Futurism logo

Thirty years of silence

Thirty years of silence

By Kendra BakerPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like

Old Uncle Zhong was driving an agricultural tricycle, and I was sitting next to him in the passenger seat. It was freezing outside, and the low temperature of minus 30 degrees hit this ancient city.

I didn't want to go, but my father always asked me to participate in more life practice, and I was also a chance to go out after talking well with Uncle Zhong for a long time. If I regretted it at this time, Uncle Zhong would think that I was young and had no perseverance, so I insisted and wrapped my coat tightly.

Old Uncle Zhong has been driving on this road for nearly 30 years, he takes out a car every week to go to a coal mine one hundred kilometers away to pull coal, at 8 o 'clock in the evening, will appear on time on the cement road in the village, old Aunt Zhong is looking forward to returning, when old Uncle Zhong's strong figure sweep into her eyes, she will put her hands together, thank God for once again bless his safe return.

The car was moving very slowly, and old Uncle Zhong looked at his watch while driving, as if he was very worried.

The car finally stopped at the edge of a village called Shen, it was about six o 'clock in the morning, there were few people on the street, but an old woman bent over, looked over, saw the sound of a tricycle stop, she moved forward with three steps and two steps.

Uncle Zhong quickly got out of the car and went up to meet him. I was idly tucking my hands tightly into my pockets.

"Aunt, come again?" Old Uncle Zhong shouted very affectionately, it seemed that they were acquaintances.

"I know you are coming, I baked some cake, you bring it to Gangzi, quite hot, you also eat some." My aunt still speaks hale and strong.

"I have eaten, I will take it to Gangzi, rest assured, when he comes back, he will bring you money, rest assured, he is OK, there is a good transformation, in less than two years, out, aunt, every time I go, Gangzi let me send you a message, you can live well, must live until he comes out."

Old Uncle Zhong's eyes shone as if he were telling a tragic story.

"Sure, I'm not sick now. Thanks to God, when my son was at home, he was very weak and ill, but now that he has been gone for nearly thirty years, I am still stronger."

My aunt moved her body, trudging through the snow, and two lines of footprints extended to the depths of the small village.

When old Uncle Zhong got on the car again, his face was relaxed. I can guess that he was very worried just now, mainly because he was afraid that his aunt was waiting for him. After listening to the content of their conversation, maybe Gangzi lived in prison in Shenyang. What a nice old man is he?

I put the hot cakes in the warmest part of the cab, afraid of getting cold.

Uncle Zhong focused on driving, we arrived at the coal mine at noon, loaded the coal, ate dinner, stopped for two hours, and returned in the afternoon.

I was very puzzled and asked him, "Didn't you go to see Gangzi?"

"Gangzi, hey," old Uncle Zhong said, "This story stretches for nearly thirty years."

"One winter 30 years ago, when I was young, driving to pull coal, an old woman, standing next to Shen Cun, she wanted to take my car to Shenyang, to visit the son who had just been imprisoned, I promised him, I went to the prison with the old man, Gangzi's face was bitter, crying very sad, he killed someone by mistake, Aunt advised him to reform, Wait for him to come out.

He insisted on taking my car to Shenyang to visit Gang son every week, and we also formed a tacit understanding that I would arrive in Shen village at about 5 o 'clock every Wednesday morning, and she would wait for me at the corner of this street on time.

But suddenly one time, the old man did not appear, his neighbor waited for me, said the old man was ill, I went to her empty home, found the old man in blood, the old man said she could not go, let me send a message to Gangzi.

Since then, I have never let the old man go to prison, in the head of twenty years, Gangzi had an accident, sudden cerebral hemorrhage, did not rescue, the prison to help deal with the matter, I and the neighbors do not know the old man, the Gangzi buried in his ancestral grave, we are afraid of the old man suspicious, then cast an anonymous monument, I told all people must hide from the old man, I'll make my regular weekly visits.

From that week on, I learned to bring things and money to the old man when I came back, I said that Gangzi worked outside the prison, 50 to 100 yuan each time, I insisted on twenty years.

Is it hard to live? Halfway through, my job changed and I didn't need to go to Shenyang to pull coal anymore, but when I thought of the old man, I felt sorry, I would go there on time, and the old man would still be waiting at the entrance of the village on time. After more than two years, I found this job again, so that I could not only earn money to support my family, but also bring greetings to the old man."

I suddenly burst into tears. Uncle Zhong had kept his kindness for 30 years, just to bring the news that Gangzi was safe to the old man, bring her Gangzi's greetings and blessings, and pray for the old man to enjoy his old age.

Old uncle Zhong went to the market to buy a package of electric blankets, about six o 'clock in the evening, the car arrived on time at the entrance of Shencun street, the old man excitedly stood in the cold wind, a face auspicious.

Uncle Zhong and I jumped out of the car at the same time, and with this special warmth, I was no longer afraid of the cold in winter.

Old Uncle Zhong held the electric blanket and said to the old man, "Gangzi's sentence has been reduced, and he can come out in five or six years. He made money and asked me to bring it to you. Take this electric blanket, which he bought specially, and said that you should surround it at night to keep warm."

"Gangzi is filial, but he went the wrong way at the beginning?" The old man's eyes were full of tears, in the winter night of minus 30 degrees, the cold still can not freeze the warmth of a tear, because this tear is full of human love.

When I went out again, I volunteered to go, because I knew that old Uncle Zhong's health had been deteriorating, and I had to exercise and practice early to take over the baton of kindness.

Goodness has a way, huh? Kindness will also be contagious, kindness is like the spring breeze, will blow all over the land of China, so that harmony fills the world.

comedy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.