Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 16

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

"What are you looking for?" Arms crossed, Wren lifted her brow as she eyed me closely.

Scouring the library shelves, I searched for any book that might inform me about what betided between me and Elys. My left had tingled, which had been happening since our time in the woods among other things.

At times, I heard random voices in my mind I knew didn't belong to me. My senses strengthened, along with my reflexes, faster and stronger. I'd even growled a couple times.

And I had no clue what any of it meant.

"I don't know yet." I skimmed several books, shaking my head. "But I'm not finding anything that could help."

Wren moved her hands onto her hips. "What happened the other day?"

"What do you mean?"

"Oh don't act dumb, both you and Elys have been acting strange since you chased after him."

Well, now I knew we weren't doing a great job at concealing the awkwardness we shared. I never claimed to be a good actor, but Elys normally revealed very little.

"I'm not sure what happened, but I'm somehow connected to him now and I'm trying to find out why."

"Hmm."

I narrowed my gaze at her. "Do you know something?"

"I have a suspicion, but need to confirm it before I tell you, my friend."

I rolled my eyes. "Helpful."

Wren shrugged as I continued searching for anything that would give me answers. Didn't help I kept getting lost in all the titles, their variants, and the different volumes.

I eventually stopped, my brain and eyes tired. I softly banged my forehead against the outside panel of one of the bookshelves. Wren only watched me, not even so much as giving my shoulder a comforting squeeze.

"Nyght?"

I froze, knowing that voice. "Yes?"

"Are you okay?" Tarek tilted his head. "You look frustrated."

"Well I am," I lifted my head, "and before you ask, I don't feel like discussing right now."

"Very well, but I'd like you to come with me."

Needing the distraction, I agreed and waved Wren goodbye, who gave a knowing grin, then winked.

I scowled, but didn't deny her suspicions. No point hiding my physical reactions from a nosy gargoyle.

My heart thudded against my ribcage as I trailed Tarek outside. Where was he taking me? I assumed it would be a private space, considering our agreement.

Other students and instructors gave side glances at us as we passed them.

I rubbed my bare forearms, the hairs standing straight. What would they think if they found out? Would we get in trouble?

Tarek gave no indication their stares bothered him, approaching the tree line, urging me on.

Sensing no shifters, I followed him, the dampeners weak in this area, like a magical weight lifted. My shadow roamed a little, feeling out the environment.

I spotted a small cottage, smiling. "Did you build this?"

"yes, needed a place to be alone sometimes," he grinned, "or have company without being disturbed."

"I can see that."

He opened the door, "Come on in."

Light barely lit the inside, but my night vision compensated with no trouble, few possessions besides basic furniture. I sat on the couch facing the hearth, eyeing him starting the fire.

"So how did you Gemini bond with Elys Gryphonson?"

my muscles stiffened, "How did you...wait, what?"

Tarek sat next to me. "Gemini bond, you haven't heard the term?"

I shook my head.

"Not surprised, it's a demon word, not angelic."

I could only stare at him.

"It's a platonic soul mate bond between two individuals."

"Wait, Elys is my soul mate?"

"In the non romantic sense, yes." Tarek eyed me. "Have you been hearing voice, feeling unusually strong, fast, or heightened senses, as well as a new sensitivity to lunar energy?"

"All those."

He leaned forward. "This happens from time to time."

I gripped my knees. "Is this a good or bad thing?"

"Well, demons put high reverence on this bond."

My knowledge on demons was limited, although I knew most weren't the vicious creatures mythology made them out to be.

"So it's a good thing?"

"From what I've seen, yes."

I release a sigh. "Is that the only reason you brought me here?"

"No, but as half asa, I can sense energy bonds and wanted to ease your worry."

I moved my head.

"I also want to begin this connection we have." Tarek scooted so we touched.

I looked at him. "Well, I suppose we're in a good place to start."

He reached out, gently grabbing my face. Closing my eyes, I leaned forward, pausing when our mouths connected, energy buzzing through me.

Although not originally an angel custom, nothing compared to kissing someone you liked.

I kissed him back, gripping his shoulders to pull us closer. I felt him smirk, mentally rolling my eyes. His hands traveled down, lifting my shirt up and off me.

We moved to the floor, removing garments until all that remained was the skin on our bodies and my stamp. So much for going slow. I didn't care, taking it all in.

Pleasure flooded me with every action we took, having never felt anything like this before. Then my mind blanked at the peak, my body tightening as I released.

I laid beside Tarek, skin damp and body tired. "Wow."

He cupped my face. "Agreed."

I closed my eyes again, letting my mind drift until sleep claimed me.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.