Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 15

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

A few days after my wake up call and interesting conversation with Tarek, I decided to show my face in public again, happy to see more than the whiteness to my dorm walls and ceiling.

Gabe and Lyra were more than overjoyed, giving me a group hug, saying how much they missed me and what happened while I was in my room.

although I laughed with them, listening to their mini adventures and explaining myself, they weren't the reason I emerged from my dorm.

I needed to find Elys and have a heart to heart. There was so much about him I had no clue about, and I was determined to fix that, whether or not it all happened today.

They understood, ushering me to my quest.

Trekking through the whole Academy, I eventually found the shifter section, which was a ways from the other sleeping quarters, the hairs on my arms and neck rising.

They turned their gazes to me, some in their animal forms.

I sensed my magic surface, the dampeners practically non-existent in their area. I had no plans to use it, but it gave me some comfort as I looked for my friend.

Shifter shadows were slightly different than that of other angels, since they were half animal. They were more wild and harder for zyllahs to control. I never viewed it as negative, although maybe a little inconvenient when it came to keeping Wren from mauling another student.

Most of them returned to their previous activities. The ones who kept their gazes on me remained still, seeing if I would attack. I wouldn't give them the satisfaction.

I found Wren first, who was hanging out with other female shifters. She looked over at me, brow raised as she walked over.

"What? Can't I be here?"

"Technically yes, but it's odd."

"Where's Elys?"

"In the woods, why?"

"I need to talk to him."

Wren moved out of my way, as did the other females as I summoned my wings, taking flight. Divine, I wished I could fly all the time, soaring over the trees, feeling for his shadow.

I eventually found Elys, who prowled by a tree in his pure white animal body. I landed a ways from him, unsure of his mindset at the moment.

"Is anyone home?" I laid down on the ground, trying to appear nonthreatening.

His ears perked and he shifted into his angel form. "Yes, I'm here."

Rolling onto my feet, I brushed the dirt and leaves off. "I want to apologize."

"For what?"

"Not knowing you better." I ran my hand through my hair. "We've known each other for a few years and I barely know a thing about you."

Elys smirked, "Well, You never asked."

"In my defense, you're not the most inviting person."

"I don't mean to be." He turned away from me. "It wasn't easy growing up. I was always at the bottom and had to fight for everything everyday until I came here."

"And that's what I'm talking about. I realize most of our conversations were focused on me, rarely about you, so I am sorry and will try to do better."

I waited for his response, my heart thudding against my ribcage.

Elys faced me again. "I accept your apology, although it wasn't needed."

I let out a breath. "Thank you."

He nodded, extending his hand.

I grabbed it.

Suddenly, it was as if our hands had glued themselves together. We both tried yanking our arms away to no avail, a tingling sensation rushing through my body.

I hissed, not a fan of the feeling, which grew to hurt, especially where our skin touched, which glowed a bit. However, I sensed a strange tug and anchoring inside me.

Elys frowned, clearly experiencing the same thing.

Finally, we broke apart, falling onto the ground. I groaned, pins and needles prickling my skin as I pushed back to my feet.

"What in the divine was that?" Elys shook his head.

"I don't know." But I didn't feel the same. "Should we tell someone?"

"Tell them what?"

"Well for one, that our shadows are connected!" Which tested each other's boundaries, making me squirm.

Elys raised a brow.

"Fine, we would tell anyone, not until we have more information."

"Agreed."

I glared at him slightly. I would know what happened to us, no matter how long it took.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.