Futurism logo

The Twisted True Story of the Witch Who Made Headlines.

Some stories are just bizarre.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Some stories are just bizarre.

But there's nothing I love more than a good ole fashioned Witch story. Maybe it's the Nigerian in me that loved hearing such stories growing up, or my love for series like Merlin, Legend of The Seeker, Supernatural, etc.

Whatever it is, when I saw this headline while scrolling through my Twitter feed, I had to stop and do a double take. What was I reading?

A witch lands from a plane to claim a house as hers? What?

I'm sure you're as curious as I am, so without wasting any more time, let's get into the story.

Before that though, make sure to like and follow me on Facebook so you don't miss out on any new stories, articles, or posts I'm sure you'll enjoy.

The Story As Seen In The Original Publication.

By Aron Visuals on Unsplash

An unidentified woman dressed in white, suspected to be a witch caused a stir in Mufakose around 4am yesterday when she claimed to have arrived with a ‘plane’ from Silobela.

The woman said she had come to claim all her belongings at a house along Crowborough way, Mufakose.

“I opened the main door around 4 in the morning when l saw a woman dressed in white lying in front of the cottage door.

“I assumed it was my tenant’s wife who had been kicked out of the house but as l approached the woman l could not recognise her.

“After confronting her, she told me that my cottage was her house and that she was looking for her property and her children because my tenants had taken them away from her,” said Mai Mashamba, the owner of the house.

When asked what she was doing there, the woman boasted to be at her house, looking for her children.

“This is my house and these people took it from me so l have just come to check on it.

“Why would you ask me what l am doing here? Has anyone ever questioned you why you are in your own home?” she said.

The alleged witch was supposedly left by her colleagues whom she had been travelling with.

“I heard strange noises and conversations between two or three people around 2am but being scared to go outside I decided to ignore it.

“I was only comfortable with opening the door after a few hours when l heard my landlord calling me but l was surprised to note that there was only one person left,” said Mai Mazanhi who resides in the cottage which the suspected witch claimed to be hers.

“After a crowd gathered some of the neighbors suggested to raise the issue at Crowborough Police Station in Mufakose where they could not find assistance because no officer was around by that time,” said Mai Mazanhi.

Mai Mashamba said she decided to let the crowd send the woman away as the crowd was growing and it was becoming too immense for her to handle.

“My neighbour came by and we mixed coarse salt with water and splashed it on her.

“She yawned for a while and started looking confused unable to relate what exactly was happening.

“The crowd had already gathered shouting at the woman and calling her names. I then decided to let them take her away from my house.

“I only heard they left her along Muonde road here in Mufakose and l have no idea where she went thereafter,” she said.

By m wrona on Unsplash

Okay, so if you're like me then after reading this story you're scratching your head.

Let me break it down from what I understand.

Person A who currently lives in his cottage hears 2 or 3 people outside and comes to check on what's causing the ruckus only to see 1 woman wearing white saying that this place where A is living is her house and she's looking for her children and property.

A crowd starts gathering because A is saying he doesn't know who this woman is and how she got here. So the woman is still confused convinced that this is her home.

Next thing, somebody mixes salt and water and pours it on the woman who then yawns, looks confused, and is unsure what is going on.

That's the gist of it.

Are you telling me that this story HIT THE HEADLINES and made FRONT COVERS, when at the end of the day it sounds to me like a woman who was clearly sleepwalking and found her way to this person's house. If they splashed water on her which caused her to yawn and look confused, then my inference is that she was probably asleep and didn't know what she was doing.

But then it's still very bizarre because how can some random woman wearing white sleep-walk so far from wherever she came from, only to come to a strange man's door to claim his place as her own.

In fact, the more I think about it, it's actually a very bizarre story. The man said he heard 2-3 voices before opening up the door, who were those?

Why did she claim to have arrived in a "plane" by 4am in the morning? What plane? If it's a regular plane, then where is her luggage?

Why was it the coarse salt and water that finally woke her up? How come the shouting and threats of the police didn't phase her. Especially because when you look at the picture on the headline, she looks wide awake. So was she really sleep-walking as I thought?

Yo! This story is actually really strange. Are you as confused as I am? What do you think?

Here's a link to the original story if you're interested.

Overall, this is my kind of story. I'd love to hear your thoughts, theories, answers, or whatever. Please send them to me either by commenting on the post on my Facebook or by sending me a message.

I hope this story has left you thinking the way it's left me thinking. I find it very interesting. I hope you do too.

For other fun, light, and exciting stories, check out my other posts here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.