Futurism logo

Tea Time

The Arch of a Lost Civilization

By Celestial BardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Author's Note:

This is a continuation of a story. Please read the previous chapters. Links are located below. If you enjoy my story follow me on Twitter @BardCelestial and leave a tip. Thank You!<3

Chapters:

  1. A New Friend
  2. Venting
  3. The Workshop

Part Four

Liz’s dad was still staring at Hanski when her mom brought over chamomile tea and sugar cookies. “Dear, you’re still doing it,” she said.

“I can’t help it!” he said, “Why did my precious little girl grow up so fast? Top of her class and bringing home boys!”

“Dad! I told you,” said Liz, “He’s just a friend!”

“Boys never want to be ‘just friends.’ Trust me. I was one until I met your lovely mother and became a dad,” the mayor kissed his wife on the cheek.

The Archeologist gave a slight giggle, saying, “Dear, stop. You’re going to embarrass our daughter.”

“Mom, that is the least embarrassing thing Dad has done today,” said Liz.

“True,” said her mother who then turned to Hanski, “So, what are you here to photograph again?”

"The Arch, Ma’am,” said Hanski, “Samantha Starrsmark…You’re the lead archeologist, right?”

“Yes, I am. I could find time for an interview in my schedule, if you wish?”

“It’s not my forte to interview, but my parents would be ecstatic if I bring back information from such an important figure… If you don’t mind me asking, can I get a few close ups as well?”

“I don’t know if I shou-”

“Go right ahead,” said Liz’s father.

“Dear, I thought you agreed we should restrict the area for public safety?”

“It’s different when it comes to journalists and photographers. We need to show we have nothing to hide. Just lend him a hazard suit.”

“I’ll think about it,” said the archeologist, “How long do you have left here?”

“Three days, Ma’am,” said Hanski.

“I’ll decide before then. If you leave me you number, I could contact you directly about the matter. "

Hanski beamed, “Thank you Ma’am. I’m sure you’ll do this solid for me,” he enclosed one of Liz’s hands in his, “Did you hear her? She’ll think about it! You have to come with me, Liz!”

“Absolutely NOT!” said Liz’s father, “Marian will not be going near that thing!”

“Father, I—” started Liz.

“Nope. No ifs, ands, or buts. Case closed.”

“That is one thing my husband and I completely agree on,” said Liz’s mother.

A few minutes later, Liz’s parents had left rather suddenly. “They didn’t even let me say my piece,” she said, “I’m not over the incident. There’s no way in hell I’m going back there.”

“Sorry,” said Hanski, “I shouldn’t have said anything.”

“Never mind about that. Wanna get a bite?”

Three hours later, Liz returned home from a silent meal at Zona’s Burgers. She yawned as she boarded the lift and when she exited into her parent’s room, she realized she pressed the wrong button. She was about to get back on the lift when she heard some one yell, “You have to be kidding me!” Liz turned towards her father’s voice and began approaching his office door. “We took every precaution! How could this happen?”

“Sir, we don’t know what has happened to cause the radiation spike,” said a man in a lab coat, “but we believe the best course of action would be to quarantine her until the radiation could stabilize.”

“I can’t do that!”

“We must! At this rate, the nano suppressors will deteriorate and everyone’s time will have ticked away!”

“She’s my daughter!” Liz’s felt her stomach drop.

“And you’re the mayor! Think, sir. The world is at stake. We have to consider every person on the planet. Look, I have kids too, but I would choose the greater good. Either we quarantine Marian and risk only her death, or we let her roam the city and risk the world’s destruction.”

Liz backed away from the office door and on to the lift, as her father grumbled, “That damn arch. What the hell is it? What has it done?”

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Celestial Bard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.