Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 23

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Facing down my opponents who closed in around me, I remained in place, my shadows trying to defend me. I didn't have much choice but to stay.

Trees covered my go to exit option and there was no way I would win if I attacked them first.

The lead female evilly grinned at me, "So, where's your precious instructor now?"

I only glared, hands raised and balled in case.

"No witty comeback today, Nyght?" She rested her hands on Lyra's shoulders. "Well, I suppose we are all rendered speechless at some point."

The back my left hand tingled and I hid the smirk. "No, I just don't think you deserve my wit."

"No?"

"Not since you brainwashed Lyra, no."

The female laughed, "Oh, I didn't do anything to her."

Lyra looked away from me.

"She came to us out of the blue." She stepped forward. "Surprised me as she told us everything."

I swallowed, ignoring the churning in my gut.

"So, deciding she'd be useful, I invited her to join us, and she accepted."

"Well, you're not alone in being surprised."

"That was the plan."

Our shadows snapped at each other. "Although I still don't understand your problem with me. I've done nothing to you."

"Except seduced our instructor."

"Oh, he was the instigator, not me," I let my grin appear, sensing the rest of my group draw near, "I just have those same feelings."

"It's not right." The mask she wore cracked for a moment. "It isn't fair."

It clicked. "So all of this is because you're jealous?"

She slightly flinched, confirming it.

Lyra lifted her head as the males carried puzzled expressions and body language.

"Well, I hate to break it to you, but Tarek was never going to see you as a romantic prospect."

She sneered. "And why would you say that?"

"Because he's only interested in males." I crossed my arms. "Either way, he was never going to go for you."

As the female readied to attack, my ba shadow-jumped between us, hand around her throat, "I don't think so, Maybelle."

Maybelle jerked away. "Move, Nyght!"

"No." Kade tensed. "I'm the only one who get to beat him up."

I opened my mouth to protest, but Ry'anne, Gabe, and Tarek appeared next to me, Taryn, Wren, and Elys behind us.

"Lyra?" Gabe stared at her. "How could you?"

Lyra turned from us.

"I knew something wasn't right with her." Kade mumbled. "Now I know why."

"Surrender now, and you might not be expelled," Tarek moved forward.

Ry'anne snorted.

"I don't care about that." Maybelle unleashed her magic on us.

Kade and I were sent back, hitting the ground. Our backup charged forward to defend us as we regained our ground.

My shifter friends made sure no one touched them, their animal bodies scaring the hell out of anyone stupid enough to approach.

Taryn lingered behind. What did she have planned? I knew better than to assume she couldn't hold her own.

When he wasn't paying attention, one male went for my ba from behind.

I locked hold of his shadow, lifting him into the air. His expression was priceless as I threw him into the trees, making me smirk.

Kade nodded at me.

I turned my head, Gabe caught between three males. He tried fending them off, but learning about Lyra's betrayal affected him more than the rest of us.

I bolted to his aid, grabbing one by the back of their shirt, tossing them to the side.

"Whoa, didn't know you were that strong."

I shrugged, shadow-shoving two away from us.

"Or that powerful." Gabe punched someone in the face.

"I'm a Nyght, we're all powerful shadow wise."

I noticed Maybelle running at us.

We turned to face her, our magic prepared.

But Ry'anne and Tarek shadow-gripped Maybelle in place, the romantically disgruntled female squirming to break free.

Yeah, like they'd free her.

Taryn snuck behind her, grabbing the back of her neck. Maybelle's eyes rolled to the back of her head, her body slumping.

Taryn then shouted, purple dust seeping from her palms, "If you don't freeze right now, I will give you all nightmares forever!"

Everyone froze, staring at the dreamwalker.

Chills ran down my spine, believing her threat.

Wren and Elys shifted to their angel forms, fangs and claws fully extended, but they protected Taryn. Odd.

Ry'anne placed cuffs around their wrists. "Now, let's see what the headmaster has to say about your cult."

Didn't think I would get to meet the headmaster until I graduated from the Academy. Who knew what I was in for now.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.