Futurism logo

Twice

Two Worlds, One love

By Renee BellPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
Like
Twice
Photo by Grant Ritchie on Unsplash

Heels walking alone the pavement

She asks “Is this the place”

“Yes, my child”

Inside her inner thoughts. I can believe I got myself into this, what I am doing listening to a book. I call this book black. The book told me that it controls faith. My job is to deliver Black to his next person, but my job does not end there.

Ethan POV

It is dark and I can not find my way back to the one person that make me whole and my family. The last thing I remember is driving in the car and it was raining. I hear a voice it is telling me do I wish to go back, but go back where I do not understand. It asks again do you wish to go back? Of course, I say yes not thinking of the consequence. I awake to fine myself laying in a field holding a black book.

It is night, I fall over a bag. I called out is everyone out there. I get to my feet carrying the book and the bag. Who am I? How did I get there? and where I am going? I see a house. I put the book and the bag down and fall asleep.

The girl POV

The plan is working, master said I had to follow Ethan. I am sick and tired of listen to Black I am in debt to the book but that is another story. Ethan is my force and I can not think of myself no more. That is the price I had to pay.

Ethan

I woke up with a headache, I look into the bag and it was like two thousand dollars. What I am going to do with all this money. I pick up the black book that I was holding when I wake up in that field. It was nothing in the book empty pages. I tried writing in the book nothing. The pen would not write in the book. “F*ck” I got a paper cut, damn I accidently got blood on this weird black book. I am starting to see words; this book only works with blood. I wrote hi in the book to see if would say anything.

Ethan: Hello

Black: Do you remember anything?

What do this mean do I remember? Is it something important I supposed to remember?

Ethan: Remember what?

Black: In time anything will reveal itself.

What is that supposed to mean, I try asking the book but nothing it stop writing to me. GREAT what now. What I am supposed to do that. I guess figure out, how to get out of here and find something to eat.

The Girl POV

Mr. Black give me instructions to follow Ethan, but how in the world should I do that? I ask Mr. Black before leaving with Ethan. Nothing, he just said One step at a time and anything will reveal itself. What is the world do that mean? I am just sitting this diner; I do not know if people can see me anymore. Then he walks in, he looks different since the time I seen him. He passes me a piece of paper and I turn around and he was gone. He is nobody just spirit, I do not know his name and he do not talk at all.

Note: Your instructions are to get close to Ethan no matter what, so we are gaining you half your life back.

What is that supposed to mean.

“Miss, I apologize how long you been sitting here sugar, what can I get you?” said the waitress

I was surprised no one could see me I meant no one.

“Sugar” said the waitress

“I apologize you scared me ummm I will like…” said the girl

Oh, shit I have no money

“Water please to start” said the girl

“okay sugar be right back with you water” said the waitress

Will I guess this is what black meant, Now I need a plan to get close to Ethan since I have a physical form back. It been so long, it has been hard watching people but can not talk to them. I look around the diner it had a lot of people in here. Then Ethan walked in this might be my chance.

Ethan POV

I walked for miles, and finely I find this truck stop diner. It was packed but I am so hungry. There nowhere to sit, at this point I did not care if I had to sit with a stranger. The waitress came up to me.

“Sugar I apologize we are packed can I get your some to go” said the waitress

I looked around, to see if I can sit with someone and act like I know than, I could not take my food to go. Where would I eat at?

I catch the eye of a girl in the far corner of the diner sitting alone, she is cute.

“Sugar are you okay” said waitress

“Yes, I see a friend I can sit with” said Ethan

“O okay I will bring a menu right over” said waitress

I approach the table that the girl was sitting at and sat down. She stared at me surprised. I guess I will have to talking first.

“Hi I am Ethan what your name”

She asks me, why I am sitting with her it should be obvious it no where else to sit at. Did I make a mistake by sitting with this girl?

“Your name please” said Ethan

“Ren that is my name” said Ren

“Oh, okay are you just drink water” said Ethan

“Yes” said Ren

“Will since I come and sit at your table without asking, I will buy you everything on the menu” said Ethan

“Okay” said Ren

The waitress came by with the menu.

“Are you ready to order sugar” said the waitress

“Yes, I will have the works meal with French toast.”

I stared at the girl I meant Ren she was taking forever to order. She finely got the same meal I order. I obvious Ren she is beautiful with her long black hair and brown eyes and her skin look like silk. Wow, this is weird I never been so focus on a girl.

Ren POV

I cannot believe this; I am so out of touch. I cannot ever talk to him, I getting back feelings that I have not felt in years. He is starting off good by buying me breakfast or lunch. I have no since of time.

“Umm Ethan thank you for buying me breakfast” said Ren

“You are welcome” said Ethan

“So, tell me about yourself” said Ren

“Will last night I wake up in a field with a black book and bag, I do not know how I got here” said Ethan

“Really” said Ren

“Haha nope if that did happen why would I tell you” said Ethan

“What if I believed you” said Ren

His eyes opened wide, and he stared at me with suspicion. What else should I stay; I do not know what else to talk about with him. We ate in silence.

