Futurism logo

The difference between good and evil Pt 6

Enjoy! Written by CR Cole posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

By CR ColePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Kelsie's hands shook as she worked, not goo for work but her nerves were too shot to do any better. Seventeen hours, that's how long I've been up, no sleep, only thing going through my mind is Veronica, is she ok?

Theo sleeps peacefully several feet away from me, I look at him and even though I should be angry I smile, he's a good man, he was just afraid to tell me the truth. I suppose if I was in his position I would be afraid too.

The lab was a mix of blinking lights and chemical smells, hundreds of combinations but still something is missing. Something is wrong, Goliath is the only chance my niece can be saved, and if that means I have to work for three days straight, then so be it.

As I try another combination number two walks in, he wakes up Theo and tells him something in his ear. Within a second he is up, he walks up to me and says "I need to go take care of something with the grunts, I'll be back soon.

I don't pay him much mind, or even really respond with a short grunt. Once he's gone several more samples come through and I sit down. Goliath is in front of me, large and imposing he sleeps, his chest rises and falls, watching him however a thought occurs to me.

Climbing up to Goliath I place my ear on his chest, there it is! In his breath is a small hitch, the kind of hitch comes from lack of air into the longs, he's breathing but barely.

I climb up higher and look at his nose, over the years It's filled with sediment and rock, same with his mouth. Taking a small chisel out of my lab coat pocket I break at the hardened rock and open his airways, once his breathing normalizes the computer at the far end of the room goes off.

An old combinations of chemicals for waking him up now works based on his new vitals. I run over to the computer and look at the compound, it has a 100% chance to work, yes! My niece will be saved.

"So you figured it out..." I whip around and see Theo, he seems awestruck by the screen.

"All these years I never thought it possible, how did you do it?" He asks.

"His nose was blocked by rocks, he was slowly asphyxiating, so his body put him in a coma to reserve air." I say.

He nods slowly. "Brilliant, why didn't I think to check his physical state."

"You thought him invincible, under that assumption it would make sense to not check his physical state, but he's still a creature that needs to be taken care of." I say.

He walks up to Goliath looking at him thoughtfully. "Guess it required a woman's touch, a motherly one."

For a second I let my heart hear his words, but then I break it and focus on Veronica. "How soon can we wake him?" I ask knowing Theo has thought this through for a long time.

He looks back at the results and says. "The formula to wake him up requires a large amount of electrons, in other words a metric ton of electricity, if we set up a skyscraper size grounding pole and lead it directly to Goliath we can apply and combine that with the chemical formula and wake him. In other words," He looks to two and says. "We need to build a metal tower long enough to touch the clouds then cause a thunderstorm."

He leaves diligently following orders and I ask. "How soon can we do this."

Theo comes over to me and gently takes hold of my shoulders. "Go and rest Kelsie, well do it tomorrow night, it will take all day of burning fires to make the kind of clouds we need, we will get your niece back I swear to you."

His tone is gentle and his grip soft, so I do as he suggest and go to bed, but for some reason I am unable to sleep, something is calling me, something is wrong, I can feel it, and I'm gonna find out.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

CR Cole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.