Futurism logo

The arrangement

Life arranges itself in the most unusual ways.

By Jose MedinaPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The arrangement
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

Samuel Santiago, please come to the E.R! It’s imperative that you come here . We have a severe case of that disease. We need you here! Santiago rushed into the E.R. He ran into the E.R. He was confused about the empty emergency room. Is this really true? or did he imagine the call from the intercom. Why is there no one here? It’s been a strange and almost terrifying day; because he's seen the world news. The atmosphere’s parts per million has reached a critical level.. He was scared, but he refused to let that news bring his spirits down. « The world is a strange place. It’s rapidly changing day by day, » Santiago mumbled.The night sky has been recently showing different night colors: Gray some days, brown sometimes, and even red once a week. There was an aurora borealis here in California, which was an extremely rare event, since we’re nowhere near the arctic, or the arctic circle.. Is this all connected to what the newscaster had said this morning? Santiago walked around the E.R., then he noticed with his peripheral vision Jackson a young R.N.. At theI.C.U. there appeared to be a huge commotion. « I wondered if he meant the I.C.U, and mixed up the names. » Santiago entered the I.C.U. He noticed that a patient was on the ground, and he was unconscious. « Jackson what’s going on? Why aren’t you doing anything at all? Are you scared? Do you know what to do? » Santiago asked calmly.

All of a sudden, Jackson screamed loudly « I don’t know what to do with patient. He’s not breathing well and he has these grey bruises on his body . Why am I a nurse? What am I doing with my life? » « Jackson why are you panicking? It’s alright we can call some respiratory technicians to help with this. This is just another side effect of the poor air quality that we have available to us here on Earth. Do you understand? » Santiago said calmly. « Since you lost your mother Jackson. You haven’t been the same. You need to take some time off. Give yourself a day or two in order to cope with your loss. I’m sorry, but if you don’t learn to deal with it, then they might fire you. We need you to remain centered. » Santiago said compassionately. « I don’t want you to lose your job; because, all of these reasons. If I can help in anyway, then let me know » Santiago said quietly. « You see I want to kill myself; because, this life is hell. The atmosphere has severely been destroyed. It’s been a rough year for me. I had to hold my mother in my arms as she struggled to breathe. She told me that she loved me. I told her that I forgave her for everything. It was so hard to see her die. I just can't live like this. I’m all alone. I’m the last of my family » Jackson said. Jackson has been so scattered minded recently. This explains so much. Jackson suddenly started to cry intensely on the I.C.U. floor.. Santiago tried to comfort Jackson, but it was pointless. He decided just leave him.« Poor Jackson. He’s not going to make it for another year if he continues to act this way. » Santiago mumbled. Jackson is right to feel this way. After all, this is probably one of the last years that we can continue to live on Earth.

Santiago was walking back to triage where he was in deep thought. He was going to talk to Shirley, his best friend. He figured out that a strong social support group often helps one out to cope with hardships. « People need people to survive was something that he heard often growing up by his mom. This phrase is so true. I never fully understood the meaning of those words until now. » Santiago mumbled to himself. Just looking at Jackson so vulnerable was hard to see. It was intense to see someone as young as Jackson be so disturbed … so cynical, so devastated about his losses. He has no one. He feels so alone, so worthless, and so weak. It’s difficult to see someone like that. Santiago was lost in his own little world, which was his own coping mechanism. I guess this habit made him internally strong enough to deal with the end of the world.

Santiago was still deep in thought and talking to himself. It was true that life here on Earth is rough. Since 2045, we’ve been told that the ozone is almost gone, and oxygen levels are extremely low. The world health organization released a statement that another radioactive virus is going to create another pandemic. He kept remembering his time in war. He kept thinking why he had to be drafted in so many at such a young age. « How can I still want to live through all of these wars? Why haven’t I broken down yet? Why do I still continue to dream, and be happy in an inferno? I guess because I am a dreamer who has a lot of faith in myself. » Santiago blurted out. I have survived war, and lost so much. Yet, I want to still live. I want there to be a better future for the next generation to come.Those wars didn’t break my spirit.

I survived the three great wars: The great water wars of 2050 in France; the Chinese-Russo war of 2055; even the American- Canadian war of 2056.. I hated being drafted. I had no choice in deciding whether to participate in something so gruesome. Each time that I had to go on deployment. I felt dead inside. The truth is that we humans love to fight. We are destructive and incapable of learning to compromise our wants for the betterment of humanity ,or maybe we’re ruled by people who don’t have humanity's best interest. Regardless of everything , I understand Jackson’s pain. I’ve witnessed several of my co-workers here in the hospital commit suicide. It’s not fair that they keep doing this to me. Why can’t they continue to endure this life?Why do I have to be their rock? Why didn’t the previous generations care enough to stop this? It’s not fair. Santiago wept quietly.

