Futurism logo

The Island Of Dreams

A young girl crosses the ocean, risking it all, in pursuit of fame and fortune.

By Nina RubesaPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

As I arrived to The Island of Dreams, it was silent. Not a soul in sight except for an old woman standing by the shore. I docked my ship and walked towards her, holding on tightly to my small, black, quantum possibilities notebook. ‘Welcome.’ the old woman said calmly. ‘You are one of the worthy souls.’ She opened a shabby briefcase. It was filled with £20,000 in cash. Well this was unexpected.

I grew up in a small seaside town called Yavista, where fame and material success were the only things that mattered. Every year, a small group of starry eyed hopefuls would prepare their ships for the turbulent quest across the ocean to the tropical island known as The Island of Dreams. On arrival the locals would resurrect a statue in your name. You’d become a legend. I always knew I didn’t belong in Yavista and would spend lunch eating alone in a toilet cubicle. This isolation drove me and I was determined to be the first woman to ever make the trip across the sea.

It was no small feat and took real guts to attempt the journey towards The Island Of Dreams. Most who attempted the quest would return to the shores of Yavista after a few months; broken and defeated. They’d be shamed by the community and spend the rest of their days drowning their lost dreams in pints of mead and burying their shame in cigarette ash. Most never returned. My brother Max was one of them.

Max was vibrant and full of light. Everyone saw his potential. Only one other had been victorious on making the quest to The Island of Dreams; Jay was celebrated around the world for his bravery. Everyone thought Max would be next. Alas, no one heard from him again and we had to accept that he'd been taken by the sea.

As the sun rose, my parents walked me towards the dock. I hugged them goodbye and wiped away their tears telling them I’d be back soon, then hopped onto my boat. I’d saved up for 3 years, getting up early to work at the market stalls selling vegetables. My boat was sturdy yet flexible which meant I wouldn’t need a crew.

As I sailed away from my hometown, the cold sea breeze hit my face like sharp razorblades. It was exhilarating and terrifying all at the time same but there’s an inexplicable magic you feel when venturing out on your own. I spent the next few months sailing the seas, docking, restocking on supplies and quickly returning to my journey. There was no time for distractions. I was on a mission.

Then I met Jackson.

Jackson was handsome and charming. He was the kind of person everyone listened to the minute he opened his mouth. He invited me for dinner and that night I felt seen for the first time. It felt like I’d finally met my person. He too was on the quest to The Island Of Dreams but his ship got wrecked and so I invited him to join mine.

For about 8 months life with Jackson was a perfect. It was nice to have a first mate but slowly things got rocky. Jackson was convinced all the other people we met were stupid, lazy and unworthy. To their faces he’d be warm and then lash out at their idiocy on our walks back to the ship. He’d belittle me, tell me I wasn't as great a sailor as I thought I was and slowly I started to believe him. I started to question my instincts. Because of this, Jackson started making all the decisions. I didn’t know what I believed anymore but knew I couldn’t make it across the sea without him.

One morning Jackson roared as he returned to the ship from his morning run. He was angry complaining about the shop keeper. I asked him if he wanted to talk about it and when defending the shop keeper he lashed out at me. He didn't hit me physically but he might as well have. That night, I dove deep into my soul and knew I had to leave. As Jackson lay fast asleep I snuck out of bed, threw on my coat, and in the dead of night, got onto my ship and sailed away.

The next 19 days were incredibly challenging as I pushed through traitorous storms and heavy winds while uncontrollably sobbing from a broken heart. I was a shell of myself.

One morning I saw an island pop up in the distance. It was different from the other islands I’d seen. As I reached the shore I saw bright lights shining from the trees. There were bright coloured flowers surrounding the huts and loud, jovial music played. Everyone was dancing and laughing. I’d never seen people so happy. As I docked, a fairy flew onto my shoulder. I’d read about them but had never actually seen one.

I walked along the beach, towards the town square. Everyone was gathered around a man who was making them laugh uncontrollably. As he spoke I couldn't help but feel as though I knew him. The man turned around and looked me straight in the eye, ‘Well, hello sister!

Max smiled as we walked along the beach. ‘We thought you were dead.’ I said. ‘I don’t understand… why didn’t you write?’ Max took a deep breath in, ‘When I landed here I knew immediately that I’d found my place. I can’t explain it. It was a feeling. I wake up in heaven every morning. I’ve never been so happy. I battled with these feelings for quite a while because our world doesn’t accept anything short of reaching The Island of Dreams. The towns people of Yavista would shame mother and father for having a son who settled for less and you’ve have had to live with that treason. It wasn’t worth it to see you guys suffer for my choices so I figured playing dead was the only answer.’

