Futurism logo

The World Is In A Long Ceremony to Feed The Earth

Fibonacci Spirals In The Circle Of Life

By Tree LangdonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The World Is In A Long Ceremony to Feed The Earth
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

Numbers and logic satisfy me in a way that is difficult to describe.

I enjoy order, although that would surprise the people I live with.

I’m messy as hell.

My office is filled with piles of paper and canvas and I collect strange bits of metal and sculpture. I am an ephemera addict and can’t pass a thrift store without going in.

I buy strange things at garage sales. Like a crow, I'm attracted to shiny things and can't resist long strands of metal beads or glass. I once pulled a broken mirror out of a garbage pile because it was bordered with one inch squares of weathered copper. I was sure they would make perfect feathers of a mythical bird. They're still there, waiting for the right moment.

One of my dreams is to learn to weld and built large sculptures of dragons and giant lizards to put in my garden. I once created a five foot heron out of rebar and a polymer clay like paint. I dipped cotton in it and draped the heron, arranging the wings. The material hardened to a solid weatherproof coating.

Oh yes, my garden is studded with collected bits of rusting metal. There’s a lion in a tree, a long chain with a pointed arrow at one end is dangling from our front deck and the shed in the back is studded with discarded horseshoes — with the open end up so the luck doesn’t run out, of course.

On the surface, nature is also a messy place.

To our eye, the deep forest is a chaos of fallen trees, layered with moss and leaves and delicious rot.

When we acquire a bit of land we tend to tidy it up, arranging plants in rows and pulling out weeds that we’ve decided don’t belong.

Deep beneath all the messy layers is a secret logic reflected in nature over and over again.

When I came across the Fibonacci sequence of numbers, it made complete sense. There is a plan after all.

We live on a beautiful planet that we often take for granted. It’s unfortunate that we have chosen a relationship where we constantly take from Gaia, instead of giving back.

I write a lot of poetry and nature is one of my favorite topics.

When I think about giving back to the planet, I think about compost, the dark messy rotting composition, full of worms, working their magic. Worms eat all the veggie peelings and scraps you put in your bin and their castings (a polite way to say worm poo) are the essential manure that feeds the earth.

The phrase ‘feed the earth’ always reminds me of this quote from Into the Heart of the Country by Pauline Holdstock:

“And I see all the world of people for what it is. A long ceremony to feed the Earth.

We dance on it, feed on it, walk on it, and hunt and shit and love on it. And then we die upon it letting our flesh add to its’ crust so that new things can crawl there and dig and nest. It is not a hard thing.”

• Slight disclaimer — the above quote came from my notebook of ‘quotes that I’ve loved’ and so I can’t attest to its absolute accuracy.

The Fibonacci numbers or Golden Ratio are a pattern frequently found in nature.

They are a series of numbers where each number is the sum of the previous two numbers in the sequence. For example 0,1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21, 34, 55. This sequence continues into eternity.

I’m fascinated with numbers and logic so this concept, as discovered in nature appeals to me even more.

The Circle of Life As a Logical Sequence

A Fibonacci Spiral poem

when

a bird

breathes a song

a gentle strumming

that whispers of petals of blue

light as the touch of a summers bee in the woods

would it sing of a country song

or of sacrifice

as the hawk

swoops it

away

I loved writing this delicate poem and encourage you to try it. It follows the Fibonacci sequence of 1,2,3,5,8,13 and then it spirals back down, 8,5,3,2,1.

If you enjoyed this story, send me a tip so I can write another one.

Or share it on social media. Your recognition means a lot to me.

Next Read >

This story also appears on Medium by Tree Langdon, the author.

psychology
1

About the Creator

Tree Langdon

Get an idea, a new word and a question.

For more, read my bio here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.