Santiago passed the triage. « Hey Santiago what’s going on? » called out Shirley. « I thought you were coming to chat. » « Yes! I have something really horrible to say » Santiago said softly. « What’s wrong? » said Shirley compassionately. « I think Jackson will commit suicide » cried Santiago. « What! Are you sure? Are you really sure? If that’s the case we might have to put him in the psych- ward. We can’t afford to lose another R.N. It’s been a rough year for everyone. He doesn’t notice that we need him. He matters a lot to us. Anyways, we will figure something out. Oh I forgot to mention that your step dad is here. He wants to talk to you. » Shirley said. « Vlad is here. I don’t understand why he came here. My mother died last year. I thought our father-son relationship was over. » Santiago mumbled.

A tall - slender figure entered the triage. The man spoke in Russian. « Hello my son. What’s new? Why haven't you called ? I know that you’ve been busy with your life here in Los Angeles. It’s tough not hearing from you. I know that the world is ending. Yet, that doesn’t mean you need to push away the people that love. You mean a lot to me. » Said Vladimir. « Father I haven’t been to busy. It’s just been hard. I’ve seen so many deaths this month. I’m a bit depressed. ( in Russian) » Santiago responded.

« I want you to meet my best friend Shirley . She’s from Louisiana. She’ s French -creole. » Santiago blurted out. « Santiago we’ve met since last year. You must have a lot on your mind. I guess that this isn’t something new. You do forget quite often about things. » Shirley responded softly. « Afterall, you forget to speak French with me.. Why is that ? Did the water wars make you bitter against the French? » Shirley asked Santiago. « I do have a lot on my mind. » Santiago responded. « He’s always been extremely sensitive as a young child. He always bottled up his own feelings, and never told people what he’s feeling. » Vlad remarked.

« Enough with the small talk. I came to give you this heart-shaped locket. It was your mother. She told me before she died that you must have it. She found this locket in Belize on her expedition to the Mayan ruins. She thought it contained some esoteric knowledge. Anyways! Santiago, you were once a linguistic anthropologist. Your mother thought that you could decipher the hidden meaning behind this locket. » Vladimir said. « I’m going to the cafeteria to get coffee. and some snacks for everyone. » Shirley blurted out.

Vlad gave the locket to Santiago. « Is she your girlfriend? Or do you have a boyfriend? You know that I want you to be happy. I want you to find love and happiness in this world. » Vlad said to Santiago. « No she’s a lesbian, » said Santiago quickly. « Oh alright. There’s nothing wrong with that. We all need a mate in our lives. Open yourself up to love. I hope you find that person before the world ends completely. It might happen soon. » Vlad told Santiago. « I think that I’m going back to Belize to visit mom’s funeral. Do you want to come with me? I’m inviting Shirley. » Santiago told Vlad. « Sure son. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen the love of my life. » Vlad told Santiago. Vlad and Shirley went to Santiago’s apartment for the night in order to keep Santiago company.

At Santiago’s Nordic-themed apartment he found a piece of mind. He made his apartment a sacred space to cope with the world: he’s coffee machine is his small little pleasure; his comfy bed is his haven; his kitchen is his distraction from the outside world. He made them dinner and coffee. They enjoyed their meal after all Santiago was a wonderful cook. After the meal, everyone went to sleep. Shirley and Vlad slept on a grey- futon. Santiago went into his bedroom. He put on his mother’s locket, then he tried to go to sleep. Yet, all he could remember was his mother. « Mom I wish that you were here. I wish this world wasn’t real. I wish that I could save it. » Samuel Santiago cried. He eventually went to sleep. Suddenly, the locket started to glow bright red.

Santiago was having a transcendental dream. He was at sea. The Spanish styled- boat that he was on was drifting through the sea. The boat was rocking back and forth. He heard the splashing sounds. The cool- saltwater had jumped on his hand.He was walking around the boat called EL Rio.. He entered a door, and a saw woman in a red mantel wearing a goat mask. « My name is Newmona. There is something that you must know. You can save the world. You must undertake a journey to go to eight temples, release their magic, and restore Earth. Please believe me. You must go to Belize, and activate the first temple. » Newmoana said. « How do I activate them? That’s my question » Santiago asked to Newmona. « Simple, your locket is the key .. Goodbye Samuel. Be careful of the invisible hand they’re everywhere » said Newmona. Santiago woke up and noticed that the locket was glowing bright red. The dream was real. What should I do?

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jose Medina

I’m new to this. I hope that I can learn and grow as an amateur writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.