Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 24

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Waiting in the lobby for the headmaster to finish their discussion with Ry'anne and Tarek, I couldn't find a comfortable position to sit in, and it was only partly because my back ached, despite the chairs.

Was he admitting to our less than professional interactions? A knot formed in my stomach. I couldn't bear the thought of me being the reason Tarek losing his position as weapons instructor.

At least it wasn't the only tension floating around.

Sitting on one side of the room, Maybelle and her gang glared at us, having woken from the sleep dust after being dragged into the lobby. I did my best to ignore her, happy no one's magic worked now.

I kept glancing at Lyra though, who sat on the floor away from everybody with her knees pulled to her chest.

I still couldn't understand her thought process. Red flags must have waved in my face at least once. If only I'd paid closer attention.

However, I did better than Gabe, who hung his head between his legs, water droplets occasionally splashing on the floor.

My heart ached for him, but nothing I did or said would help. Hopefully, my mere presence was enough.

I glanced at the rest of my group.

Wren and Elys quietly paced around, hands behind their backs. No surprise. Shifters couldn't remain in one spot for long.

'You can sit.'

Elys tilted his head toward me. 'If only.'

I shrugged, 'Suit yourself.'

He growled a little, still pacing.

Taryn's eyes were closed as she sat criss crossed. I knew better than to assume she slept, her body language too tense.

On my right, Kade stared at the ceiling, arms crossed. "Something you wanna say?"

"Not here, but yes."

How had he known about Lyra beforehand? Did he possess some precognition power? Some angels had gifts outside their racial powerset, although it wasn't as common on Kaelum as it was on the other worlds our faction inhabited.

The door slid open, neither Tarek and Ry'anne appearing happy as they stepped out of the office and sat next to my ba.

"What happened?" I whispered.

Tarek shook his head.

Ry'anne oddly smiled at me, "You'll see."

Another male walked into the lobby. "Kyrell Nyght."

I was on my feet, "Yes?"

"Come with me."

I followed him inside, the door closing behind me. "So you're the headmaster?"

"Surprised?"

"A little."

His mouth twitched, "Yes, most don't expect a male running the Academy."

"Well, angels are more female led." I sat in front of his desk. "Now where do we begin."

"Just tell me everything that happened involving these angels." The headmaster sat as well, "And I already know about you and my weapons instructor."

I blushed, but the words poured out of my mouth. I couldn't hold anything back. As if I was being compelled. I didn't care, tired of keeping it a secret.

When I finally finished, the compulsion evaporated. I reached for the water on the desk, mouth dry. My chest and shoulder felt lighter though.

"Thank you for your candor."

I paused at the last word, eyeing him as I recalled knowledge from my classes. "You're a ma'at."

"Surprised you didn't figure it out sooner."

"You didn't need to use your candor magic on me, I would've told the truth."

The headmaster leaned back in his chair, "And I would have known if you were lying or omitting, but I can never be too thorough."

Ma'ats, which didn't originate from Kaelum unlike most angel races, possessed candor magic, allowing them to know whether someone was lying and to force people to confess the truth.

They were also telepathic, which probably came in handy many times for them. But how did his magic work with the dampeners?

"I'm surprised the Council granted you rank of headmaster." Saying they were traditionists underplayed it a little.

He shrugged, "I can be persuasive."

I sighed, "May I leave now?"

"Yes."

Walking out the door, everyone looked at me. I quickly sat back down on the sofa as he called the next person.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.