It was true what he said. I stopped and hugged him tightly. Grateful to see him alive.

Max put his hands on my shoulders, suddenly serious, ’You sis, were always a warrior but you don’t look so good. You look beaten.’

I went on to tell him about the last 9 months and Jackson. He shook his head. ‘The pursuit of reaching The Island of Dreams does strange things to people. It brings out our deepest, darkest fears and insecurities around self worth and inadequacy which if you don’t acknowledge will eat you and those around you alive. They’ll do anything to try and pull you down to their depths and dim that light. Stay here for a while.’

I did. The next few months were absolute bliss. I’d never met people so welcoming, warm and accepting. The mornings I’d walk to the square and eat delicious breakfast with the locals and at night we’d dance around the fire, laugh and drink tequila. We’d share stories, play music and gaze up at the stars. There was nothing we had to do, nor anywhere we had to be.

My instincts started to strengthen. When you feel safe you make decisions from a place of love rather than fear and I knew that it was time to move on. As Max had said, it’s a feeling. I knew there was something out there waiting for me to discover.

The night before I left, the entire island threw one of their biggest dinner parties for me. As the meal came to a close, the toasts began.

Miranda started off, ‘Remember to tend to your ship. Your ship is the vessel that transports you. Keep it clean and attend to the holes so you can withstand the storms coming your way.’

Lula, was next, ‘Remember my darling to be present. When you’re present you’ve got all the power within your hands to get to where you want to go. Let the waves lead you off course if need be. There are always lessons to be learned along the way.’

Max and I sat by the beach after dinner, our toes in the water as he handed me a small, black notebook. ‘This is a quantum possibilities notebook. If you’re going to continue on the quest towards The Island of Dreams you must stay aligned with your mission, every morning write them down in this notebook and know that it’s already done. Time just hasn’t caught up yet. Know you are worthy of your dreams. And finally sister, know that no matter what, you are always welcome back here.’

As I sailed off the next morning, I had a renewed sense of trust within myself, a knowing and a calm I hadn’t felt before.

The next 12 months I'd start my days by tending to my ship, patching up any holes and scrubbing the decks, followed by writing in my quantum possibilities notebook. As Miranda reminded me, I remained present, sought out adventure on the islands I’d find myself on and remain curious and open to what was in front of me. After a hectic gathering on an island I’d return to my ship and sail in solitude, making peace with my past, with the pain and thanking every single experience for helping me become the person I was. Then one morning, at dawn, I saw it. The Island of Dreams. I’d made it.

Looking down at the briefcase filled with £20,000 I waited for the old woman to say something. ‘You have two choices.’ she began. ‘One, we use this money to build a statue of your victory, send posters around to every village and make you a global hero. You will live like a queen on this island in one of our greatest villas with staff that’ll wait on your every need. You’ll never have to lift a finger ever again.’

The old woman smiled. ‘Or, you take this money with you but must spend it on a greater cause. You must leave here immediately, never return and no one will ever know that you made it to The Island of Dreams. They will believe you drowned.’

I thought about my parents. About all those people on Yavista who told me I wouldn’t be able to complete this journey. This was my dream wasn't it? To have my name go down in history, to show people that I’m worthy.

And then it hit me. I already am worthy! I always have been and I don’t need a statue to prove that.

The journey across the ocean opened up my eyes to what I was capable of. It tested me and strengthened me. I suddenly had a vision. I’d buy a massive ship and teach other young hopefuls how to master the art of self through crossing the ocean. I realised the impact I could make was far greater than a statue ever would.

‘I’ll take the money.’ I told the old woman. She nodded, seemingly unsurprised by my answer.

As I sailed away from The Island of Dreamers I smiled. How I’d longed to make it to that island for so long. I definitely still believed that pursuing the seemingly impossible was worthy, but not for the end result as I’d originally thought. No. It’s simply something to strive for so you grow through overcoming the obstacles in the way of it. That, is what life is really about. That and finding the joy in every single moment. I took a deep breath in and sighed it out, grasping on to my notebook I was ready for whatever new adventure lay ahead.

The End.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Nina Rubesa

A writer and actor passionate about telling stories about those who're brave enough to follow their dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.