Futurism logo

Through Hell & High Waters by Victoria Liiv

Spoiler-free book review

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is Through Hell & High Waters about?

Through Hell & High Waters is a fantasy YA novel set in a university called Volo Noscere. The students of this campus range from elves, to werewolves, to vampires and orcs. Pretty much all your favourite fictional characters from your childhood would be eligible to be a student here, if they possess any kind of magical qualities.

It’s plot focuses on a group of friends that are forced to go on an adventure in order to save thier school. What makes the group of main characters interesting is the mixture of creatures. Our main character, Evyline is an elf. She may be small, but she can pack a punch! The POV changes quite a lot between her and her friends so we ge to know them quite well. Her other friends include Lisanna the shapeshifter, Tyson the wizard, Finley the vampire, RocTar, the orc and Dylan the werewolf. It is ultimately a tale of friendship, and how not judge people on thier size.

How I found out about Through Hell & High Waters?

I plan to write more book reviews on Vocal, in particular I want to review books by indie authors, like myself. After completing my first review request, I had an email for my second. The author sent me a nice email with the synopsis and it sounded so good. I straight away felt vibes of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings. So I was excited to read about it.

Where did I get Through Hell & High Waters?

The author, Victoria Liiv sent me a mobi file in exchange of a review.

What did I liked about Through Hell & High Waters?

I think the best thing about this book is the characters and the chemistry they have together. I also like the world-building in this. We learn that different species are all under different classes so it makes the friendship between Evyline and the others even more poignant and convincing. The prose is also good and we get to know quite a bit about the teachers and they all want their students to succeed.

One part that really stood out for me was the scene where they talk about demon summoning and the reason why it’s still allowed is because of the information they have and how doing it incorrectly will cause devastating consequences. I liked this scene because it helps foreshadow and build things up later.

What I didn’t like about Through Hell & High Waters?

There wasn’t really a lot I disliked about this book. I think at the end it was a bit rushed and I struggled to keep up with the pacing at the end. I didn’t really feel that it was the end of the story, but this might be because there is a sequel in the works called Through Stones & Ashes.

How did the book make me feel?

I really feel that this book could take place in the same kind of universe as Harry Potter. I can imagine students of Hogwarts doing some kind of student exchange with this university. I feel that there is a lot of diversity in this story with the fae folk, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters and nymphs and elves. I think this is one of the book’s strong points.

It also added that sense of world danger with the forest fires. Deforestation is also a big problem in the world right now and it’s been proven that growing more trees will help the climate change pandemic. It really got me thinking about the bigger picture of this world.

I also think it’s cool that RocTar is an orc, and has the three letters of orc in The name. Evyline sounds familiar to elves. These are small, but they’re all a really nice touch.

Would I reccomend Through Hell & High Waters?

I would. If you are a fan of YA, fantasy and D&D, then this book will be perfect for you. Fans of Harry Potter loooking for a genuine and refreshing take on the magical world can also enjoy this.

book review
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.