Fiction logo

The dragon tamer’s song

Just live.

By Jose MedinaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The dragon tamer’s song
Photo by Victor Serban on Unsplash

There weren’t always dragons in the valley.” It’s not a big deal. I guess … I don’t understand why care about people’s drama, or fears. It’s just a sad fact that we’re fucked… we’re so fucked. Oh well!” sighed Sam Montefleur. An olive-colored young man who is both a very powerful warlock, and talented musician. “I don’t understand why I should care. This stuff happens on a regular basis here at the nightmare kingdom. We warlocks aren’t as strong as dragons. No one is ever able to defeat them “Sam exclaimed. As Sam was talking to himself while playing his piano, he kept recognizing that Pip his pet baby- dragon swaying back, and forth; furthermore, Sam thought to himself why does he have a pet dragon. Everyone has said their demons with scales. “It's just strange. Why are you so nice to me? You should be killing me by right now. Afterall, my magic isn’t strong enough to fight you Pip. Even a baby dragon can kill a warlock. It’s just a fact, and you really like me which is really bizarre . What’s worse is that your entourage of other baby dragons don’t hate me either.” blurted out Sam. Pip nodded its head as if he was agreeing with Sam. Sam was having an existential crisis while playing his scales on his piano in his gothic -style apartment. His mind’s thoughts were running wild.

“These are some crazy weird thoughts. How am I supposed to prepare for my Royal music academy exam, and my mind is trying to process these thoughts. I am not supposed to think these things. I am not supposed to care about societies problems. I don’t want to be a warlock anymore. I just want to be a pianist for the Royal Music Academy of the Nightmare Kingdom. I want to be in my own little world. It freaks me out, and I don’t want to be a warlock. It’s just too boring to study at the Silence academy. I am tired to listening to the professors’ lectures. It’s no fun at all” Sam screamed. Susie opened Sam’s door. Susie asked Sam: “what are you complaining about now Sam? I worry about you.” She stared at Pip for a moment in shock. “Why do you have a baby dragon in your room? Why are there also juvenile dragons on our balcony swaying back and forth. Can you ask me, huh? Why aren’t they shooting fire at us. “asked Susie. “I don’t know why they are here,” Sam responded.

Both Susie and Sam stared at each other for a minute. Sam’s enchanted harp was playing in the background. It sounded so melodic, and peaceful. “Hey, Susie I need to go to the restroom to take a shower. I just need to be alone for a moment. “Sam said gently.” Ok, I will stay here and watch those creatures,” said Susie. “Pip you and your friends can have some of my lamb on my desk. Ok buddy.” Sam shouted. Sam slowly walked down his hallway in his linen- one piece. He opened the bathroom door, then entered, and yawned as he turned on the faucet. The shower head was on, and the water was streaming. He recognized that he felt a little a bit sad about the direction of his life. At one point, he loved magic, and enjoyed the process of learning magic, but never to the degree that his loves music. He kept worrying about his audition. He felt unclear, unfocused, and uncertain about the direction of his life. He was lucky that he had his youth, but in the back of his mind: “It’s just not the right thing to do with my life. This path that I am on is not as fulfilling” sighed Sam. He had vertigo on his neck. As he washing his body, “ I don’t want to be only be a warlock. I want to also be musician. It’s rough. How can combine the two of these things. I do love magic. I love music as well. It’s just hard. I am not being challenged enough at the Academy of Silence. “Sam said sadly. He started weeping. He felt lost and directionless. He got out of the shower and started to change. He changed into his new clothes. He got back into his room. Susie was there.

“ Sam how did you get your harp to play those melodies repeatedly. It’s very cool.” Susie said enthusiastically. “ I just enchanted them. It’s a very simple that pulls music from my mind- even when I am asleep. It will pull them out of mind. I use that silver colored book there to record the melodies, and notes into that book.” “ Well your both a great musician and a walock. Why don’t you do both. Your life is much more different than other people. Remember that Sam. Stop crying about your life’s purpose. You can do both of these things, and will live a great life. “ Said Susie. She walked and touched the harp in amazement. When, she touched it she managed to touch the wrong string; suddenly, the dragons became irritated and became violent. Sam quickly used his magic to make up a brand new tune. The dragons quickly became calmer. Except for Pip who never got agitated. Both Sam and Susie looked at each other in amazement. “ Sam I think you found out how to solve our predicament with the dragons.” Susie said in Amazement.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jose Medina

I’m new to this. I hope that I can learn and grow as an amateur writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.