Futurism logo

The Difference Between Good and Evil Pt 5

Enjoy! Written by: CR Cole every Monday,Wednesday, and Friday.

By CR ColePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Brie watched saddened as the forgotten tore apart the men and woman, she almost intervened when Kelsie, the one with the mark, was knocked over, but as before, the doctor uses his slaves to manipulate her and her situation.

I stay in my birds nest projecting the whole situation to Blake and Ray, a small thermal camera is attached to the tip of my beak, a good use of the beak if you ask me, I think proudly to myself.

Blake's voice comes through my ear. "Who did they take?"

"A young girl, the youngest there in fact." I say back. Why would he want to know about the girl they took? We all know the doctor sometimes takes young girls to be his slaves.

"How did Kelsie react when she was taken?" His voice comes through.

Then it hits me her importance. "She went into instant shock, then she rushed towards her despite the forgotten. Blake that's someone important to her so if w-."

"If we rescue her than Kelsie will believe us when we rescue her." Ray's whisper comes through barely audible.

"Exactly, Brie you need to be the one to do it." Blake says.

"Wh-what? Why me?" My heart race picks up when he says that, and I'm struck with disbelief, he's never asked me to do something like this before.

His voice comes back sympathetic, fatherly. "Honey. Me and Ray are on the other side of the Island, it would take Ray five hours at his fastest to get to you, it would take me an hour, but you can fly so it takes you less than ten minutes. By the time me or Ray got there to help, the doctor would have already moved her into a more secure position. Listen, do you remember why I told you were stronger than the forgotten?"

My voice comes out shaky but gains more confidence as I continue. "Because of our individuality, in order to take control of us we have to be weaker, but because the doctor didn't know that when he made us, we were too strong for him to control, and as a result I'm stronger than ten of the forgotten."

"Exactly, you have to be quick, you have to get her now before they enter the temporary holding cell, any time after that and they will have it fortified, and guarded by the guardians. Better now with the berserker's, they'll be easier to fight." His voice comes out steady, but I hear an undertone of worry with it.

"Don't worry Blake, I'll have her home before sunset." With that I turn off my com and fly down to a better spot within the trees.

My mutations allow me to see at night as I would the day, so the forgotten are clear to me, they carry the girl in a large wicker cave. Being calm now their usual rage is now replaced with an uneasy calm as they walk in rhythm. Perfectly controlled by the doctor they have one express purpose, to bring the girl into an old dungeon. The castle torn down many years ago, but the dungeon kept intact for the doctor to take his prisoners.

They have four miles before they hit the dungeon so I take my time and make a plan. There are thirty of them in all, twenty leading the front and ten guarding the rear, a small valley about a mile ahead gives me an idea.

I flay ahead to it and begin my work, cutting the trees at the top to were only one little push would knock them down. Then, using a special chemical my gut creates, I slather the trees in it.

Flying up high I take my vantage point, the group stands only a few seconds away from my trap. Perfect timing if I do say so myself. once in the middle of the valley I wait a few more seconds, then once the twenty in front make in past my setup trees I spring into action.

Swooping down at speeds that make my ears pop I hold out my arm and it goes through my already half cut trees, once they fall separating the ten from the twenty I spit out a different reaction from my stomach and the trees catch ablaze preventing them from jumping over the trees.

Then I touch down and my instincts kick in, when the doctor experimented on me, he not only changed my physical make up, he changed my brain to, and as a result, nothing. My mind goes a complete blank, I don't even see as I tear through the forgotten as if they're nothing. When I wake up the battle is over, thirty bodies lay around me in mangled heaps.

Huh, I guess sometime after I killed the ten the other twenty broke through, I look over at the trees, the fire is out now and all that remains are charred ashes. Walking over to the wicker cage the young girl inside looks at me terrified.

"Y- you killed them." She barely manages to get out.

"Ooohh you seen it! Tell me how did I beat them all?" My voice comes out just a childish as that statement sounds.

"Y-y-you killed the ten first, once they were dead you spit something at the fire to make it smaller, when it was you waited for those creatures to attack you and you killed them one by one." Her voice comes out shaky, but it's undertone is that of scientific curiosity, that curiosity is no doubt the reason she answered.

"I divided them huh? That's awesome! Really wish I could be awake during the royal beat down. Anyway, my name is Brie and I'm here to save you." I say excitedly.

"Your not going to kill me?" She asks hesitantly.

I hold out my hand and tilt my head. "Come on, if I wanted to kill you would we even be talking right now."

"I suppose not." She says taking my hands, she flinches when she realizes my hands are talons, but after a few reassuring words were on our way home.

After a moment of walking she asks. "What are you?"

I hold a hand over my mouth and whisper. "No doubt they know your gone now, we can't have a normal talk until we get home. They can hear halfway across the island."

She nods and takes me hand, the gesture fills me with warmth, because for the first time in my life someone is relying on me instead of me relying on them, I decide I like the girl, and will do anything to protect her. She believes in God, I can sense it, the Spirit is all around her, I wonder what pain brought her to God, and why Kelsie doesn't believe, but that can wait the Spirit tell me, right now the best thing for me is to be loving to this girl, because she needs it.

"One thing you can tell me." I whisper. "Is your name."

"Veronica." She replies.

"Were gonna be good friends Veronica."

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

CR Cole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.