Ethan POV

This girl is weird, but I have a feeling about her. I do not know if it is good are bad feeling. I will keep her close.

“Hey Ren”

“Yes Ethan”

I looked into her eyes and I feel like I remembering something about myself or her.

“Where are you from” said Ethan

“Mmmm here I guess” said Ren

“where are we exactly” said Ethan

Ren inner thoughts, Damn I should have paid attended to the location we are at. Now he asking me questions. Think Ren, then I heard it in my head, you are in Taxes.

“Taxes” said Ren

I was going to ask her another question, next thing I know my ears are ring. She was on top of me protecting me from something. Next thing I know I passed out.

Ren POV

Ethan was going to ask me another question, I seen the bomb. I use my body to protect him and Mr. Black. Ethan passed out and I had to pick him up and the bag. I hop in the nearest car; I sit there from a minute. I do not think I can drive a car. It all come to me out of nowhere and I know where to go and how to keep them safe. It was like lightning struck me.

Ethan POV

I wake up in a nice hotel room. I could not reminder nothing, it is like every time I go to sleep, I wake up with no memories. Then it came to me the girl, now what was her name. Then I remember the black book. I try writing in it for answer, but then I remember blood only works. I wrote in blood and the book said you have a third chance of life.

“Is that all” said Ethan

“Who are you talking to” said Ren

I got scared for a moment, there was a girl standing in the door. Look at me.

“Ethan are you okay” said Ren

“Yes, I am” said Ethan

The girl looks familiar and then it dawns on me, the diner.

“What happen, where are we” said Ethan

“We are in New Orleans and what happen is a long story” said Ren

The girl, I meant Ren. She told me someone is after us because of the black book and the money. I am thinking to myself how do she know about all this.

“let me ask you a question” said Ethan

“Yes, ask away” said Ren

“How do you know all this?” said Ethan

“Will you see it is another long story, all you need to know is that I am a traveler and you need to trust me” said Ren

“Trust you, why should I trust you?” said Ethan

“Because we in the wrong world” said Ren

“WHAT” said Ethan

“It was a mistake, and we have to get back to are universe are we get killed here” said Ren

“So, then people after us, is trying to get rid of us to fix they universe” said Ethan

“Yes” said Ren

“That is bull” said Ethan

“Please trust me” said Ren

“Okay say I do believe all of this, what now?” said Ethan

“Do you remember everything before waking up in that field” said Ren

“Will… wait a minute I do not think I even told you that” said Ethan

“I apologize I can read minds one of my abilities” said Ren

“Okay than what I am I thinking now” said Ethan

“Will Ethan you are thinking I am crazy and your escape route am I wrong or right” said Ren

“I believe you and I think it was raining and then I wake up in the field” said Ethan

“Okay it is a possibility that you might had dead, instead of you going for judgement something brought you here in this world” said Ren

“What are you doing here” said Ethan

“I can image the same thing happen to me as well” said Ren

“What is the plan?” said Ethan

“We have to find a door or stairs in the woods that can get us out of here before than people catch up to us” said Ren

I had to think for a minute this is crazy right, I must me dreaming. As, I sat there thinking I started to remember more before all this happened to me. I was in the car with a guy and girl, it was raining.

“ETHAN EARTH TO ETHAN”

I came back from my thoughts and Ren was in my face.

“Yes Ren” said Ethan

“I was saying are you ready to go” said Ren

“Where are we going” said Ethan

“Have you been listening” said Ren

“Yes, bad people trying to kill us we have to find a door or stairs to get back to are universe and How in the world we do that” said Ethan

“I thought it was one in New Orleans but the are grounded by the bad people” said Ren

“So, what now” said Ethan

“We have to disguise are self and get to Colorado” said Ren

“Why Colorado?” said Ethan

“Just know we have to get there” said Ren

One minute Ren and I was talking in the hotel, the next minute we on a cliff. What the, did we just teleport here. I look over to Ren and I see them in white mask.

“what do want from us” said Ethan

“You do belong here” The mask said

“Yes, we know that we trying to leave” said Ren

“No, you do not understand you do not belong nowhere” said mask

“What” said Ethan

“Yes, you are extra, you two do not belong in no universe” said mask

I am so confused what are those masks trying to say to us.

“You have two options jump in the void or we shot you and dump your bodies in the void” said mask

“Okay I will give you the book and money for are life” said Ethan

I through the book and money at they feet but they keep coming closer and they were trying to get us to fall into the void.

“What happened if we jump in?” ask Ren

“You will be unmade” mask

“But why us” said Ren

“You have to balance the universe” said mask

The ground started shaking and the book rise and the money burn all of it and I was going to probably end world hungrier and help myself out. That is not important at least, you have someone with you to share it with. At that moment that person been with me all this time protecting me, it is time I protect her. I grab her hand in mind and look her in the eye. She knows what I said. I understand what happened now. So, we turn another and jump and the void and she follow and trust me. The story does not end there.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Renee Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.