Futurism logo

‘The Last Jedi’ is the Best of the New Trilogy

Yet another hill I will die on.

By Mae McCreeryPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
‘The Last Jedi’ is the Best of the New Trilogy
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

I’ve never met George Lucas, but judging by most of his selfies with Star Wars fans; I can’t help but wonder if he regrets making the Original all those years ago. Like that’s the face of a man who is happy to be rich and yet the true cost was his soul and creative expression because everything else he’s ever done has been judged against Star Wars.

We can all agree that Indiana Jones is an icon but the movies are kinda eh. They’re more of a rite of passage trilogy (we don’t talk about the 4th) than anything.

So, we have the original trilogy:

Episode IV: A New Hope

Episode V: Empire Strikes Back

Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

The true masterpieces of their era. Episode V is the best, fight me. All of the original are great in their own way, we can all agree on that. When we think of Star Wars we think of the OG’s, with all the practical effects and puppets and it’s the first time we get a lot of great lines. In the next two trilogies those great lines are kind of bastardized for the sake of comedy or just as a call back to the originals. As if that fans haven’t memorized the originals word for word.

Then we went back to the beginning:

Episode I: The Phantom Menace

Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

We can all agree these are not great movies. I remember going to see the Phantom Menace as a kid and I actually liked Jar Jar, he was my favorite character. Yeah, it’s cringey to admit that now, but you have to admit that that is one character that you will never forget. Plus Ewan McGregor is the reason I watch those movies, he’s amazing and I love him. You know he’s iconic when all you have to say is “Hello there.” and an entire room of Star Wars fans cheers and sobs out of pure joy. You read it in his voice too, didn’t you?

You little nerd, I love you.

I’m not even going to mention my thoughts on Hayden Christenson, I don’t know how to spell his name but I’ll give him another article later.

Next up we have the trilogy Disney gave us. Which I truly do not know what to think about:

Episode VII: The Force Awakens

Episode VIII: The Last Jedi

Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

Honestly, I didn’t care for the first one or the last one. I actually do like the Last Jedi, Rian Johnson gets so much hate but at least it’s obvious he was trying to do something different and new-ish. Whereas J. J. Abrams was recycling absolutely everything he could get his hands on and just added more explosions. He should stick to Star Trek honestly, That’s his wheelhouse.

Although, I will admit that one of the best moments of my life was while watching the Rise of Skywalker at the midnight showing in a packed theater. The second the script started rolling on screen and the words “EMPEROR PALPATINE LIVES!” appear, the ENTIRE F*&%ING THEATER ROARS WITH FRUSTRATION. A few people left right at that moment! Just got up and walked right out. That was the biggest “F*&% YOU FANS” I have ever seen in my life. Abrams had no chill, but at least he didn’t keep us in suspense and wait until the last possible second to reveal it’s Palpatine; he told us right up front and was like ‘do with that what you will’. I appreciate the honesty from that opening script. I don’t approve of it at all, but what can ya do?

Now, let me just say that I am a huge Star Wars fan. I became a fan when I was a teenager and I watch these movies if nothing else is on. I act along with the movies, I read all the trivia, I read up on fan theories, I love the books. I don’t read or write fanfiction about Star Wars, I don’t do cosplay, and I don’t really go to conventions. I am still a fan, so don’t @ me saying that I’m not one.

I also love Star Trek. So :P

So, in The Last Jedi, Rey is being trained by Luke Skywalker who fears what she may become because her raw powers are so strong. Meanwhile the Rebellion is once again barely out of the reach of the First Order (Empire, whatever) and trying to get away.

When this movie starts with Luke throwing the lightsaber nonchalantly over his shoulder, I laughed so hard my drink came out of my nose. And it was a Sprite so it burned like a motherf***er.

I love the Luke/Rey dynamic, it reminds me of how Obi-Wan might’ve been if he had feared Luke’s powers in the beginning. Luke is struggling with just living his life with the knowledge that because he failed his nephew, he’s basically destroyed the universe. I can understand that he’s against training Rey,

Meanwhile Kylo Ren is having a meltdown every other scene, but it’s not funny like in The Force Awakens which I’m sorry is the best scene out of that entire movie. When those Storm Troopers just stop, turn, and walk back the way they came; I die laughing every time.

Finn is also doing stuff but I can’t remember what, as much as I love John Boyega I cannot for the life of me remember the point of his character.

Then we have the paranoid schizo that is Poe Damaren. When the Rebellion gets chased through hyperspeed by the First Order, they literally pace along at a whopping 5 miles per hour with the First Order ship right on them going 3 miles per hour. They are literally only like two steps in front of their enemies and one step away from being blown to smithereens.

That pissant who has no position of power or influence in the Rebellion who got mad when the Purple Haired Lady took charge and wouldn’t tell him what the plan was because she didn’t know who he was. Because he’s not important and she didn’t know him therefore didn’t trust him.

She was a leader and it was fine for her to feel that way.

But NOOOOOOOO

Poe just HAD to stage a COUPE D’ FREAKING TAT and tried to remove her from her post.

Because when the First Order is LITERALLY on your ASS like white on rice, you should start fighting amongst the ranks. That’ll be fine.

And THEN POE STEALS HER INSPIRING LINES.

Which is a bit wordy if you ask me, the writers were really stretching for this line.

“We are the spark that will light the fire of the Rebellion” well something close to that anyway.

Which the Leader who sacrificed herself so the others could get away had said first to a room full of people.

F*ck you Poe.

And f*ck those little porgie bird creatures. Chewie should have eaten all those Muppet rejects. I loved the ice wolves on the salt planet.

And I’m sorry, I have to bring it up, what’s up with the rebel that tasted the planet? Who goes around the galaxy just licking up the dirt? No wonder the new rebellion was barely hanging on by a thread.

I know, I have a lot of problems with this movie for someone who loves this one the most out of the new trilogy.

But there are a few parts that make it the best for me.

How Rey struggles with the connection her and Ben share. She knows Luke is hiding something from her, she wants to understand her powers and she thinks that her past holds the key to that. She’s overloaded with her powers and Luke barely helps her because he’s afraid of her. But she also realizes that Luke who at first represents the Light side of the Force has secrets that affect the galaxy and Ben who represents the Dark side has reasons for becoming Kylo Ren that were not in his control.

It’s not about Light versus Dark, it’s about finding the Gray area in between. The Balance.

And this isn’t a massive telenovela about the Skywalker family.

Rey’s parents weren’t special in this movie. She was no one who got this incredible gift.

Just like the little boy who could summon the broom.

Something special can come out of nowhere.

THAT WAS THE POINT.

But NOOOOOOOOOO Abrams just had to ruin it all by bringing Palpatine back.

UGH.

This could’ve had a beautiful ending that created new characters that came from nothing and who had a chance of helping to bring the galaxy together like Luke had at the end of Episode VI.

So. While I am a fan of Star Wars, I cannot love every movie the same amount.

But Clone Wars will always fall last on that list.

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.