnie. Your grandmother told the whole neighborhood that you were coming to stay with her. She was so excited to see you." My mom was staring at him and smiling as if she had a crush on him.

     "I'll let you two get to know each other." Nana said as she pushed us out of the back door.  The back yard had a few trees in it. There  was a fence that went around the house, and behind it was the woods. The sun was going down, so a bunch of crickets started chirping. Feeling awkward I tried to start up a conversation. "So.... um, you go to Jefferson high school, right? Is it a good school? I'm starting there tomorrow." "It's alright," Sai said. " The people there are really snobby though." I was a little scared to go to a new school.  Everything would change now. I hate change. As if he read my mind, he said; "If you want, I could show you around the school tomorrow." "That would be great, thanks" I said.  "No problem" Suddenly I heard a knock on the glass door behind us. It was Sai's dad. "Come on Sai, we gotta go." "I'll see you at school tomorrow." He followed his dad out of the door. "Okay" I said awkwardly. When they left I hurried to my room, took a shower, put on my pajamas and went to bed early. I couldn't wait until tomorrow.

Look out for chapter 2, coming soon.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.